wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

water purifying machine
#1 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 2:06:10 PM

The salty taste in my Londokwe village water is getting too much especially during this extended period of drought .

any water purifying machine/chemical in the market that can change this salty poison to clean water for domestic use(drinking, cooking ,laundry etc)

The water is sourced from a borehole.

At what price can I get the machine or chemical ? locally or anywhere in the global village ?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 9:34:11 AM

No one with this infor, how about reverse osmosis machine , how does it work? how is its efficiency as in how many litres of clean water can it make in say one hour/day or momth ? where can I get it ?At what price ? do we have solar powered one cos at Londokwe sun is a free resource in plenty?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
MIKEnya
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 10:19:33 AM

incognito
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 11:43:05 AM

The Reverse Osmosis (RO) plant is the best alternative for purifying the water. Reverse osmosis plants are used to produce most of the water you find in the market. The process essentially de-mineralizes water by removing ions. Now, to understand the process you have to remember osmosis. I.e movement of solvent(salty water) via a semipermeable membrane to a place of higher solute(Salt) content in order to attain concentration equilibrium. That is why drinking lots of salty water will dehydrate you. Reverse osmosis plant provide energy to reverse the natural osmosis process. The salty water is put on one side of the membrane and energy is applied to stop, and then reverse, the osmotic process. It is slow but makes salty water drinkable/potable. It works.

There is an RO plant i saw in Mombasa once costing around 38 K with an output of 2litresper hour.
Excelsior
cmk
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:12:12 PM

@ user,where is this londokwe you always talk about??maji kwisha kuwa sawa?
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
accelriskconsult
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:24:41 PM

cmk wrote:
@ user,where is this londokwe you always talk about??maji kwisha kuwa sawa?

londokwe is Kamba parlance for mwisho wa dunia
jash81
#7 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2011 9:23:31 PM

incognito wrote:
The Reverse Osmosis (RO) plant is the best alternative for purifying the water. Reverse osmosis plants are used to produce most of the water you find in the market. The process essentially de-mineralizes water by removing ions. Now, to understand the process you have to remember osmosis. I.e movement of solvent(salty water) via a semipermeable membrane to a place of higher solute(Salt) content in order to attain concentration equilibrium. That is why drinking lots of salty water will dehydrate you. Reverse osmosis plant provide energy to reverse the natural osmosis process. The salty water is put on one side of the membrane and energy is applied to stop, and then reverse, the osmotic process. It is slow but makes salty water drinkable/potable. It works.

There is an RO plant i saw in Mombasa once costing around 38 K with an output of 2litresper hour.

@ incognito can you please be kind enough and advice where in Mombasa I can acquire the RO machine I am interested.
incognito
#8 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:31:35 PM

jash81 wrote:
incognito wrote:

@ incognito can you please be kind enough and advice where in Mombasa I can acquire the RO machine I am interested.

The RO plant i saw in Mombasa is the Kent Grand...see link-
http://www.kent.co.in/pr...urifiers_kentgrand.aspx

I believe it was going for Ksh 38,000 (Exc. VAT). The shop is located just off Digo road. Walk away from Tuskys Supermaket towards GPO, and branch to your left as if heading to fort jesus. The fourth shop from the corner will be selling the RO water purifiers

Excelsior
#9 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 3:41:22 PM

do they have larger capacity output machines?
Speculz
#10 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 4:02:49 PM

try RO machines from EUWA ..best for your task at hand. www.euwa.com
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright