wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

KQ to strike again for the umpteenth time.
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:40:02 AM

Saddening situation for us chair holders!

kiio
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:51:34 AM

these is serious, can someone with inside information feed us because it seems these is a permanent gost for KQ.or is it a the price it is paying for having a strong workers union?
“Daring ideas are like chessmen moved forward. They may be beaten, but they may start a winning game.” – Wolfgang Von Goethe .
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:53:34 AM

Fire all the pilots + crew + janitors.
Return the leased planes or re-lease them.
Cancel all new orders or 'sell' the orders.
Sell off the remaining planes.
Sell off the Properties.
Sell off Pride Center to a university.
Put all the cash in a bank account.
Settle all bills/creditors.
Fire the Management.
Send VVS a hefty dividend or capital 'payback' cheque.
The remainder of KQ can lease routes/rights to other airlines for an annual fee. Residual income.

I guarantee the net payment will be much higher than 33/-.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:08:33 PM

VVS are you the same person as coldtusker on twitter???

......kwani hii strike imekuwa wimbo wa kila mwaka jameni
StatMeister
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:30:05 PM

Fire all the pilots + crew + janitors.
Return the leased planes or re-lease them.
Cancel all new orders or 'sell' the orders.
Sell off the remaining planes.
Sell off the Properties.
Sell off Pride Center to a university.
Put all the cash in a bank account.
Settle all bills/creditors.
Fire the Management.
Send VVS a hefty dividend or capital 'payback' cheque.
The remainder of KQ can lease routes/rights to other airlines for an annual fee. Residual income.

I guarantee the net payment will be much higher than 33/-.

Rather than distribute, they should re-brand to Pride Capital, buy out Centum & TC - lots more exciting
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:32:12 PM

When is the strike....I change my travel plans!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:32:17 PM

I got the idea from Twitter [Credit to the jamaa not me!]
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:46:35 PM

!! ESOP !!
keke2
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:24:53 PM

When is the strike....I change my travel plans!!

@KR,strike or no strike KQ is a nightmare during the night n day..!It is a total mess..!I boarded one a week ago and felt like nimechukua mat ya KayoleSad from checking in to the hostess' I didnt see the pride
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:26:01 PM

I got the idea from Twitter [Credit to the jamaa not me!]

young
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:36:22 PM

VVS works for KQ at wilson airportApplause
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:40:21 PM

young wrote:

LOL... My friend, if I worked for KQ I would never have invested in it! ;-)
Cde Monomotapa
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:48:30 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
!! ESOP !!

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:52:03 PM

Holding this share has got to be one of the scariest investments at the NSE. If you are not worrying about a plane crash somewhere in West Africa, u r worying about a possible strike by employees. And then other things, more recent like the ash cloud in Europe.
I boarded this plane in early 2006 at 100bob and landed safely at destination 133.
But boarding it again in 2010 at 47 seemed good until issues of strike, ash cloud and a depessed market which made me disembark at destination 45 prematurely!
I have since been flying Financials and Investmemt companies!
@SufficientlyP
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 4:36:13 PM

Something is clear.

emmndi
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 6:50:47 PM

Clearly there is a problem with the pride of Africa! They need to sort out their mess!
Pierce
#17 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2011 3:55:09 AM

Such is the nature of airlines and their business. Most airlines escpecially European carriers are faced with strikes/strike threats almost consistently.

The issue here is that there is a real shortage of pilots/aeronautical engineers.

The ultimate solution for KQ/Kenya government is to DISBAND the unions escpecially KALPA.

This then means that the airline MUST stop operations for a few months, ask all employees to re-apply for their jobs and they be hired on contract basis.

Titus and Kibaki,decide!!
Pierce
#18 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2011 3:58:53 AM

young wrote:

I like.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#19 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2011 8:52:10 AM

Pierce wrote:
Such is the nature of airlines and their business. Most airlines escpecially European carriers are faced with strikes/strike threats almost consistently.

The issue here is that there is a real shortage of pilots/aeronautical engineers.

The ultimate solution for KQ/Kenya government is to DISBAND the unions escpecially KALPA.

This then means that the airline MUST stop operations for a few months, ask all employees to re-apply for their jobs and they be hired on contract basis.

Titus and Kibaki,decide!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Has it evr been done in any company you know of?

#20 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2011 9:12:25 AM

Joining a trade union is a constitutional right and banning it is easily challegeable in court...kq makes a blunder to employ tycoons kids who are mostly lazy,indisplined and expect too much to match their parents standards,