wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

I want a baby, some advice?
MoG
#21 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 12:37:40 AM

If your conscience serves you right, then go ahead and adopt one. But make sure you are on the safe side of the law. All the best.
kiwaru
#22 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:20:30 AM

dude, based on the psychology that I know, I really wonder what drives you. Forget the "... someone is sleeping hungry bit..." Am talking about in your subconscious. Is there like a gap that you are trying to fill?
I have a kid, have invested quite a bit in parenting (its my number one investment), its not a walk in the park. But it pays huge rewards (both financial and emotional).
#23 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:21:58 AM

@nesta, you cannot adopt a girl if you are a single man. The law does not allow. Go on and adopt a boy. Google adoption agencies in Kenya. They will assist you with the paperwork and process needed.
gogeta
#24 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 7:47:46 AM

@Nesta i really admire your courage, its not easy at all for a man-especially the men of these ages- to even think of adopting. I know that you might go through rigorous interviews and evaluations coz of the fact that you are single but All the best!
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
xxxxx
#25 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:23:56 AM

Get an airport.

Shame on you shame on you @nesta.....attempts to get laid should not be done in our investment section urrrrrrrrghgggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Kenyan Oracle
#26 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 8:29:37 AM

Muthawamunene wrote:
at first i was so enthusiastic bout this post. When i found ur a jamaa, cjui kule psyk imeenda. All the best.

I saw this thread & rushed to read thinking its from an airport kumbe its a dude. Anyway best of luck
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
GGK
#27 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:04:36 AM

While raising kids (and family) is an investment, I don't understand why this thread is still on this section. What will we have next?

Any way, you cannot adopt a child in Kenya if;
(a) you have been charged or convicted for any offence against children.
(b) you are homo sexual
(c) you are not of sound mind
(d) you apply jointly with another person whom you are not married to.
(e) you are sole male foreigner

All the best.

But move the topic from here
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
nesta
#28 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:15:52 AM

kiwaru wrote:
dude, based on the psychology that I know, I really wonder what drives you. Forget the "... someone is sleeping hungry bit..." Am talking about in your subconscious. Is there like a gap that you are trying to fill?
I have a kid, have invested quite a bit in parenting (its my number one investment), its not a walk in the park. But it pays huge rewards (both financial and emotional).

Thanks for the advice. I love being with kids and that is why i am thinking of starting a children's home. I am not planning to adopt now, although that is something that i plan to do later in life. For now, i don't want to wait until i am super rich so that i can start an orphanage. I want to start with one child and then hopefully in 2 or three year's time, they'll be like 3. You get my point.
On Christ Alone
nesta
#29 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:19:49 AM

GGK wrote:
While raising kids (and family) is an investment, I don't understand why this thread is still on this section. What will we have next?

Any way, you cannot adopt a child in Kenya if;
(a) you have been charged or convicted for any offence against children.
(b) you are homo sexual
(c) you are not of sound mind
(d) you apply jointly with another person whom you are not married to.
(e) you are sole male foreigner

All the best.

But move the topic from here

Sorry, i don't know how to move it from here
On Christ Alone
callaspade
#30 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:30:11 AM

.....this is a case of "mayday mayday,landing gear failed"
nesta
#31 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:33:05 AM

Ustadh Ongige wrote:
It is creepy for a dude like yourself to habour thoughts like 'I want a baby'. Get your Oestrogen levels checked!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly sorry for the baby thing. it was written accidentintentionally.
On Christ Alone
Mblue
#32 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:41:04 AM

callaspade wrote:

"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
nesta
#33 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 9:49:14 AM

gogeta wrote:
@Nesta i really admire your courage, its not easy at all for a man-especially the men of these ages- to even think of adopting. I know that you might go through rigorous interviews and evaluations coz of the fact that you are single but All the best!

Thanks.
On Christ Alone
#34 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 10:29:15 AM

@Nesta - You are doing something that is not common/obvious to the rest. That is what great men do. Someone has to be the pioneer [or among them]. In this case you have been brave enough to say "I am going to adopt a kid even if I am single man. Why not?"

The whole concept of a single man adopting a child might be new to me and most wazuans [going by the replies] but that doesn't mean it is wrong. Personally I am intelligent enough to appreciate new approaches and/or concepts. Don't take the people who are insulting you seriously.

Some advice you have been given here is very important. For one, taking care of a child is no mean task. But that doesn't mean you cannot do it. If you have a 8 - 9yr relative, talk to his parents and try living with him for a couple of months to get a feel of what it entails. Once you adopt a kid, there is no turning back. You can't tell him "I give up! I didn't know it is this hard.".

Once again, all the best my brother. And as I told you, ignore the insults. Most human beings are not very receptive to things that deviate from what they are used to. That is why even MPesa was being trashed/challenged by "senior leaders/government officials".
Ms Mkenya
#35 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 10:45:11 AM

nesta wrote:
I am looking for a child around 5 - 8 years. I have always dreamt of starting a children's home (that does not rely on donors.) However, since i don't have a lot of cash now, i think i can start with a one child and live with him in my house. I am a single man so i think i can start with a boy. Has anyone ever gone through this route? All advice is welcome.

Does the Kenyan law allows a single man to adopt? i thought not. Or did it change?
....above all, to stand.
#36 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 10:46:52 AM

Deleted. Same as post# 34 above.
#37 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 10:48:34 AM

@Nesta - You are doing something that is not common/obvious to the rest. That is what great men do. Someone has to be the pioneer [or among them]. In this case you have been brave enough to say "I am going to adopt a kid even if I am single man. Why not?"

The whole concept of a single man adopting a child might be new to me and most wazuans [going by the replies] but that doesn't mean it is wrong. Personally I am intelligent enough to appreciate new approaches and/or concepts. Don't take the people who are insulting you seriously.

Some advice you have been given here is very important. For one, taking care of a child is no mean task. But that doesn't mean you cannot do it. If you have a 8 - 9yr relative, talk to his parents and try living with him for a couple of months to get a feel of what it entails. Once you adopt a kid, there is no turning back. You can't tell him "I give up! I didn't know it is this hard.".

Once again, all the best my brother. And as I told you, ignore the insults. Most human beings are not very receptive to things that deviate to what they are used to. That is why even MPesa was being trashed/challenged by "senior leaders/government officials".

Applause Applause Applause Applause Umeongea kama mtu saba!!!!
Kenyan Oracle
#38 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 10:55:33 AM

callaspade wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
GGK
#39 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 11:30:19 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Does the Kenyan law allows a single man to adopt? i thought not. Or did it change?

Surprisingly the law allows.
But single foreign men cannot adopt
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#40 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2011 12:04:11 PM

GGK wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

Surprisingly the law allows.
But single foreign men cannot adopt

Why do you say, surprisingly??