wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Of teachers, pupils and indiscipline
For Sport
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 2:51:35 PM

majimaji wrote:

@ For Sport, you can learn to derive the formulas thro' various methods. But if you can't remember basic formulas, how about derivation using say calculus?

My point is I dont need to. I cant do a derivation using calculus (hope I said that right) and hey look, here I am. However, someone else may need to learn that stuff because they use it on a day to day basis. If education taught me how to think through and solve problems (not necessarily calculus, wave theory and so on), then it succeeded.
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:16:53 AM

For Sport wrote:
mukiha wrote:
So you think mathematics is useful: when was the last time you calculated the area of a triangle? Would you then conclude that the formula [a-half-base-times-height] was useless?

Not exactly useless but I'd rather they teach me how to find these formulas when I need them. had even forgotten its a half base times height.
Guess how we compute compound interest...or how we figure out mortgage repayments...log onto a website, key in figures and presto a neat tabulation.

But "they" did teach you how and where to get the formulae. Did you not get to use the math tables? Now don't tell me that you don't know where you can get a math table.... TBC, KNEC Bookshop etc.... or even Mr. Google!
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 11:44:29 AM

i went thru a public,primary secondary and university. I turned out ok. Private schools have no life and who told u anyway that those private teachers, if given the chance would not act the same? #niggasitdown.
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 12:15:31 PM

Magigi, wewe ulikuwa mwalimu? Asi?

Yeah...Taught Literature in English...My students used to pass so well...My classes were evry well attended...I will go back during my sunset days...ie if I don't go before @Fast and Furious..
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 1:37:43 PM

For Sport wrote:
mukiha wrote:
So you think mathematics is useful: when was the last time you calculated the area of a triangle? Would you then conclude that the formula [a-half-base-times-height] was useless?

Not exactly useless but I'd rather they teach me how to find these formulas when I need them. had even forgotten its a half base times height.
Guess how we compute compound interest...or how we figure out mortgage repayments...log onto a website, key in figures and presto a neat tabulation.

hehe... interesting.... its not so much on where to find the formulas but rather if the numbers will make sense to you... if you cant figure out that the mortgage repayment will be a rip-off because the figures dont make sense to you then there is no use of knowing the formula of calculating them....

My bro, who is in "jua kali", (people think these guys dont use some 'education') was calculating for me the costing of excavating a plot.... its typical mathematics... that's how you know if you are being conned by the service provider or not.... or if you are the service provider, that is how you know if you can do that work profitably or not.... if you cant interpret the figures, dont bother with the fomulas... that's what you are taught to do - make sense of the figures.
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 1:44:04 PM

For Sport wrote:
problem is the kiswahili they are taught is not the kiswahili we speak. Pick up any supposedly simple story book in kiswahili and if you go beyond page 3 without reaching for a kamusi, then you teach swahili.
E.g. Book titled "Pupa za Bupa" (3e)(I couldnt even figure out what the title meant)
On page 1: Tulikuwa tunakula chajio wakati baba alipokuja na habari hii nzuri.
i dont know if i eat chajio but i suspect i do.

I completely feel you! mmmmmh, what class is this? It's been challenging for me to check homework for my son.... in class two!!.. totally embarrassing but the kiswahili they read these days is totally different... seriously!
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 2:15:24 PM

Euge wrote:
how Kiswahili adds value.

The Kiswahili our kids are taught in school is very tough for young brains....Some years back my son asked me the Swahili name for nursery school......Something i had heard but i didn't get right and so i told him it's "shule ya kuchekelewa"smile while it's "shule ya chekechea" or something....he almost died of laughter.
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 3:16:14 PM

kyt wrote:
i went thru a public,primary secondary and university. I turned out ok. Private schools have no life

Are you sure about that? I can assure you 90-99% of parents in wazua take their kids to private. Do you or would you take yours to public primary?

#29 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 3:19:27 PM

Euge wrote:
how Kiswahili adds value.

The Kiswahili our kids are taught in school is very tough for young brains....Some years back my son asked me the Swahili name for nursery school......Something i had heard but i didn't get right and so i told him it's "shule ya kuchekelewa"smile while it's "shule ya chekechea" or something....he almost died of laughter.

hata mimi am almost dying of laughter... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly kweli wewe ni guka...ati shule ya kuchekelewa..
Blackberry
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 5:43:19 PM

[/quote]

I completely feel you! mmmmmh, what class is this? It's been challenging for me to check homework for my son.... in class two!!.. totally embarrassing but the kiswahili they read these days is totally different... seriously![/quote]

this is so true....kwanza hii Kiswahili mufti... Imagine I learnt color blue is samawati from my class 3 kidd'oh! d'oh! we still laugh about this ...... cozLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly i did kiswahili up to A'level!!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#31 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 12:11:38 PM

If you think helping your kid with Kiswahili homework is hard, try it with CRE: "Who was Jesus' uncle?"

#32 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 1:58:35 PM

mukiha wrote:
If you think helping your kid with Kiswahili homework is hard, try it with CRE: "Who was Jesus' uncle?"

Or try explaining how virgin is not Mary's first name.

Mtublack
#33 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 2:01:07 PM

mukiha wrote:

Or try explaining that Mary's first name is not Virgin.

So what was Mary's first name and who was Jesus' Uncle? just in case the question pops up
Some you win some you lose
#34 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 2:09:28 PM

Mtublack wrote:
mukiha wrote:

So what was Mary's first name and who was Jesus' Uncle? just in case the question pops up

Her first name is virgin. The kid will never doubt it unless he/she already knows and is toying with you or you introduce doubt into their mind which is what I stupidly did with my niece when I told her that her name is not V....

#35 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 7:38:01 PM

How about when they have to do their music homework? I never can tell whether she has done her violin homework. I just ask her to play and trust that what she has played is what she was asked to do and that she has done all of it. I cant even attempt to guess whether she got it right or wrong.
#36 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 9:48:07 PM

Mtublack wrote:
mukiha wrote:

@Mtublack; read the bible!

"THE MEDIUM IS THE MESSAGE" - You can get the answer if you do a little research; that's the lesson

I remember when 8-4-4 was introduced, many urban parents complained that their children were being taught carpentry - "whose furniture will they all be making?" was a common question.

Then I explained to one couple that the idea is NOT to produce carpenters but to let the children realise how difficult it is to make a chair, or whatever. That way, they will gain respect for furniture and not jump on chairs etc. Yaani, UKIONA VYAELEA, VIMEUNDWA!

And there your are: I have just found a use for Kiswahili!
#37 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 9:50:13 PM

...as my high school [not secondary, but high] teacher was fond of saying: "You come to A-Levels to gain respect for books"
Inuendo
#38 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:56:14 PM

Seems its not only Kenyans with issues
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.