#11 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 1:29:18 PM

Two things dude.
1) In Kenyan culture, mzee has more to do with respect than age
2) Unazeeka everyday. So Kubali yaishe!
otienosmall
#12 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 2:00:55 PM

Now, am increasingly getting annoyed by people calling me mzee. Am in my mid 30s but am getting very uncomfortable when am addressed as mzee. For heavens sake it's my old man who has just turned 60 who should be addressed as mzee. Of course I have no problem with my 12 Yr old daughter calling me daddy.

I was recently living in England and the people participating in dancing competitions on TV were older than I am I.e. in their late 30s or early 40s. The news casters on Channel 4 and BBC etc TV are in their 40s, 50s and 60s. Infact some premier league stars including Drogba, Beckham etc are older than I am.And here I am being addressed as mzee. Of course a few strands of white hairs have started to appear on my left temple but i have taken good care of myself hitting the gym 3 times a week and am in my mid 30s and still feeling very young. This mzee tag is driving me nuts. I thought they said life starts at 40. Seems the Kenyan society is very ageist. Are there any other mid 30s facing this dilemma?

Well it somehow depends on looks and characters; assume you are a proud owner a public opinion large enough for someone to confuse it with a pregnancy, your favourite newspaper page is obituaries probably to see who among your age mates has kicked the basket, landing becomes a painstaking effort, the gray hair you mentioned, a mediocre walking style among other dispositions will convince everyone that you have clocked more than enough decades!Liar Liar
Toxicity
#13 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 3:04:27 PM

Now, am increasingly getting annoyed by people calling me mzee. Am in my mid 30s but am getting very uncomfortable when am addressed as mzee. For heavens sake it's my old man who has just turned 60 who should be addressed as mzee. Of course I have no problem with my 12 Yr old daughter calling me daddy.

I was recently living in England and the people participating in dancing competitions on TV were older than I am I.e. in their late 30s or early 40s. The news casters on Channel 4 and BBC etc TV are in their 40s, 50s and 60s. Infact some premier league stars including Drogba, Beckham etc are older than I am.And here I am being addressed as mzee. Of course a few strands of white hairs have started to appear on my left temple but i have taken good care of myself hitting the gym 3 times a week and am in my mid 30s and still feeling very young. This mzee tag is driving me nuts. I thought they said life starts at 40. Seems the Kenyan society is very ageist. Are there any other mid 30s facing this dilemma?

jaggernaut Relax mimi nimeshazoea kuitwa mzee and i think it is out of respect...still in ma twenties but my kihara looks as though am 35...na pia ndevu mbili tatu are already turning white!!!
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#14 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 3:16:07 PM

It is always a problem, you call a mzee, "Kijana" they take offence and vice versa....@Jagger, would you prefer to be caled "Kijana"?
Bigcheese
#15 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 4:39:28 PM

Robinhood wrote:
@Jagger, please relax Mzee! Don't you remember the credo on high school nick names? The more you resisted a name, the more fellow students enjoyed calling you by that name if only to annoy you. You are no longer 18 bana, just accept this and move on.

And by the way, some fellows who are 60 think the Mzee title should be reserved for those who are 80 and above. Uzee is relative.

@Robinhood - this is true -there was a guy we bandikad "omieri" in high school - and the more he fought it the more the name stuck - so Jagger relax - dont fight it
#16 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 5:30:26 PM

Are you sure they are not calling you msee?

Ama Mzeiya. smile

#17 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 2:20:31 PM

Are you sure they are not calling you msee?

Ama Mzeiya. smile

hehehe
mnechizi wazeiya.

anyway,
if some one greets you:
habari mzee,

respond: mzuri sana mzee.

you will better calling them wazee too.
udaypette
#18 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 4:34:25 PM

Even schoolboys nowadays call each other wazee, mzae, mzeiya this does not mean you r old. And for those experiencing hair greying i have been reading about people taking black strap mollases turning back their grey hair black.
#19 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 2:56:25 PM

I am currently recuperating following the events at Ndakaini yesterday. As I trudged to the finish line - way after the prize presentation ceremony, a loud and obnoxious lot of teenagers were chanting 'wazi buda, wazi buda.' I looked over my shoulder and there was NOBODY. It then dawned on me that I was the buda. Now if you thought being call mzee was painful, wait till they call you buda.
Mpenzi
#20 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 4:30:36 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I am currently recuperating following the events at Ndakaini yesterday. As I trudged to the finish line - way after the prize presentation ceremony, a loud and obnoxious lot of teenagers were chanting 'wazi buda, wazi buda.' I looked over my shoulder and there was NOBODY. It then dawned on me that I was the buda. Now if you thought being call mzee was painful, wait till they call you buda.