Hill,
I think this could work with good research, see below an actual email of a similar venture i got myself involved in Kilimani/Kileleshwa area!
Dear xxxxx,
Thanks for your interest in partnering in running xxxxx and i hope you
come on board and that we will have a mutually beneficial business
relationship.
Here is the info you asked:
1. The annual turnover is between 8-10m
2. So far the profits have not been substantial
3. We dont have any loans
4. Staff salaries are btn 70-80k and i have a salary of 60k per month. The
salaries may fluctuate depending on the number of employees i have.
5. Future projections if we start the steak house and the other income
centres are as follows:
a. Cheeky bull steak house - Ksh. 50,000 daily or 1.5m per month.
b. Bar - Ksh 40,000 daily or 1.2m per month
c. Thufu(soup) corner - Ksh. 15,000 daily or ksh. 450,000 per month
d. Carwash - Ksh. 2,200 daily or ksh. 75,000 per month
e. Mpesa - rent out space for 10k per month
Total monthly income ksh. 3,235,000.
6. We are willing to sell a minimum of 20% shareholding for 2m. But if you
want more shares we can discuss.
I should point out that the last 2 years have been a learning process for
me because i had never ran a similar business before. I have made a few
mistakes but i think with a partner who can run the kitchen, then the
business can take of.
Let me know what you think about this asap so that i can make a decision.
I hope to hear from you soon.
Thanks,
xxxxx - What i have learnt so far, to succeed in business in Kenya, avoid elitist theories, target the common man, you will laugh all the way to the bank (The simpler it is the better for you).
- I know the owner of Divinio and his biggest issue was "Kenyans should learn to PAY for ambience" Lesson he is not making money his target market is miniscule after investing so much esp his wine selection, but his strategy is a story for another day - this brings me to Skylux, was there to survey when was home and well hard to tell if their making money din't really see guys "spending" they seem to have attracted the wrong crowd those guys who rave in groups of 5-10 (no money there) went to the VIP area for good measure (bought the bottle of Whisky) thats what needed to get to the VIP, again din't see real spenders full of wannabees again pockets of large goups, CAVEAT this is just my obeservation on a very limited time.
- I don't know much bout Legends but had a cuppa with the guy who designed Rafikiz and he told me the interior cost inexcess of 8M, one of the partners told me there indeed they been making cash i think this was in the initial 1 year or so with this whole "Lounge" concept and flashy interior design something which was not as common in the market then however my gut says things are different now. Went to the sports bar in Karen (Nakumatt complex forget the name) first of it's kind and in my opinion the only real sports bar however they have been struggling to pull in numbers so i begin to imagine the lots of human traffic experienced in Westlands are college wannabees hence the large precence of matatus in the area and are they BIG spenders? well Jury is out!!
The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.