wazua Fri, May 23, 2025

52 Pages«<1112131415>»
Question for a4architect
GGK
#241 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 9:51:31 AM

Pao wrote:
I am planning to construct a two bedroom house using corrugated iron sheets. I intend to have a concrete floor. Any idea what the rough cost of this project will be. Thanks

I hope you mean corrugated iron sheets for walls?
If so, not much savings will be realized cos iron sheets are damn expensive nowadays. May be you can try getting rejects mabati from Devki in Ruiru. relatively cheap and would work perfectly for walls.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Foz00
#242 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 11:14:03 AM

@Pao a room of 12'by 10' with metal door & 1 window, plastered floor, 1 socket & bulb costs around 50k. Reject mabati are not that cheap due to demand and they are rejects! after 2-3years you can puncture them using your finger.
Pablo
#243 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 1:51:06 PM

Just thot of posting what I went thro when doing the electrical wiring of my house.

Got a couple of electricians who came highly recomended. Took both to the site and asked them what they would need to wire up the place and follow up with KPLC to get the electricity connected.

One electrician told me to buy about 60 rolls of cables of different sizes average cost of 3000/- a roll. I wrote him off. The next one told me to 30Rolls of EA Cables and seemed to what he was talking about.

When we went to buy the wire he showed me a kajoint in Nyamakima where EA Cables wires are cheaper. Just as I was about to pay I decided to look a little closer. Some rolls had the wrapping writen EA Cables in Green and others writen the same in black. I then thought there is no way a company can do this type of packaging in different colours.

Anyway the cable I was buying were fake and unbranded even if writen 'East African Cables'. Thank goodness for google as i googled up a distributor and found one on the next block and were actually the same price as the ones I would have got.

Anyway hope ull get your wiring from a trusted source. Most contractors will just take you to where they have pre arranged for a cut.
#244 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 2:29:10 PM

I have just completed and moved into my new house. I now want to do the landscaping. What is the best grass variety for landscaping/lawn?
#245 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 2:34:52 PM

Pablo wrote:
......When we went to buy the wire he showed me a kajoint in Nyamakima where EA Cables wires are cheaper. Just as I was about to pay I decided to look a little closer. Some rolls had the wrapping writen EA Cables in Green and others writen the same in black. I then thought there is no way a company can do this type of packaging in different colours.

Anyway the cable I was buying were fake and unbranded even if writen 'East African Cables'. Thank goodness for google as i googled up a distributor and found one on the next block and were actually the same price as the ones I would have got.

Anyway hope ull get your wiring from a trusted source. Most contractors will just take you to where they have pre arranged for a cut.

My electrician had also recommended some place in Nyamakima for 'cheaper EA cables' but I refused and instead took him to the East Africa Cables factory in Industrial area where we got the wires.
bensonnzuki
#246 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2011 2:17:26 PM

any body who know where i can get steel y12 y10 and y16 at cheaper price.
also where can i get the cheapest cement

your replies will be highly appreciated
Kaka M
#247 Posted : Saturday, September 10, 2011 2:17:27 PM

madhaquer wrote:
@Swanky,
Doshi are Ironmongers and will have probably the best prices for metal , but you may need to pick your fundi have him give you the required quantities and you buy that for him to make the window grills, gates etc.

The best material for harvesting water is corrugated iron sheets. I have heard that clay tiles need at least one or 2 rainy seasons before the water can be harvested but even then it may not be 100% safe for drinking.

@BensonNzuki the above might help.
James_Njoro
#248 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 12:03:11 PM

BRICK SLABS----------- Is this techology of brick slabs safe and secure thus are the savings made worth it in a residential house of approz 250 Sq metres of 2 floors.
Thanks
Pedro_Nasinyama
#249 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 12:39:00 PM

Benson Nzuki - 670.00 simba cement if you are buying large quantities.
patcho
#250 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 4:42:03 PM

sometime back I saw a thread where someone gave a formulae for approximating the cost of a concrete slab when constructing a flat.I've tried searching for the thread but cant find it...could a brother/sister please assist....
Tito44
#251 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 5:46:20 PM

@Patcho
The information you are looking for is in the same thread you posted in. Check out Pablo's response on April 07, 2010 at 3:03:18 PM
patcho
#252 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 7:09:28 PM

@tito thx .....what a thread!!
african coloner
#253 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 8:14:56 PM

patcho wrote:
sometime back I saw a thread where someone gave a formulae for approximating the cost of a concrete slab when constructing a flat.I've tried searching for the thread but cant find it...could a brother/sister please assist....

how many flats per floor
James_Njoro
#254 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 10:19:39 PM

@ Pablo And Coloner, do you have an idea of brick slabs, someone says they can save upto 40 per cent of ur slab???
#255 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 9:49:37 AM

bensonnzuki wrote:
any body who know where i can get steel y12 y10 and y16 at cheaper price.
also where can i get the cheapest cement

your replies will be highly appreciated

@Ben, if your project is in Kitengela cement prices there have remained stagnant as prices of steel bars etc has sky rocketed. Kshs 670 for all brands here. Y16 is going for 1650, Y 12 980, Y10 680, more than 25% increase since the same time last year.
african coloner
#256 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 2:19:42 PM

James_Njoro wrote:
@ Pablo And Coloner, do you have an idea of brick slabs, someone says they can save upto 40 per cent of ur slab???

thought brick slub are only used in offices constructions,
Pablo
#257 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 2:52:59 PM

Interesting.
I dont know much about them. Unless someone gives us more info.
bensonnzuki
#258 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:58:29 AM

@member thanks for Ur reply.
now is necessary to use Y16 or u can substitute it with Y12? any response is much welcome
Swanky2010
#259 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:09:51 AM

Pablo wrote:
There are several places along the lower part of Kijabe St. One of them is Prime Tiles which is next to a larger shop called China Tiles.

Disclaimer - I am not reccomending them just giving an observation.

@Swanky - Doshi on Msa Rd had a wide range of security doors. Check them out.

pablo, and others who have built, how secure are the security doors being fitted in most of the upcoming estates? Please have a look at the link to get an idea?
http://leadinglocks.com/security-doors.php

two, has anyone purchased ready made parquet at Gikomba and how good are they compared to ones done afresh by a fundi or timsales?

#260 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:21:31 AM

bensonnzuki wrote:
@member thanks for Ur reply.
now is necessary to use Y16 or u can substitute it with Y12? any response is much welcome

@Benson.... please don't try to go against what the structural engineer recommends especially with chuma. It may seem easy lakini consequences could be dire, if anything follow the instructions of the structural engineer to the letter. I bet you don't want to imagine the consequences of structural failure.