wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Barclays, a good buy or not
anika66
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 5:46:37 PM

I am thinking of buying some barclays shares. What is your advice? Is this the right time?
Keeping it all in the family
QW25071985
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 6:06:48 PM

Where were u when the share was at 14 ? Go ahead buy at the top.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 8:43:14 PM

If they have 2 or 3 more custodial businesses to sell, then you can buy.smile Otherwise...
mwekez@ji
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 8:46:34 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
If they have 2 or 3 more custodial businesses to sell, then you can buy.smile Otherwise...

Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 9:08:57 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

They r screwed in addition to the CBK crackdown on their off-shore forex positions.
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 9:11:05 PM

In other news KCB Group has allocated USD 15M for the mortgage business in UG. Roar!!
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 10:25:07 AM

Tomorrow, this will be the first bank in my portfolio. LETS GO BBK! at 10/-.

hisah
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 11:13:42 AM

In a bear market, good news is bad news & bad news is bad news...

Those firms that report solid profits in a bear get slaughtered...

The BBK 5yr chart points lower to 9/- with all those splits... When they start reporting bad profit reductions the selling will relax!?

Mr Market's psychology is very twisted & this is not taught in class...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUkbdjetlY8
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
QW25081985
#9 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 11:14:30 AM

hahahahahaha. Where have you been , lol . Now is the time u are selling. By the time that order reaches nairobi frm mandera the price wld be at 3 bob , lol
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 11:30:00 AM

QW25081985 wrote:

hahahahahaha. Where have you been , lol . Now is the time u are selling. By the time that order reaches nairobi frm mandera the price wld be at 3 bob , lol

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Hiyo ni kali! sasa mvua iko mingi hapa isiolo, already sold some camels. niweke hizi pesa wapi? kwa paper bag? shifta round hii wako na bidii ya kuiba. i cant keep this cash any longer! i want a bank (and only that i will use a cds account!)! NOW!!!! Hizi industrials and services SUCK HARD!

#11 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 5:55:13 PM

@dunkang Barclays is also being punished for inability to expand in EA, the selling off assets and problems with her majesty's revenue services in the UK. There has been massive sell offs at 13 indicating that the slide will continue. Next support at around 11. If that is broken, then the next level is around 9 if the bear continues. The company is however solid, mature, with regular dividend. Wait for it at 11, buy some if it goes to 9-10 you can put all your savings there and just eat the dividends.
StatMeister
#12 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 11:26:04 AM

hisah wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

To understand the market's psychology, one only needs to watch the wildebeests migrations
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Jamani
#13 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 2:44:55 PM

@dunkang Barclays is also being punished for inability to expand in EA, the selling off assets and problems with her majesty's revenue services in the UK. There has been massive sell offs at 13 indicating that the slide will continue. Next support at around 11. If that is broken, then the next level is around 9 if the bear continues. The company is however solid, mature, with regular dividend. Wait for it at 11, buy some if it goes to 9-10 you can put all your savings there and just eat the dividends.

It is now coming home to roast
#14 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 4:17:52 PM

@sparkly - What has BBK got to do with PLC's problem at home with HM Revenue Service?

BBK is stuck in Kenya unlike Equity or Co-op or other Kenyan banks... That is an issue for future growth...
#15 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 8:55:14 PM

with the options available I would bolt from BBK at any price..
its currently offering similar returns to its peers so that rules out the dividend case..

And also investors must avoid making dividends the reason for buying a stock... A company that pays fat dividends (in pay out ratio terms not dividend yield) is usually running out of projects to invest so capital growth is limited and shareholders are likely to underperform in the long run wheras low pay out companies grow shareholder wealth (and hence the share price) through the returns from their various projects so these shareholders outperform in the long run..

QW25081985
#16 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 9:11:34 PM

StatMeister wrote:
hisah wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

To understand the market's psychology, one only needs to watch the wildebeests migrations

cannt agree more