wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

How much did you pay?
sokomjinga
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2009 1:44:00 PM

I paid

Fees : Std 1 - KSh. 23/- per term.

Form 1 - KSh.495 for the year (term 1,2,3)

Form 5 and 6 - KSh 800 per year.

Fare: KSh. 1/- to Secondary school from Thika to Nairobi.

That was Kenya... just over 3 decades ago when:

US dollar 1 was < KSh.7

GB Pound 1 was < Ksh.16

............. and sometimes we could not afford that!

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2009 3:04:00 PM

wewe ni mzee. lemmi see,you paid ama it was paid?

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
sokomjinga
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2009 3:54:00 PM

Who can't see that ...I know .... it's obvious ...... Uzee haupigi hodi kijana!

Whenever my fees had not been paid ... my headmaster used to tell me I had not paid it ...

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
#4 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 6:18:00 AM

Std 1 to 7 .....sh20 per term

Form 1: term 1....sh45,term2....sh30,term 3...no fees!

Form 2 to 3: term...sh30,term 2....sh30,term 3...no fees

Form 4 term 1: sh45 [and my dad wrote a protest letter!!],term 2...sh45. term three.....no fees [except for exams]

OK,this was a public provincial day-school....

Form 5 & 6: sh385 per term...in a national boarding school.....my dad could not believe it...a ten-fold increment!!!

University: I'm told that people used to be paid Sh7,000 per term [there were no semesters those days] to attend public universities!!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Djinn
#5 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 6:19:00 AM

Kshs 150 per term - private primary school (abt 2 1/2 decades ago). Abt 4000-8000 per term private high school...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#6 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 7:07:00 AM

Fees : Std 1 -7 - KSh. 20/- per term.

Form 1 - KSh.600 for the whole year (term 1,2,3)

Form 5 and 6 - KSh 800 per year.

UNIVERSITY: I was paid Ksh 5,320/ (BOOM) every semester (4 months). Chakula was like in a 5 star hotel. HELB is still chasing me to repay the loan,which I will never as long as our MPS continue behaving the way they are doing. If things change I will present a cheque to HELB...
CLK
#7 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 9:29:00 AM

used to be sent home for 20,30,60/- often in a public primary skul then joined boarding skul,8,900 per year

21,000 per year for secondary skul

9k + 3k accomodation per sem in campo which my parents paid and got lots of loan and bursaries from helb which i cannot account for. am proudly repaying to help another person,hopefully it will go to a needy case this time round.

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
#8 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 10:42:00 AM

@magigi

Thats a very lame excuse of not paying ur helb loan.Mpig have nothing to do With u defaulting.Doing what ur doing makes u even look worse than the mpig.

you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ)
Fundaah
#9 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 11:28:00 AM

Magigi ...why do you want us to refer you as 'Magigi who doesnt pay helb loans'...two wrongs dont make a right......leave the non tax paying mpigs with their own greed....Pay up the Helb loan

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
CLK
#10 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2009 1:51:00 PM

@Magigi,wat u are actually doing is denying a needy child a chance to get education.

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown