wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Safcom to trade at 2.50 ex div
erifloss
#21 Posted : Saturday, September 10, 2011 1:20:08 PM

I believe an investor is not only a person who invests in valuable fundamentaly sound business but is one who knows how to beat the market by spreading his risks well, getting good returns on his capital while preserving the same in the long run. The reality is Cash, treasuries, commodities & companies with consistent div payouts & div yields before the price declines (after the price falls most companies now have crazy div yields) are the best to hold now. Guys are losing more than they think for example simply for a share that has lost 30%, for the same share to get to its former price it has to gain 43%. If at the time of purchase the div yield was around 5% then the same share will have to gain around 34% to get to the same value. All the above is exclusive inflation and any other gain one might want to make.
So guys who talk about add at every low apart from speculators do lie to people.
Safcom at sub 1 is a pipe dream.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
the deal
#22 Posted : Saturday, September 10, 2011 6:23:19 PM

Depending on how the 1H results go one can not rule out anything...the upcoming 1H results will be the most interesting in Safcom's time @ the bourse...if one looks at inflation...the weak Shilling pushing up Capex...high finance costs...competition...in view of the above it will be a tall order for Safcom to match last years earning.
QW25081985
#23 Posted : Saturday, September 10, 2011 6:54:03 PM

the deal wrote:
Depending on how the 1H results go one can not rule out anything...the upcoming 1H results will be the most interesting in Safcom's time @ the bourse...if one looks at inflation...the weak Shilling pushing up Capex...high finance costs...competition...in view of the above it will be a tall order for Safcom to match last years earning.

i saw the ceo on telly and by the look of things this inflation is eating into the business big time . lets wait early nov to see how the results will be like ..!!!
I hope the results bearishness provides a catalyst to break the 2.55 LOW !!!!!!!!
Hapo i'll top up my phone with 1k credo to celebrate !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#24 Posted : Saturday, September 10, 2011 8:12:17 PM

Kenyans are enemies of themselves,whats there to celebrate when our companies and especially top tax payers dont fair well?
earthvoice
#25 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 1:24:12 AM

40 million shares traded on Friday... haven't quite figured this share out...Think
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
Kabird
#26 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 3:55:01 AM

I would love this stock to trade at the current ranges as i accumulate more. I would be love to bring my averages down to Ksh: 3-3.5 range
#27 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 7:56:25 AM

Kabird wrote:
I would love this stock to trade at the current ranges as i accumulate more. I would be love to bring my averages down to Ksh: 3-3.5 range

Already averaged mine to 3.41. Am a happy guy for that. I need to average down my E.A Cables, but don't feel safe with their current price of 11.20.

the deal
#28 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 9:06:24 AM

Gosh cost averaging on Safaricom is suicide
...i said expect anything...don't rule out even below 2bob...be wise...stay ahead of the curve...
hisah
#29 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 9:48:05 AM

Too bad britank was introduced & now mpesa emotional sour grapes are now running out.

In 2009 when this elephant hit a low of 2.55 the turnover was...
In 2011 @2.85 - 3 range what is the turnover...

Hope the pessimism holds out longer for the accumulation to last longer @2/- levels. If it can break 2/- it will be manaa stocks from heaven smile

This a cheap bank, maybe the cheapest in the world...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#30 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 10:10:32 AM

the deal wrote:
Gosh cost averaging on Safaricom is suicide
...i said expect anything...don't rule out even below 2bob...be wise...stay ahead of the curve...

Deal, I respect you a lot, but on this, you have FAILED BADLY! M-Pesa can't go sub 2.50 let alone sub 2.00. That's a bet!

hisah wrote:
Too bad britank was introduced & now mpesa emotional sour grapes are now running out.

In 2009 when this elephant hit a low of 2.55 the turnover was...
In 2011 @2.85 - 3 range what is the turnover...

Hope the pessimism holds out longer for the accumulation to last longer @2/- levels. If it can break 2/- it will be manaa stocks from heaven smile

This a cheap bank, maybe the cheapest in the world...

As for Britank, why is it not appearing in most sites i.e. nse.co.ke, mystocks.co.ke, bloomberg.com. They are only in rich.co.ke, yet its price is not shown.

Seems its a jewel in waiting. Many have been disappointed, even H.E M.K!

the deal
#31 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 10:32:30 AM

Well @Dunkang smart money moved out of Safcom towards book closure thats why u so those huge volumes *dividend yield¢...now there is nothing attractive anymore about Safcom...ofcourse 2bob does not mean cheap...Safcon will just be trading at a PE of 7-8...we have good companies trading at that PE aulready so why not Safcon?

Well for Britank good luck buddy...atleast you will learn something...the stockmarket is unforgiving...
hisah
#32 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 12:20:42 PM

@Dunkang - I had not noticed that the britak symbol is missing on nse & other sites. Maybe it was never listed smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#33 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 12:47:58 PM

hisah wrote:
@Dunkang - I had not noticed that the britak symbol is missing on nse & other sites. Maybe it was never listed smile

Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly

That's why i slightly believe that it has disappointed many!

These character know too well the power of an informed public.

Am Just guessing, NO FACTS!

All companies were updated the same day they listed, Britank has not yet listed! Applause Applause Applause

QW25081985
#34 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 1:22:51 PM

Kabird wrote:

Already averaged mine to 3.41. Am a happy guy for that. I need to average down my E.A Cables, but don't feel safe with their current price of 11.20.

my friend . you remove such uncertainity by looking at the charts . am sure you can subscribe to mystocks and get to know current support and resistance of this stock instead of guessing where you think the price might go.
I really pity people who do this guessing .
#35 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 3:06:31 PM

hi @QW, tell me a price range i should average with. Am -24% on this cables mess. Is 11.20 safe, au ningoje ishuke shuke?

Hunderwear
#36 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 3:23:04 PM

QW25081985 wrote:
Kabird wrote:

my friend . you remove such uncertainity by looking at the charts . am sure you can subscribe to mystocks and get to know current support and resistance of this stock instead of guessing where you think the price might go.

@QW are charts this reliable?I wish to learn them where can I do it.I just registered at mystock.
QW25081985
#37 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 3:35:44 PM

Hunderwear wrote:
QW25081985 wrote:
Kabird wrote:

@QW are charts this reliable?I wish to learn them where can I do it.I just registered at mystock.

i really pay close attention to support and resistance level ( like now i cannot touch any stock knowing the index has support at 3k mark in its current down trend). and also moving averages. there are tons and tons of websites to teach you the basics of looking at charts and you build from those basics
QW25081985
#38 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 6:04:26 PM

How about we change this thread to " safcom trading at sub one bob ex-div. " Coz thats where we are headed.
Hunderwear
#39 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 6:45:33 PM

QW25081985 wrote:
Hunderwear wrote:
QW25081985 wrote:
Kabird wrote:

i really pay close attention to support and resistance level ( like now i cannot touch any stock knowing the index has support at 3k mark in its current down trend). and also moving averages. there are tons and tons of websites to teach you the basics of looking at charts and you build from those basics

>which one do you recommend for a starter lyk hundie?
#40 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 7:05:35 PM

QW25081985 wrote:
How about we change this thread to " safcom trading at sub one bob ex-div. " Coz thats where we are headed.

I wil regard u as a prophet should your word come to pass