wazua Wed, Aug 6, 2025

Introducing the Nairobi20 Stock Index
the deal
#1 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 1:26:53 PM

Hey folks I have come up with my own index...i noticed several shortcomings with the NSE20 which is a market cap weight index, one of the things I noticed EABL & Safcom influence the index heavily while the banking sector has little influence thus it does not represent the true picture of the market.

The Nairobi20 Stock Index is a price weighted index

The Nairobi20 stock Index is made up of Safaricom, Jubilee, Equity Bank, Standard Chartered, Barclays, Sasini, KCB, Kenya Power, Kenol, KQ, TPS, Centum, Williamson Tea, BAT, CMC, Mumias, EABL, Uchumi, Bamburi and NMG.

The Nairobi20 Stock index closed at 77.05 yesterday.

It will be tracked at http://contrarianinvestingkenya.info
the deal
#2 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 2:14:10 PM

How to use the Index:-

1.An investor can either buy the entire index and track his portfolio using the index

2. He/She can buy a few selected stocks in the index and gauge the perfomance of his portfolio against the index
#3 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:10:25 PM

The NSE-20 is equi-weighted
the deal
#4 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:10:25 PM

#5 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:26:55 PM

the deal wrote:
Hey folks I have come up with my own index...i noticed several shortcomings with the NSE20 which is a market cap weight index, one of the things I noticed EABL & Safcom influence the index heavily while the banking sector has little influence thus it does not represent the true picture of the market.

The Nairobi20 stock Index is made up of Safaricom, Jubilee, Equity Bank, Standard Chartered, Barclays, Sasini, KCB, Kenya Power, Kenol, KQ, TPS, Centum, Williamson Tea, BAT, CMC, Mumias, EABL, Uchumi, Bamburi and NMG.

NSE-20 is NOT capitalisation-weighted. It is a simple price index without any weighting.

Check with the NSE for the formula and you will see for yourself.
the deal
#6 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:45:49 PM

@Mukiha get your facts right please.
#7 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:19:04 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
The NSE-20 is equi-weighted

Yaani all stocks are given equal weight.
StatMeister
#8 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:25:20 PM

the deal wrote:

Now i know your favorites!
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#9 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:39:22 PM

the deal wrote:

Here is the formula from the NSE booklet I downloaded in 2009:

I[t] = I[t-1] * 20th-root-of ({P[1 t]/P[1 t-1]} * {P[2 t]/P[2 t-1]} * .... * {P[20 t]/P[20 t-1]})

Where:

I[t] = index at time t
I[t-1] = index at time t-1
P[j t] = price of stock j (i.e., 1, 2, 3, 4, .... 20) at time t

P[j t-1] = price of stock j at time t-1

You see it is just an average of prices. There is no mention of capitalisation.

Unfortunately, this booklet is not available in the new-look NSE website, otherwise I'd have given you the link.

Now go check you facts and let's compare.
StatMeister
#10 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:46:19 PM

mukiha wrote:
the deal wrote:

I[t] = I[t-1]*20th-root-of ({P[1 t]/P[1 t-1]} * {P[2 t]/P[2 t-1]} * .... * {P[20 t]/P[20 t-1]})

Where:

I[t] = index at time t

Unfortunately, this booklet is not available in the new-look NSE website, otherwise I'd have given you the link.

Both approaches are misleading to a strategic investor since we do not buy into the 20 counters in the prescribed ratios.

If I bought into Mumias when it was Mumias,I would have lost 50% while the indices only retreated 20%.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
the deal
#11 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 5:41:03 PM

mukiha wrote:
the deal wrote:

I[t] = I[t-1] * 20th-root-of ({P[1 t]/P[1 t-1]} * {P[2 t]/P[2 t-1]} * .... * {P[20 t]/P[20 t-1]})

Where:

I[t] = index at time t

@Mukiha since you are an elder i will save you from the bashingsmile you need to read further http://www.bloomberg.com...quote?ticker=KNSMIDX:IND
anika66
#12 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 5:50:04 PM

Can somebody tell me how to buy an index. If current price is 77.08 does it mean i can purchase a minimum shares of the index (100)? If so how are divided distributed when one buys the whole index>
Keeping it all in the family
the deal
#13 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 6:13:04 PM

The Nairobi20 Stock Index closed lower today, the measure lost 0.10% to close at 76.97
the deal
#14 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 6:25:12 PM

anika66 wrote:
Can somebody tell me how to buy an index. If current price is 77.08 does it mean i can purchase a minimum shares of the index (100)? If so how are divided distributed when one buys the whole index>

The index is not a company so you can not buy shares in it but you can model your portfolio around it I.e buy all the 20 stocks and offer them equal wait in your portfolio I.e 25K in each stock or you can buy I.e 3 companies that are in the index and then gauge their perfomance against their index.
#15 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 10:10:20 PM

the deal wrote:
mukiha wrote:
[quote=the deal]@Mukiha get your facts right please.

Where:

I[t] = index at time t

@Mukiha since you are an elder i will save you from the bashingsmile you need to read further http://www.bloomberg.com...uote?ticker=KNSMIDX:IND[/quote]

I'm afraid Bloomberg is wrong on this one.

Since you are mathematically knowledgeable, why not test the formula I have given above. You will see that it yields the correct index for a given day.

#16 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 10:13:55 PM

the deal wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Where:

I[t] = index at time t

@Mukiha since you are an elder i will save you from the bashingsmile you need to read further http://www.bloomberg.com...uote?ticker=KNSMIDX:IND[/quote]

Since you are mathematically knowledgeable, why not test the formula I have given above. You will see that it yields the correct index for a given day.
the deal
#17 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 10:58:09 PM

mukiha wrote:
the deal wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Where:

I[t] = index at time t

Mzee I will show you kesho...btwn NSE20 was down 0.2% today while Nairobi20 index was down 0.1%...Nairobi20 is more diversified and less volatile than NSE20...wait and see...
#18 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 9:22:50 AM

Quite a debate on the NSE index. I belief it was changed from cap weighted around the time that the all share index was introduced.
QW25071985
#19 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 10:10:16 AM

And what formula do u use to calculate this nairobi20 index. ??
the deal
#20 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 3:46:25 PM

@Mukiha read further here please http://cfa-studynotes.bl...weighted-and-value.html @QW the Nairobi20 Stock Index is an arithmetic average.