wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Duty Payable for a Toyota IST
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 8:09:46 PM

Have just seen this on the internet:

The digital meters can easily be reversed. what they do is open up the meter and take out an IC which they replace with another one that is pre programmed and shows zero milage. then they attach the meter to a motor and spin the meter so that it thinks that the car is moving. in this way they take the meter to the milage they want. technically they cannot reverse these meters so they start from zero and take them to the desired mileage!
Eddy
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:30:33 PM

Whatever man has made it can be undone and where much is at stake be sure something can be done. If all people are looking for is low mileage.... give it to them, but sincerely ask yourselves how does a car that is used have 50k kms after 7 years - some possibly. I have had arguments that Japanese do not use their cars they have an excellent transport system blah blah all that is crap if you ask me.
mjuaji wa stocks
#23 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 9:29:57 AM

@Eddy....that is a good one......

I have a thread elsewhere asking for your assistance in buying a car at the auctions....

hey.... kindly put your experience here bwana Eddy!!

I want to be as geuinine as possible interms of millage!!!

Please help a brother!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Eddy
#24 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 1:24:15 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
@Eddy....that is a good one......

I have a thread elsewhere asking for your assistance in buying a car at the auctions....

hey.... kindly put your experience here bwana Eddy!!

I want to be as geuinine as possible interms of millage!!!

Please help a brother!

@mjuaji

I saw it and i thot you referred to the other Eddy who appears to have a grasp on the car issues. On this one i'm blank buddy
mjuaji wa stocks
#25 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 2:06:36 PM

Thank you Eddy...

Huyu mwingine yuko wapi jameni??

I think is EDDYZ...
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

kanda
#26 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 7:49:13 PM

i recently did this n the figures were as follows:

duty kshs.147221
-port charges 15686
-shipping line 5740
bartum
#27 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 8:30:12 PM

kanda wrote:

duty kshs.147221
-port charges 15686
-shipping line 5740

@kanda. What was the CIF me too want this.
In addition how did you import is directly individually or through a agent. Assist a brother
mjuaji wa stocks
#28 Posted : Saturday, October 02, 2010 10:59:45 AM

kanda wrote:

duty kshs.147221
-port charges 15686
-shipping line 5740

@KANDA......AND WHO CLEARED IT FOR YOU????

Mbalatya
#29 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:34:35 PM

Jans Trading cars have quite high mileage. My mechanical Engineer, (the kind you find at grogon, a graduate from University of Hard Knocks)tells me Mileage is not an issue as long as the timer belt has been changed. how true this is, i dont know. Of importance to me was that I get a good car, in good condition. Most kenyans are cheated as regards the mileage issue. many of those cars are tampered with. People buy cars to use, not to pack in their houses. A car manufactured in 2003 has had approximately 6 years on the road. Should the owner be as active as I am, doing 30000km per year...... do the maths for yourselves. ukitaka mileage enda showroom ununue 2010 model...
A musician must make music, an artist must paint, a poet must write, if he is to be ultimately at peace with himself. What one can be, one must be, and same goes for a fool.
JkMwatha
#30 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 3:43:57 PM

Mbalatya wrote:
.... Mileage is not an issue as long as the timer belt has been changed. how true this is, i dont know. Of importance to me was that I get a good car, in good condition. Most kenyans are cheated as regards the mileage issue. many of those cars are tampered with. People buy cars to use, not to pack in their houses. A car manufactured in 2003 has had approximately 6 years on the road. Should the owner be as active as I am, doing 30000km per year...... do the maths for yourselves. ukitaka mileage enda showroom ununue 2010 model...

True... timing belt/chain/cambelt should be change at probably 50,000 miles (80k kms) or 5 years, .... check service guide or with main dealership when it should be changed. No harm in having it changed earlier....
If the belt fails while car is running it is likely to cause severe damage to the engine.... (pistons etc)
The danger of insisting on low mileage car at a low price is the danger of having it clocked.
mjuaji wa stocks
#31 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 3:48:44 PM

@mbalatya....kweli hapo umenena!

AS long as the machine is good....sawa.....i also dont think millage interferes with the performance of the car as long as it is well maintained!!

Case in point; A bus in the mash co. or any other that does mombasa route dail

To and fro mombasa = 1000km daily; in 30 days ==30'000km in a year =30'000*12 = 360'000km.

Do your caculation for 5 yrs the average life expectancy....but even after such a period...gari bado kama mbichi!!

jimmy1
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 2:30:46 PM

there is a new CRSP list for july 2011

VITZ/Platz/Ist/Scion 997cc 1,780,760
VITZ/Platz/Ist/Scion 1300cc 2,170,000
Ist 1500cc 1,920,000
Its amazing that a toyota ist 1500cc has a lower crsp value than a 1300cc one hence you pay more duty for a 1300cc car than a 1500cc car, what do these guys smoke? Ama ni typing error?
you can download it here.....
http://www.kra.go.ke/not...f2011/CRSP-JAN-2011.xls

amga
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 5:36:01 PM

www.revenue.go.ke%2Fnotices%2Fpdf2011%2FCRSP-JAN-2011.xls&rct=j&q=crsp%20kra%202011&ei=r-ZDTqHfLIjo-gbAyuzLCQ&usg=AFQjCNElji4ujIooUBWJ1v9WzwtG8ZPPVA
jimmy1
#34 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 5:55:32 PM

@amga, is that a link or what?
myson
#35 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 9:48:06 AM

you will now pay an extra KES 52,587/ duty for toyota ist/vitz/platz 1300cc vehicle.

duty + registration+ IDF for 1300cc ist/vitz/platz is KES 237,590
duty + registration+ IDF for 1500cc toyota ist is KES 211,296
duty + registration+ IDF for 1300cc ist/vitz/platz WAS KES185,003

with this kind of ambushing from kra, i now see why mps are reluctant to pay taxes.
Its is now cheaper duty wise to import a 1500cc toyota ist comared to importing 1300cc of the same model
Sigiriri
#36 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 10:40:02 AM

KRA is about collecting taxes - there are fewer 1500cc IST than 1300cc ones, so they are aiming where they can make more - and asking more money. The most ridiculous of course is the duty on vitz/platz. But this is mainly an issue when you import a toy, you always get up-ended! But most of the Euro models are fairly taxed by KRA. Nothing personal please, just my observation based on that there is more demand for toys meaning even if they rear-end the buyers, the buyers will still pay - as though there were no options! When we ran to subaru, they raised the duties for all subarus, now I guess they are eyeing other models too. This is a bad time to be buying a car, and it may get worse.
jimmy1
#37 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 11:35:29 AM

@sigiriri, very true, the buyers of platz/vitz/ist are screwed, their only option is to pay what kra demands. However, i've always thought that you end up paying more on the same model if the cc rating is higher, however in this case, the 1500cc toyota ist will require more duty than the lower 1300cc toyota ist. Now the toyota ist 1300cc has a higher CRSP than even the 1500cc toyota spacio which is very popular on our roads. What kra should have done is make the CRSP for 1300cc ist slightly lower than that of 1500cc. As for 1300 platz & vitz, i have no words
jimmy1
#38 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 3:11:26 PM

kra have uploaded another crsp list effective 1st sept 2011, slightly reasonable this time, however duty has gone up by around 10%

http://www.revenue.go.ke...df2011/CRSP-SEP-2011.xls
sumuni
#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2011 1:56:08 PM

[quote=jimmy1]kra have uploaded another crsp list effective 1st sept 2011, slightly reasonable this time, however duty has gone up by around 10%

http://www.revenue.go.ke...f2011/CRSP-SEP-2011.xls[/quote]
big up! Jimmy1, you just saved me from overpaying Waweru & Co. The C&F agent am using was unaware of this new list and had relied on the earlier list that was in effect from July this year. what would we do without wazua?
It is a curious fact that of all the illusions that beset mankind, none is quite as curious as that tendency to suppose that we are mentally and morally superior to those who differ from us in opinion.