Culture
Phone calls and sms doing the rounds
Rank: Member Joined: 9/9/2010 Posts: 546 Location: Garissa
Someone calls you on the phone and says, "Am at an accident scene. This person said I call your number urgently so that he could speak to you. He is now unconscious. He needed 7,000 to facilitate an ambulance service to MP shah Hospital". You can hear background comments from police officers saying, "Wachana na hako kakufe, hakana watu wao". So I sent 10k just to save and be sure this guy, who believed I was the only one who could save him, is attended to. That number has never been on line again. Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom. When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
SMS Antie, tuma pesa mtoto ameumwa na Nyoka nitafute boda boda nimpeleke hospitali. Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom. When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Sure wrote:Someone calls you on the phone and says, "Am at an accident scene. This person said I call your number urgently so that he could speak to you. He is now unconscious. He needed 7,000 to facilitate an ambulance service to MP shah Hospital".
You can hear background comments from police officers saying, "Wachana na hako kakufe, hakana watu wao".
So I sent 10k just to save and be sure this guy, who believed I was the only one who could save him, is attended to.
That number has never been on line again. ABK. You are the type of people who make them continue with this line of con. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa". Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom. When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Sure wrote:Someone calls you on the phone and says, "Am at an accident scene. This person said I call your number urgently so that he could speak to you. He is now unconscious. He needed 7,000 to facilitate an ambulance service to MP shah Hospital".
You can hear background comments from police officers saying, "Wachana na hako kakufe, hakana watu wao".
So I sent 10k just to save and be sure this guy, who believed I was the only one who could save him, is attended to.
That number has never been on line again. Too late ....but a number of someone who is close to or known to you is guaranteed to appear on your phone. Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Sure wrote:You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa".  how is this a con?. A guy sends me cash then i send 3/4 back?? Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
mulika mwizi: 0701296107 you have recieved Kshs 2,850 from James Mutua.... I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
can all these unregisterd lines be de-activated PAP!!!nkt Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
Inuendo wrote:Sure wrote:You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa".  how is this a con?. A guy sends me cash then i send 3/4 back?? The trick is that the 2500 sent to you is an SMS not M-pesa system. So, if you had 8k in your phone, sending 2000 wont be a problem. You actually end up thinking you made some few bucks while you actually lost 2k. You sound like an easy play for this kind of SMS.  "One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.
Insurgent wrote:Inuendo wrote:Sure wrote:You receive an M-pesa message indicating you have received 2500. A phone call comes in say, "Please, please, nimefanya makosa. Hiyo pesa ilikuwa nitumie mtu ako hospitali ili atibiwe. Tuma 2000 kwa number 0721.... 500 unaweza garamia matumizi ya kutuma M-pesa".  how is this a con?. A guy sends me cash then i send 3/4 back?? The trick is that the 2500 sent to you is an SMS not M-pesa system. So, if you had 8k in your phone, sending 2000 wont be a problem. You actually end up thinking you made some few bucks while you actually lost 2k. You sound like an easy play for this kind of SMS. @ Insurgent, if the message is coming from MPESA then its true but if the message is just an sms why on earth would i believe it. I read the post as it is (see bold). Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Culture
Phone calls and sms doing the rounds