wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Is it really worthy the bet?
MoG
#21 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 2:49:28 PM

tom_boy wrote:
I think you/he/she should seriously consider investing the proposed monthly repayment on a monthly basis and cost average over time. Loan is unpredictable. What if you/s/he cant make the repayments and market has slumped. Anyway, eventually wewe ndiye unajijua. Wacha haraka ya kupata utajiri. Huenda ukajikwaa!

@ underweight, you may not consider this, but am seconding it.
#22 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 5:04:02 PM

MoG wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
I think you/he/she should seriously consider investing the proposed monthly repayment on a monthly basis and cost average over time. Loan is unpredictable. What if you/s/he cant make the repayments and market has slumped. Anyway, eventually wewe ndiye unajijua. Wacha haraka ya kupata utajiri. Huenda ukajikwaa!

@ underweight, you may not consider this, but am seconding it.

Mwenda pole hajikwai... Na akijikwaa, haanguki, na akianguka...
erifloss
#23 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 6:02:17 PM

Tell your friend not to take the loan. Real estate as an investment option will drop though for the high end market segment up is the way to go & with 2 mili that's a market off his/her radar. Reasons being inflation has watered down the 'ma plot' middle class's disposable income tremendously & most properties are indeed over-valued thus wait for a drop.
The stock market has not yet bottomed out & we might see the index go down to around 3200-3000 before anything good happens.
As one guy has advised, tell your friend to use his 'repayment' money to invest in short term treasuries. Minimum required to invest in a Tbill is 100k, he/she can be going for the 91 day paper which will ensure capital preservation, some sort of liquity in the sense that the cash is not held for long & constant maturity if he does it every month in the next 3 months & months thereafter continously & a little income (the last's auction's pricing was 97.637 per every 100). The above will ensure he does not incur interest exp, preserves capital while accumulating at the same time & earn income while awaiting for the market to stabilize.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
kingauwi
#24 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 6:11:16 PM

My view is, if the cost of the money is low, take it.

On what to invest it on, well thatswhere the dilemma comes in.

You/he may choose to put the money in the bourse, where the riskys are a bit high, but returns can be alluring and quick - bottom line unpredictable.

You may choose to invest the funds in land plots - and expect good returns in the 3years mentioned - No guess work here.

Downside here is wading through con games at purchase, relatively higher initial incidental fees, slower rate of liquidation.
First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win!
#25 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 8:33:45 PM

@erifloss, what do you mean by market stabilising? Is it when it hits rock bottom? I think the guy has a clear plan: pick some stocks at a discount today and sell off when the bear leaves. I wouldnt advise him to wait for abnormal rise though. He should aim at moderate returns per share
erifloss
#26 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 1:20:59 PM

@erifloss, what do you mean by market stabilising? Is it when it hits rock bottom? I think the guy has a clear plan: pick some stocks at a discount today and sell off when the bear leaves. I wouldnt advise him to wait for abnormal rise though. He should aim at moderate returns per share

Guys who bought in May thinking shares have bottomed out are still seeing red, same as June, july etc. The guy should wait till the volumes in the market start making sense & while at it preserve his capital. We all surely know that the market is still volatile & tanking & he/she will still be able to get the same shares at lower prices than they are now.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
kiterunner
#27 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 3:26:38 PM

as tempting as it may seem, i wouldnt put a loan at the NSE. If the index gets to below 2800 (highly improbable) I would consider it but even then it wouldnt for such an insane amount as 2M. Depends on how long he ll be investing for. If he s lucky, he may be the happiest guy on wazua for a long time
our goals are best achieved indirectly
bartum
#28 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 10:19:19 AM

kiterunner wrote:
as tempting as it may seem, i wouldnt put a loan at the NSE. If the index gets to below 2800 (highly improbable) I would consider it but even then it wouldnt for such an insane amount as 2M. Depends on how long he ll be investing for. If he s lucky, he may be the happiest guy on wazua for a long time

their are other happiest guys in wazua though