wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Is it really worthy the bet?
underweight
#1 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 5:59:07 PM

Hi Wazuan, a friend of mine is contemplating between taking a Sacco loan of KShs 2 Million at an interest rate of 1% (one Percent per Month payable in 4 yrs) and invest in the NSE. At the end of it all he will pay a total interest of 24.5% of the principal sum taken or invest an equivalent through a fixed monthly installment for 3 yr. Wat is the best course of action between this two considering the market condition at the moment? Your advice is highly appreciated.
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"
#2 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 6:22:41 PM

Lot's of jitters right now, which makes loans extremely risky. Loans at the NSE are a no-no for me even during good times, sembuse sasa?
Which are the counters your buddy is interested in?
QW25071985
#3 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 6:27:12 PM

but some stocks are tooo tempting ...access kenya at 5 bob surely . that i can take a loan for ..lol
Abby
#4 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 6:50:20 PM

underweight wrote:
Hi Wazuan, a friend of mine is contemplating between taking a Sacco loan of KShs 2 Million at an interest rate of 1% (one Percent per Month payable in 4 yrs) and invest in the NSE. At the end of it all he will pay a total interest of 24.5% of the principal sum taken or invest an equivalent through a fixed monthly installment for 3 yr. Wat is the best course of action between this two considering the market condition at the moment? Your advice is highly appreciated.

Why can't he put that cash in well-selected plots going for around 300k each. After 4 years, he will rejoice!!
underweight
#5 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 6:57:15 PM

@ YCSUN the guy is eying Safaricom at 2.50-3.00 Range, Equity KCB and KPLC below 15 Bob and KenolKobil.(not in order of preference) He prefers just to hold not more than 4 counter. @abby the guy had not considered plots but I'll advice on that though he feel prices have been exaggerated so much and once he was in sh*t and could not manage to get a suitable buyer for his plot in Kitengela in good time.
Abby
#6 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:03:35 PM

I agree, I have also been in a situation where I have wanted to sell a plot .... but getting a buyer is hard when you want quick money ..... the guy should have some of that money in an easy-to-liquidate investment.

I have ended up selling two prime properties at not the best prices because I needed the cash fast!!

Dunia ya wanaume!
underweight
#7 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:11:21 PM

@abby so you can also confirm how hard it is selling a plot when U are in need of money eeh? That implies that most properties values have been hyped. Was in Kitale the other day and was surprised to be told that a qtr plot is going for a 1.5 Million plus yet a 3 Bedroom house is going below 10K. I wonder wat one can do with such a plot to have a higher rate of return in investment.
Abby
#8 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:20:11 PM

Very true: myself, I have stopped buying properties that are inflated .... Kenyans do not have money yet those that have things on sell think that we are rich people.

On the other hand, I am happy we have so many developers putting up flats, etc. Soon the supply will be so much that these same properties will be going cheap ....
#9 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:37:53 PM

Safcom @ 2.5 will give him 800k shares. Not bad. Could make him an extra 2m in 3 years
Muthawamunene
#10 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:54:37 PM

underweight wrote:

sema tu ni wewe.

3 yrs you say? From econometrics, using confidence band models, it was shown that economic indicators take 2 -8 quarters to adjust to a major decision/policy change. eg inflation, unemployment etc etc So factor this to your question and take a look at whts happening around. CBk mopping up pesa from the economy, so taking a loan now is better than later when rates go up.

Taking it to the market is another thng all together. Undoubtedly, the market will go up, but like a good market, you cant predict when and how fast and by how much.

my advice would be take the loan, lipa na mshahara (not with gains from the market), sit tight n be a millionare 8 quarters from now. bt dnt pick paka na access unless they show a turn around. Falling revenues is as discharge is to the clap. even if profits go up. You can only cut costs so much.

fikira zangu tu.
underweight
#11 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:04:21 PM

@ MuthawaMunene,the good thing with Sacco loan is that the interest is pegged at 1% and the his sacco has been paying an average of 7% Dividend per year. So if you factor that in is like he is not paying interest at all though that caters for inflation. I like your argument brotherApplause Applause Applause Applause
kaifastus
#12 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:06:21 PM

Abby,if u ave put up flats:(or rental houses;)you cant sell cheap.!houses are notstocks.beside you need to checkthe census figures. .demand will alwaez ne thea.
tom_boy
#13 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:15:47 PM

I think you/he/she should seriously consider investing the proposed monthly repayment on a monthly basis and cost average over time. Loan is unpredictable. What if you/s/he cant make the repayments and market has slumped. Anyway, eventually wewe ndiye unajijua. Wacha haraka ya kupata utajiri. Huenda ukajikwaa!
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Muthawamunene
#14 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:21:09 PM

underweight wrote:
@ MuthawaMunene,the good thing with Sacco loan is that the interest is pegged at 1% and the his sacco has been paying an average of 7% Dividend per year. So if you factor that in is like he is not paying interest at all though that caters for inflation. I like your argument brotherApplause Applause Applause Applause

mjamaa, inflation affects not only the loan, but purchasing power- the ability to by cememt from ARM, sugar from mumias, diseal from kk. The ability to pay back loans n give loans cheaply. The ability to pay insurance premiums and lipa that stima bill. In the short run this is murder for stocks (buyer's haven), later when inlation eases and real money (wages n all) adjusts itself uta smile.

Remeber all kinda shit cn happen btween now and then.
#15 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:02:47 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
but some stocks are tooo tempting ...access kenya at 5 bob surely . that i can take a loan for ..lol

Nkt! Umesahau you already sold your wife when it was at 8 bob so that you could buy moreLaughing out loudly
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:17:07 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:

Nkt! Umesahau you already sold your wife when it was at 8 bob so that you could buy moreLaughing out loudly

BUZTED!! Sherlock "wa-memory" YCSUN. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#17 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 11:54:32 AM

@Underweight that 1pc for the loan can only be the monthly rate while the 7pc dividends is annual. Take the risk and you will make cash
#18 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 1:09:58 PM

underweight wrote:
@ YCSUN the guy is eying Safaricom at 2.50-3.00 Range, Equity KCB and KPLC below 15 Bob

That would be very tempting! But at that point, index will be 2500-3000. Probable?
Is he taking the loan and waiting (prices might not register) or plans to wait till the prices are hit (by the time loan is approved price might go back up)
QW25071985
#19 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 1:24:20 PM

NEVER EVER TAKE A LOAN TO INVEST IN STOCKS !!!!!we all know what happened to the 'wanjkus' that took loans to buy safcom ipo ...
underweight
#20 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 1:29:00 PM

He says the loan takes atmost 3 weeks to get approved and atleast 2weeks. Meanwhile he was considering putting the money on money market/ bonds and grasp the any fleeting opportunity when it presents itself.