wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Nimeacha this Mat business for good now
ali
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 6:42:27 PM

I always knew i could hack it, bt i'm done with the biashara ya matatu. Have sold 2 and will retain 1 to be using for hires ama family outs/travels. Anyone with better biz ideas pls? No transport biz ideas
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 6:59:27 PM

What happened? Try greenhouse (but make sure you have water and it has a roof) or fish farming.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 7:00:12 PM

rudi ocha!

earthvoice
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 7:33:08 PM

rudi ocha!

"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 8:17:50 PM

@ali, eaza bro. Kwani kuliendaje?was it a city route?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 9:06:50 PM

Pole @ali. We all take time to learn how to make money in wazua, could you please tell us how NOT to lose money in mat business. Maybe someone in here could have been considering the idea.
ali
#7 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 9:16:40 PM

That biz has refuse to add up. It bring x amount. It soon ask for x+2 amount.i'm left minus 2. Tried no 30, moved to 44 and finally, ruiru 145. I raise my white flag! Greenhse? Tell me, biz i do on the side, i'm an 8am to 5pm. I grow things then where to sell? Time to sell? Mat: manager, driver/crew, polisi wanalipa daily. Route sacco, constant penalties, 'mechanical issues', ai, i need some peace. Always checking bal kwa my bank via sms to check kama pesa imewekwa, wapi! Hakuna. Nxt, pesa wanted for this, for that. Zimeshikwa, yes we take cash daily kwa 'mkubwa' Argh!
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 9:18:17 PM

earthvoice wrote:
rudi ocha!

Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 9:19:56 PM

radio wrote:
Pole @ali. We all take time to learn how to make money in wazua, could you please tell us how NOT to lose money in mat business. Maybe someone in here could have been considering the idea.

Please do.
Nabwire
#10 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 11:41:47 PM

Dont know about the mat biz but what I do know is you should do what you are passionate about. Sit back and think of something you love doing, and can spend hours doing and not notice the time. When you identify that thing, find ways in which you can profit off of it, if its playing video games, maybe you can open a video game cafe, if its movies etc etc. Mine is the stock market, I can watch those numbers go up and down the whole day mpaka I dream in numbers..true story. Do not do something ati coz someone else is doing it and profiting, if you dont have the passion, you may not make it in their field either.
jerry
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 12:11:18 AM

@ali. Some saccos manage the mats such that the collections from passengers is banked by the sacco and the fueling is done at saccos filling stations. You get the net. This possible especially with the 'shuttles'.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Ceinz
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 7:30:58 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Dont know about the mat biz but what I do know is you should do what you are passionate about. Sit back and think of something you love doing, and can spend hours doing and not notice the time. When you identify that thing, find ways in which you can profit off of it, if its playing video games, maybe you can open a video game cafe, if its movies etc etc. Mine is the stock market, I can watch those numbers go up and down the whole day mpaka I dream in numbers..true story. Do not do something ati coz someone else is doing it and profiting, if you dont have the passion, you may not make it in their field either.

Applause
“small step for man”
Cde Monomotapa
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 8:15:49 AM

Ceinz wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

Applause

Real talk.
murenj
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 9:12:45 AM

you sound like an absentee matatu operator
amolo
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 11:43:23 AM

So you thought OTC, Kenya Bus, Lolwe, RVP, Kwega, Stagecoach, Tawfiq... the list is endless, so you thought they were stupid! Serves you well!
Now go try a posho mill in the Rural Areas, if you still have money to burn.
amolo
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 11:44:32 AM

So you thought OTC, Kenya Bus, Lolwe, RVP, Kwega, Stagecoach, Tawfiq... the list is endless, so you thought they were stupid! Serves you well!
amolo
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 11:50:24 AM

nwamaina
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2011 12:41:24 PM

@ali,ignore the negative comments here those are detractors,i advise you to take your time and identify a biz you can easily monitor (manage) as it appears you have a fulltime job,the only guys I know who have succeeded in matatu or xport biz are those who have very dedicated and honest managers or even spouses who run the show,in this biz even your bro can con you so just take time relax and think with a sober mind and dont forget that you have acquired very critical skills from the matatu industry which you can employ in any other biz situation,am sure you also have enough contacts which you can use to access other biashara ideas,all the best and usikufe moyo even bill gates was ignored at first,branson was told he would even end up in jail so hizi challenges ni kawaida...
kivairu
#19 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 10:46:56 AM

@ ali, pole for the bad experience. You need to rethink your business.Forget the jamas with negative comments, i can tell you for free they havent tried anything.Burning fingures is not a nice experience but a very hard learning experience.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
ocampo
#20 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 5:35:36 PM

Wacheni kuwa mahaters, the guy tried. wengine wenyu hata hamjanunua kuku ya kienyeji na na kumlea akatagaa mayayai
Lets not be vague, we go to hague