12 Pages«<9101112>
KenolKobil first HY 2011 pretax profit up 86%
#201 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 7:34:30 PM

ammywanja wrote:
I would love to buy it cheaper! I am holding off buying KK for now. I am waiting for it to drop! I hope it does coz leo there was a line at my KK for the 4/- Deal Poa. The Shell station about 300 metres away had NO cars!

I thought you saw KK fallingto 4 bob.

I would demand a refund on my K-Card & invest in a bicycle while buying KK shares!

that's misleading. I have a K-Card and there was no deposit i paid. the 3k you give upon registration is loaded in the card and you use it to the last penny. maybe what you would need to do is kasirika and fuel all the remaining money on a Sunday for 5 bob less..

Let me rephrase, like M-Pesa, I always keep a balance on my K-Card just in case I need it. Since I would use a bicycle... I would want a 'refund' of my 'deposit' or balance!
#202 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 7:37:52 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
In the same way we are shocked because of how low the other counters are going, when kk goes ex-div and the n.s.e is still in the current state. Many will be shocked just how far it will fall. I'll be waiting for it down there, so to speak.

I wont mind picking it at 5,then wait to become a new millionare in the Autumn of 2013,when @VVS projects the share price to hit 20 bob!

Please revise it to FY 2014 which means 1Q 2015 [after FY 2014 results are released!]
Paul Owuor
#203 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 7:44:42 PM

6.00 is the least it could drop to looking at the HY results and the current global economic outlook,the latter will slightly win the day.
I used to be a pig but I am now a bull-bear hybrid.
#204 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 7:50:30 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
... there was a line at my KK for the 4/- Deal Poa. The Shell station about 300 metres away had NO cars!

Anyone with stats? @the deal, @VVS?

Volume b4 & after the "deals poa" on different days of the week?

What is the margin on sales/litre?

I would really like to know this coz I have a feeling that 70% of sales (maybe even 90%) are on Tues/Fri/Sunday.

A good portion on Kcard... upto 5bob discount on regular pump price? What does this discount cost KK?

Pole. Sina that info! LOL... I doubt they provide that info since it is 'sensitive'.

Watching the Presentation:
- Sales volumes are up vs 2010
- ERC margin is 6/- but KK is normally smarter than the rest!
- I am sure sales on Tu/F/Sn are higher than the rest of the week. Question is does that help kill the competition?
- Costs KK 5/-! Though I think it is probably shared with the Retail Stations.
the deal
#205 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 4:13:37 PM

BP suspended in Tanzania for 3 month http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFL6E7JC0ZO20110812
#206 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 8:02:17 PM

Wow. Good thing, KK has a bigger market share, bad thing, probably at a loss - selling higher priced fuel at lower EWURA politically motivated rates.
kenyainvestor
#207 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:44:39 AM

Government bans KenolKobil from fuel price forecasts www.businessdailyafrica....38/-/999yay/-/index.html
LATEST BLOG POST: NSE BANKING SECTOR REPORT - THE TOP 5
FACEBOOK: Kenya Investing
TWITTER HANDLE: @kenyainvestor
kenyainvestor
#208 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 2:37:59 AM

Gordon Gekko, the article goes on to claim that the Kenyan subsidiary contributes more than half of the profit
hisah
#209 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:34:46 AM

kenyainvestor wrote:
Government bans KenolKobil from fuel price forecasts www.businessdailyafrica....38/-/999yay/-/index.html

Interesting. The last time gubberment touched KK aka that infamous ERC & KPL thing, the share price tanked. Will history repeat itself..?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Aguytrying
#210 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 7:00:46 AM

I find it really funny. Ati kk is affecting the shilling and inflation due to its price predictions. Has gov reported to blame game. The irony is, that kk predictions possibly deter higher prices from being set..... I've been one to criticise on kk's need to always splash the headlines. At the rate they churn out news items , they could probably open a media subsidiary. Kk please concentrate on selling and distributing oil products. You've already lost enough time and money due to spats with gov. Those were very necessary. But no need to always stick your neck out.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
kenyainvestor
#211 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:08:58 AM

Aguytrying, what KK is offering is nothing but an opinion. In their regular commentaries banks offer their opinions on whether interest rates rise or fall. Will that be banned too?
#212 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 1:20:53 PM

Kwani? Offering opinions has been banned in Kenya?

Which means most of us on Wazua are breaking the law when we 'predict' prices, profits, etc...
#213 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 1:55:45 PM

Nothing wrong but just a bad blood history btw gvt and kk
#214 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:04:23 PM

What if KK communicated the news (as they currently do by email) to shareholders only? Surely Big Brother aka George Orwell 1984 can't prevent the managers hired by us from talking to us???
Horton
#215 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:09:47 PM

well I'm glad they did coz KK was panicking the market by "overforecasting"
For Sport
#216 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:13:14 PM

Horton wrote:

And why do you suppose the market has been listening to KK?
#217 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:32:15 PM

Horton wrote:

overforecasting or not the govt is just looking for scapegoats,KK previous predictions were not accurate but still there was a rise in prices just as they had predicted.

Banning them from forecasting is ill advised and now show how incompetent MOE is.The issue of price hikes should be addressed by the govt not shoot the messenger.

IMHO I dont see anything wrong with a player letting its customers know of its future pricing I think its healthy and it keeps the regulator on Check.
#218 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 5:48:53 PM

Most Wazuans forecast something or the other... Prices, forex, earnings, etc... So wanna ban us too?
Cde Monomotapa
#219 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 6:54:03 PM

Most Wazuans forecast something or the other... Prices, forex, earnings, etc... So wanna ban us too?

LoL!! Real talk!
QW25071985
#220 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 8:43:02 PM

When is book closure if already it hasnt reachd yet.
I want this stock at sub nine bob.