wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

Mzee
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:04:25 PM

Now, am increasingly getting annoyed by people calling me mzee. Am in my mid 30s but am getting very uncomfortable when am addressed as mzee. For heavens sake it's my old man who has just turned 60 who should be addressed as mzee. Of course I have no problem with my 12 Yr old daughter calling me daddy.

I was recently living in England and the people participating in dancing competitions on TV were older than I am I.e. in their late 30s or early 40s. The news casters on Channel 4 and BBC etc TV are in their 40s, 50s and 60s. Infact some premier league stars including Drogba, Beckham etc are older than I am.And here I am being addressed as mzee. Of course a few strands of white hairs have started to appear on my left temple but i have taken good care of myself hitting the gym 3 times a week and am in my mid 30s and still feeling very young. This mzee tag is driving me nuts. I thought they said life starts at 40. Seems the Kenyan society is very ageist. Are there any other mid 30s facing this dilemma?
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:12:00 PM

mzee :) this is midlife crisis in play.kubali uzee.consult guka on how to live with uzee
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:39:46 PM

I have single lady neighbour who is probably your agemate and an upwardly mobile executive in a multinational. She has a maid who is old enough to be her mother.

The workers refer to her as mama wa nyumba and her maid as msichana wa nyumba .....
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:48:59 PM

Mzee ni title ya heshima...figuratively. People can also be referring to as Mzee kwa sababu uko na kitambi na upara umeenea...
#5 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 7:07:43 AM

Are you sure they are not calling you msee?
#6 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 8:46:11 AM

@Jagger, please relax Mzee! Don't you remember the credo on high school nick names? The more you resisted a name, the more fellow students enjoyed calling you by that name if only to annoy you. You are no longer 18 bana, just accept this and move on.

And by the way, some fellows who are 60 think the Mzee title should be reserved for those who are 80 and above. Uzee is relative.
#7 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 9:56:10 AM

What's in the name?....Your juniors will call you Mzee as an honour despite being older than them and since it might not be possible to stop them,learn to live with it.
wanyuru
#8 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 11:46:36 AM

Now, am increasingly getting annoyed by people calling me mzee. Am in my mid 30s but am getting very uncomfortable when am addressed as mzee. For heavens sake it's my old man who has just turned 60 who should be addressed as mzee. Of course I have no problem with my 12 Yr old daughter calling me daddy.

I was recently living in England and the people participating in dancing competitions on TV were older than I am I.e. in their late 30s or early 40s. The news casters on Channel 4 and BBC etc TV are in their 40s, 50s and 60s. Infact some premier league stars including Drogba, Beckham etc are older than I am.And here I am being addressed as mzee. Of course a few strands of white hairs have started to appear on my left temple but i have taken good care of myself hitting the gym 3 times a week and am in my mid 30s and still feeling very young. This mzee tag is driving me nuts. I thought they said life starts at 40. Seems the Kenyan society is very ageist. Are there any other mid 30s facing this dilemma?

Thought Drogba is 33...so which mid 30s are you refering to??

Buda, Relax wengine wetu tuna upara na kitambi and at mid-30s....and when a makanga refers to you as 'ah, niaje kijana' you feel like slapping the day out of the rascal!!
cmk
#9 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 12:46:37 PM

please disclose your real age..you've insisted thrice up there that you are in mid 30s..any way just relax..uzee si ugonjwa,within no time you will be as old as your father God willing..be glad of seeing another day..good advice there from guka..wendy and wanyuru will add onto this....
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
patcho
#10 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 1:22:56 PM

It depends on how you look at it..In the kenyan society sometimes the word mzee has nothing to do with age.. it shows how much people respect you....figure this,,a guy joins the police force at 20..during the course of his duties,he will be reffered to as mzee several times..nothing to do with age..another example,,25 year old dude contributes Kshs 100,000 for some community project..the next day everyone who meets him refers to him as mzee..again nothing to do with age..so it all depends on the context...sometimes age comes in ..but that should not worry you.Mzee is a word of respect.accept it proudly..