wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Are you an ideal wife, or a Kenyan wife?
pn
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 10:50:59 AM

#2 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 12:32:45 PM

I like the way she explains the 'submitting to your man' aspect at the end of her write up. Very, very courageous writer that one. ALL women should read it and stop asking what men want. She seems to have cracked it!
Pastor M
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 1:44:52 PM

An ideal wife .. ...will by her husband even in very difficult times...when He is not sure of what will happen tomorrow.smile smile smile
rryz
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 1:47:40 PM

I rarely see them together back here at home. Seems the Hague's doing some good to the couple....More time bonding!!!
Ms Mkenya
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:12:19 PM

I think the media has created this Unpleasant, difficult, often-educated-and-earning-a-lot-of-Money monster of a woman & wife in Kenya.

If she is not a nagging, annoying, disrespectful wife, she is a gold digger.. And now i see they have given her the new tag- Kenyan wife..

Whereas i agree there are more independent females than there has ever been in the history of Kenya, these are really the exception rather than the norm! At least in my world.

The media needs to go out there and meet the bigger group. People like @Wendz.. etc.

These stories are now very tired..
....above all, to stand.
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:24:51 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

The media needs to go out there and meet the bigger group. People like @Wendz.. etc.

Mskenyan,
You can sum it up."My tribe is being finished"smile .There is much truth in that article or so i believe.SAY IT ALOUD.
hoodrat
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:05:14 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly :
Eti the opposite of an ideal wife is a Kenyan wife.LMAO!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
Ms Mkenya
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:23:25 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Mskenyan,
You can sum it up."My tribe is being finished"smile .There is much truth in that article or so i believe.SAY IT ALOUD.

@Guka, wacha siasa! One of you should write something nice about your wife!

Haki Yetu! Haki Yetu haki Yetu.. smile smile
....above all, to stand.
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:41:12 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
I think the media has created this Unpleasant, difficult, often-educated-and-earning-a-lot-of-Money monster of a woman & wife in Kenya.

If she is not a nagging, annoying, disrespectful wife, she is a gold digger.. And now i see they have given her the new tag- Kenyan wife..

Whereas i agree there are more independent females than there has ever been in the history of Kenya, these are really the exception rather than the norm! At least in my world.

This is a fundamental characteristic of the mass media that many people never seem to grasp: When a dog bites a man, that's not news; but when a man bites a dog, we have a headline story.

In short, the things that you get in the news are of necessity the exception; not the rule!

If you read about an "independent woman" giving her husband a hard time; then you must first appreciate that she is the exception and not the rule. If it was the norm, then it wouldn't make the news...just like a dog biting a man!

The great majority of women (independent or not) are not like that. They support their husbands through thick and thin.

Similarly, when you read about husbands cheating on their wives, make a mental note that this is the exception and not the rule. It was the norm, then it wouldn't be news!
Ms Mkenya
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:59:14 PM

mukiha wrote:

In short, the things that you get in the news are of necessity the exception; not the rule!

The great majority of women (independent or not) are not like that. They support their husbands through thick and thin.

Similarly, when you read about husbands cheating on their wives, make a mental note that this is the exception and not the rule. It was the norm, then it wouldn't be news!

Thanks @ Mukiha..I agree with you.. I just need to remember they need to make money hence the sensational stories..
....above all, to stand.
brav
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:02:22 PM

Hadnt read that, and hey I love my wife, and I would marry her again and I'll keep on praying for her, maybe she becomes "kenyan wife" kidogo but then especially (The kenyan wife shouts questions and instructions to the house help from the living room)

again mimi ni...?Pray Applause
patcho
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:44:14 PM

from my basic understanding,the word ideal=perfect.who wants an ideal/perfect wife? probably those who life in dreamland.guys..this is life and its not ideal..its not perfect.if you think you deserve an ideal wife then you must be perfect also and only one man was perfect and he proved that by walking on water.ideal is found in utopia.....I would rather remarry my Kenyan wife 100000 times than get an ideal wife because just like me I dont expect her to be perfect(ideal).I expect her to get tired,frustrated,angry,happy,sad,nagging(a little) etc just like any normal human being.
keke2
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:50:17 PM

We are being finished!!!!
keke2
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 6:53:34 PM

patcho wrote:
from my basic understanding,the word ideal=perfect.who wants an ideal/perfect wife? probably those who life in dreamland.guys..this is life and its not ideal..its not perfect.if you think you deserve an ideal wife then you must be perfect also and only one man was perfect and he proved that by walking on water.ideal is found in utopia.....I would rather remarry my Kenyan wife 100000 times than get an ideal wife because just like me I dont expect her to be perfect(ideal).I expect her to get tired,frustrated,angry,happy,sad,nagging(a little) etc just like any normal human being.

Applause Applause Kweli kabisa!
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 9:51:23 PM

Submitted by superwoman69

In the days of King Solomon women did not have to hold down tough and stressful corporate jobs, or navigate a man's world to keep their bank teller position! Neither did the family require them to help support the household financially. There is absolutely NO comparison!! Your article is therefore total trash, the type that the Daily Nation should never print given it's sophisticated readership! And if you do really teach about marriage, you should go main stream--the Amish are not a good example for the rest of the world!!!

Posted September 08, 2011 08:04 AM
jasonhill
#16 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 3:02:03 AM

I thought that the article was unduly, overly harsh on Kenyan women. Even disrespectful. How dare DN describe them as if they were US or UK women? Kenyan women are a dream, truly angels in comparison.

Now the question is, does that make UG women heaven itself? smile

Best,

Hill
#17 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 9:37:59 AM

Ms Kenya, I've always known I married a gem. After I read that article (actually I sent it to her) I realized how fortunate I am. And yes, the Nairobi/ sophisticated woman is an exception. Most of the guys I know have good women. Unfortunately, they ( women) are always being bombarded by the news-makers to the extent they feel they are the exception and we have to keep telling them they are who we want!

We are not interested in the loud, smoking,drunk,anorhexic looking, what-a-man-can- do -i-can -do better, nag type of woman. Those have their place in society and that place is not in my house!
#18 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 9:42:25 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Mskenyan,

SAY IT LOUD SAY IT PROUD