wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

Phone calls and sms doing the rounds
Sure
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:31:37 AM

Someone calls you on the phone and says, "Am at an accident scene. This person said I call your number urgently so that he could speak to you. He is now unconscious. He needed 7,000 to facilitate an ambulance service to MP shah Hospital".

You can hear background comments from police officers saying, "Wachana na hako kakufe, hakana watu wao".

So I sent 10k just to save and be sure this guy, who believed I was the only one who could save him, is attended to.

That number has never been on line again.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Sure
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:33:34 AM

SMS

Antie, tuma pesa mtoto ameumwa na Nyoka nitafute boda boda nimpeleke hospitali.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:35:55 AM

Sure wrote:
Someone calls you on the phone and says, "Am at an accident scene. This person said I call your number urgently so that he could speak to you. He is now unconscious. He needed 7,000 to facilitate an ambulance service to MP shah Hospital".

You can hear background comments from police officers saying, "Wachana na hako kakufe, hakana watu wao".

So I sent 10k just to save and be sure this guy, who believed I was the only one who could save him, is attended to.

ABK. You are the type of people who make them continue with this line of con.
Sure
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:36:15 AM

You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa".
Inuendo
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:39:19 AM

Sure wrote:

Too late ....but a number of someone who is close to or known to you is guaranteed to appear on your phone.
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Inuendo
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:42:37 AM

Sure wrote:
You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa".

d'oh! d'oh! how is this a con?. A guy sends me cash then i send 3/4 back??
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Peppy
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 12:20:36 PM

mulika mwizi:

you have recieved Kshs 2,850 from James Mutua....
I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
FancyFace
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 12:34:10 PM

can all these unregisterd lines be de-activated PAP!!!nkt

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
Insurgent
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 12:34:49 PM

Inuendo wrote:
Sure wrote:

The trick is that the 2500 sent to you is an SMS not M-pesa system. So, if you had 8k in your phone, sending 2000 wont be a problem. You actually end up thinking you made some few bucks while you actually lost 2k. You sound like an easy play for this kind of SMS.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

Inuendo
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 12:41:18 PM

Insurgent wrote:
Inuendo wrote:
Sure wrote:

The trick is that the 2500 sent to you is an SMS not M-pesa system. So, if you had 8k in your phone, sending 2000 wont be a problem. You actually end up thinking you made some few bucks while you actually lost 2k. You sound like an easy play for this kind of SMS.

@ Insurgent, if the message is coming from MPESA then its true but if the message is just an sms why on earth would i believe it. I read the post as it is (see bold).
alikujia
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 1:22:08 PM

Sure wrote:

this can hard to judge. But how do you know they are police officers. And "sure"ly they are not that cruel.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 3:49:12 PM

Sure wrote:

And you didn't know the phone number? I'll give you my number so that the next time you receive such a call, you send the money to me.... I will "forward" to the victim.... Did you ask yourself how the "policemen" were going to withdraw the m-pesa amounts with the "pin number holder" unconcious?
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 7:53:01 AM

LOL! clearly Kenyans NEVER learn. Simple rule of all these Mpesa/con nonsense.. DO NOT send money to any stranger! ignore all those 'Mpesa' txts...and those silly 'nisaidie' txts. If someone 'Mpesas' the wrong number, there are other ways of getting the money back without even involving you.
StatMeister
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:41:24 AM

Inuendo wrote:
Insurgent wrote:
Inuendo wrote:
Sure wrote:

@ Insurgent, if the message is coming from MPESA then its true but if the message is just an sms why on earth would i believe it. I read the post as it is (see bold).

If its MPESA, why cant the sender just call Safaricon?
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
StatMeister
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:50:03 AM

Ati a friend of mine received a call that he had won an award for using MPESA. The caller confirms his details (he giving details of recent transactions to my friend), and then saying Safaricom will put 100k (in 2 tranches of 50k) into his MPESA account, but first, since my friend's balance is too low (6 /=) he needed to 'activate' the account by depositing some money.

The catch, the con has obtained the transaction info either from an agent or a 'mole' at Safaricon.

If you get such a call, CHANGE YOUR PIN ASAP. If you are unable to, someone else has already changed it.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Tommy
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:54:59 AM

Sure wrote:

GFF, money is itching in your pockets. ABK
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Sure
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:56:05 AM

Sure wrote:

And you didn't know the phone number? I'll give you my number so that the next time you receive such a call, you send the money to me.... I will "forward" to the victim.... Did you ask yourself how the "policemen" were going to withdraw the m-pesa amounts with the "pin number holder" unconcious?

You send the money to the fello who called you in his phone, not the unconscious victim. The victims phone has a passward for accessing or calling. So, I sent it to the number of the guy calling. My IQ is not great.

The police at the background created a picture of a vehicle wreck that had trapped ppl inside and for you to be rescued, you needed to have someone getting concerned. Police at times are very ruthless.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 1:41:53 PM

There is also the old jobs con. An ad appears in the classified section of the nation saying' credit officers wanted, 23K, Form four leavers, Apply via email to a gmail address.

Since Kenyans want to jobs like nothing else, guys apply by the thousands. Then the con men send back an email from some random gmail account giving details of their 30 branches upcountry who need credit officers ASAP. They then include the website of a legitimate organization in Micro finance. All you need to do is to send by MPESA some Kshs 2,995.50 to their number to take care of a medical examination at a reputable hospital.

You send the cash and the rest is history. No matter how many times people are warned, there will always be another fool to fall for a con game.
Kaka M
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 1:42:08 PM

My name is Miss. Mary Kipkalya Kones, 25yrs old female and I held from Kenya Africa. My father was the former Kenyan road Minister. He and Assistant Minister of Home Affairs Lorna Laboso had been on board the Cessna 210, which was headed to Kericho and crashed in a remote area called Kajong'a, in western Kenya. The plane crashed on the Tuesday 10th, June,2008. You can read more about the crash t hrough the below

site:http:// edition.cnn. com/2008/ WORLD/africa/ 06/10/kenya. crash/index. html

After the burial of my father, my stepmother and uncle conspired and sold my father's property to an italian Expertrate which the shared the money among themselves and live nothing for me. One faithful morning, I opened my father's briefcase and found out the documents which he have deposited huge amount of money in one bank in Burkina Faso with my name as the next of kin. I travelled to Burkina Faso to withdraw the money for a better life so that I can take care of myself and start a new life, on my arrival, the Bank Director whom I met in person told me that my father's instuction to the bank is that the money would only be release to me when I am married or present a trustee who will help me and invest the money overseas. I am in search of an honest and reliable person who will help me and stand as my trustee so that I will present him to the Bank for transfer of the mo ney to his bank account overseas. I have chosen to contact you after my prayers and I believe that you will not betray my trust. But rather take me as your own sister.

Though you may wonder why I am so soon revealing myself to you without knowing you, well I will say that my mind convinc ed me that you may be the true person to help me. Moreso, I will like to disclose much to you if you can help me to relocate to your country because my stepmother have threaten to assinate me. The amount is( $8.5 USD )Million United State Dollars, and I have confirmed from the bank in Burkina Faso on my arrival, You will also help me to place the money in a more profitable business venture in your Country. However, you will help by recommending a nice University in your country so that I can complete my studies. It is my intention to compensate you with 40% of the total money for your services and the balance shall be my capital in your establishment.

As soon as I receive your positive respo nse showing your interest I will put things into action immediately. In the light of the above, I shall appreciate an urgent message indicating your ability and willingness to handle this transaction sincerely. Awaiting your urgent and positive response. Please do keep this only to your self for now untill the bank will transfer the fund. I beg you not to disclose it till i come over because I am affraid of my weaked stepmother who has threatened to kill me and have the money alone ,I thank God Today that am out from my country (KENYA) but now In (Burkina Faso) where my father deposited these money with my name as the next of Kin.I have the documents for the claims.

Yours Sincerely,
Mary Kipkalya Kones.
Kaka M
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 2:03:05 PM

Sure wrote:

Thanks for the laugh. The guy should have at least told you that the person involved in the accident gave one name at least. Eg Joseph amesema nikupigie he is involved in an accident at such and such a ples. U can then call somebody who would know the whereabouts of Joseph and see if there are connections. The accident could be in Turkana yet Has never ventured 2km outside his village in Ndumberi. Experience has it that it's difficult to be conned unless you are greedy. Your case is an exception though.