Market
Pennywise
Bargain hunter
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
many times i have saved a coin from something i learnt from wazuans about a good opportunity or bargain. Are the like minded wazuans willing to set up a bargain hunter's catalogue on most services? For example many banks have hidden charges that they dont tell you of till you need a particular service. if we set up a spread sheet listing service providers and what they charge for a particular service, it will go a long way in helping us all get a bargain, this applies to everything from car insurance, to current account to phone companies....... just a thought Allah akbar our goals are best achieved indirectly
For a normal savings account, Barclays charge a monthly fee of 7 dollars ie 590/- as "account maintenance" and to close your account with them, you pay 500/- bob.
Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance!
withdrawing with equity agents more than 2500 get you charged 50 bob
Naivas is the cheapest supermarket, at least from what i see on Sunday Live price comparisons
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
If buying cutlery and house hold items in bulk, it is cheaper to get into a bus to mombasa (newal) and back. Believe it or not. If buying in small quanties, you can send someone travelling up. You will not even spend a quater what you would spend in nrb supermarkets
@jaribu for a USD current account BBK charges $7 maintenance fee and 0.5% withdrawal charges!! I felt robbed.
I see lots of very well priced stuff on e-bay. Never bought anything there. I wonder if anyone here has, and whether it makes any cost savings after transportation and tax. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku wrote:I see lots of very well priced stuff on e-bay. Never bought anything there. I wonder if anyone here has, and whether it makes any cost savings after transportation and tax. first of all international shipping will set u back $40.00 . Then the amount u'll pay for duties is absurd to say the least. Itsnt worth the hussle.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
mungaits wrote:@jaribu for a USD current account BBK charges $7 maintenance fee and 0.5% withdrawal charges!! I felt robbed. Member charges no monthly fees. KES 50 for withdrawals. About USD 7 for incoming transfers. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
seppuku wrote:I see lots of very well priced stuff on e-bay. Never bought anything there. I wonder if anyone here has, and whether it makes any cost savings after transportation and tax. For computer hardware it is definitely cheaper because they are exempt from duty and VAT. For most other things you'll have to do a cost benefit analysis and compare ebay/amazon to local pricing. If the item you want is not available locally,then you dont have much of a choice.
QW25071985 wrote:seppuku wrote:I see lots of very well priced stuff on e-bay. Never bought anything there. I wonder if anyone here has, and whether it makes any cost savings after transportation and tax. first of all international shipping will set u back $40.00 . Then the amount u'll pay for duties is absurd to say the least. Itsnt worth the hussle. Still leaving alone customs...
jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!! Touche! Give a big allowance to your guess, e.g. in terms of several tens of thousands, just to be sure.
McReggae wrote:jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!! Agreed. You can also get it free by getting an ATM withdrawal authorization you have no intention of using.
kiriita wrote:McReggae wrote:jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!! Agreed. You can also get it free by getting an ATM withdrawal authorization you have no intention of using. try buying a million bob worth of credit....works for me all the time... If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
Enyewe, if people spending a bob to check MPesa Balance is an issue, times are hard. Keep the bargain ideas flowing.. "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
McReggae wrote:jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/1/2011 Posts: 47 Location: Nairobi
kiriita wrote:McReggae wrote:jaribu wrote:Mpesa will charge you 1 bob to check your mpesa balance! Simply try sending an amount you are sure you do not have, you will then get your balance for free!!!! Agreed. You can also get it free by getting an ATM withdrawal authorization you have no intention of using. this is really bright! the bank charge i totally don't get is salary processing.... my employer has transferred money to my account, charged by his bank and so what am i being charged for? equity has the lowest charge 100/= for savings accounts. I am an optimist. It does not seem too much use being anything else. ~Winston Churchill
Market
Pennywise
Bargain hunter