wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

KQ goes back to budget airline
#21 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 11:30:26 AM

@horton @statsm - Bottomline: Jambo Air is all set for JKIA.

It pisses me off to pay 1500-1800 o/way for a cab to the airport. So I hope the CBD-JKIA train is ready as soon as KQ's Embraers start coming in!

I wish KQ opens a check-in office in CBD in conjunction with the railways. You check in. You check in your luggage. Then they deliver it to the plane...! No hassles at the airport with luggage!
#22 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 11:51:33 AM

On the Nairobi-Mombasa flight, I do not need a sandwich or soda. What I want is a 'late' check-in i.e. For a 10am flight I want to check in as late as 9.45am not 9am.

I want a 'cheap' fare & I am happy with 'tight' seating for a 1 hour flight! If you are fat then buy 2 seats or fly in cargo.

I want multiple flights daily & flexibility. Like a matatu service lakini a Double M not City Hoppa!

@VVS, hear hear, this is what truly no-frills low-cost airlines offer (I have heard of Ryan Air is king in this), and this is what we need on our national routes; I hope Jambo jet will be the real McCoy where Flamingo failed, and help drive fares even lower.
Coupla weeks ago I took a KQ flight to Kisum city for KShs 3k and was amused to some passengers and even Cucus in slippers/ flip flops,slappers and i reflected flying has been demystified with common wananchi using them compared to the scenario many years ago - si hiyo ni kama matatu?! And maybe,if they didn't serve us ndugu karanja (aka njugu karanga) and some juice it may even have been some hundred of shillings cheaper!

@StatsM and Horton, so what are the runway length requirements of an A380? I assume since more and more are being bought by major airlines which are plying the NBO route Emirates, Virgin, etc) then KAA will need factor in this in their ongoing enhancement of jkia as a regional hub? Are such plans on?

What about new smaller but efficient airlines like Air Uganda that always maintain their schedules? I think their market shares will grow.

@mukiha, could Flamingo have been a knee-jerk reaction, rather than a well-thought ot diversification?

#23 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 12:12:56 PM

KQ is a Boeing airline so no A380 yet! Even if they had one... that would need a LOOONNNNGGG runway + much better airport facilities!
#24 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 3:12:59 PM

JKIA configuration can't accommodate A380. Besides runway length, it needs at least 6 airbridges to facilitate embarking and disembarking - 3 for upstairs pax and 3 for downstairs pax. It also needs an alternative airfield with the same specs in the event that landing at JKIA were aborted.
#25 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 8:12:51 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
JKIA configuration can't accommodate A380. Besides runway length, it needs at least 6 airbridges to facilitate embarking and disembarking - 3 for upstairs pax and 3 for downstairs pax. It also needs an alternative airfield with the same specs in the event that landing at JKIA were aborted.

Vision 2030 not Vision 2015 or even 2020!
StatMeister
#26 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 8:24:46 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:

On the Nairobi-Mombasa flight, I do not need a sandwich or soda. What I want is a 'late' check-in i.e. For a 10am flight I want to check in as late as 9.45am not 9am.

I want a 'cheap' fare & I am happy with 'tight' seating for a 1 hour flight! If you are fat then buy 2 seats or fly in cargo.

I want multiple flights daily & flexibility. Like a matatu service lakini a Double M not City Hoppa!

@VVS, hear hear, this is what truly no-frills low-cost airlines offer (I have heard of Ryan Air is king in this), and this is what we need on our national routes; I hope Jambo jet will be the real McCoy where Flamingo failed, and help drive fares even lower.
Coupla weeks ago I took a KQ flight to Kisum city for KShs 3k and was amused to some passengers and even Cucus in slippers/ flip flops,slappers and i reflected flying has been demystified with common wananchi using them compared to the scenario many years ago - si hiyo ni kama matatu?! And maybe,if they didn't serve us ndugu karanja (aka njugu karanga) and some juice it may even have been some hundred of shillings cheaper!

@StatsM and Horton, so what are the runway length requirements of an A380? I assume since more and more are being bought by major airlines which are plying the NBO route Emirates, Virgin, etc) then KAA will need factor in this in their ongoing enhancement of jkia as a regional hub? Are such plans on?

What about new smaller but efficient airlines like Air Uganda that always maintain their schedules? I think their market shares will grow.

@mukiha, could Flamingo have been a knee-jerk reaction, rather than a well-thought ot diversification?

I hope they will do no-frills to Entebbe and Dar too. If Kisumu is 3k, Entebbe should be no more than 10k

@Intel, A380 = 2,500m, it can still land at Entebbe. But it would take hours to disembark passengers
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#27 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 11:27:14 AM

I wish KQ opens a check-in office in CBD in conjunction with the railways. You check in. You check in your luggage. Then they deliver it to the plane...! No hassles at the airport with luggage!

l remember flying to Harare once (Boeing 707) in 1990 by KQ and checked in at the KQ office on Koinange Street (I think it is Victoria Furnishings now) and they even gave us transport on an old KQ staff bus to the airport ......
#28 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 2:43:30 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

l remember flying to Harare once (Boeing 707) in 1990 by KQ and checked in at the KQ office on Koinange Street (I think it is Victoria Furnishings now) and they even gave us transport on an old KQ staff bus to the airport ......
Nice! Unfortunately, the traffic doesn't allow that today! A pity. This should not be a problem for the railway though.