wazua Sun, Aug 3, 2025

Safaricom demand at 300 million
Insurgent
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 03, 2011 3:30:57 PM

Safaricom demand today is at 306,480,031 while supply is at 9 million. There will be an earth shaking transaction before the end of the week.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 03, 2011 4:27:03 PM

Today it transacted 57M shares, yesterday 12M.
Just like jana, foreign investors remain the active participants!
All u will be left with as local is the word Safari!
@SufficientlyP
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 03, 2011 4:57:36 PM

does it have to do with India's Bharti Airtel profits dropping to 12.15 billion rupees ($273.8 million) for the fiscal first quarter to June from 16.82 billion rupees a year earlier.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 03, 2011 6:01:47 PM

Oh my goodness,finally.

#5 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 7:50:23 AM

Stellar rally could be in the offing?
300 mirrion chairs is about a mbirrion shirrings worth!
smile d'oh!

#6 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 8:03:53 AM

Ole ole ole,

But this Foreigners do exit in masses when dissatisfied, making share prices to really fall!

Otherwise, hoping that my 72,900 shares will give me something cool by 2nd September 2011!

StatMeister
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 8:05:30 AM

For sometime now, American investors were calling profitable positions to shore up capital SHOULD US DEBT DEFAULT, but it didn't and now they may be able to invest a bit. Expect some gains in both NSE and exchange rates.

But don't quote me
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
hisah
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 8:23:14 AM

Insurgent wrote:
Safaricom demand today is at 306,480,031 while supply is at 9 million. There will be an earth shaking transaction before the end of the week.

I saw the x12 demand on Tuesday and thought it was an error. After seeing the turnover on this counter yesterday, I confirmed it was not an error... KCB will also rally soon...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 9:41:49 AM

A romour mezza is tired of a static bus and wants to call it a day,a senior manager hired from safcom dumped airtel..buy buy buy
the deal
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 9:44:27 AM

It's trading cum dividend wait until it goes ex dividend...
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:33:16 AM

the deal wrote:
It's trading cum dividend wait until it goes ex dividend...

When is the book closure for divdend payout?

Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:56:20 AM

At least Aly-Khan can stop crying "oversold" for a week or so...
Impunity-books close for dividend on 8th of September. Dividend will be paid in Dec!

Its a buy at Ksh3 or less
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
FUNKY
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 12:34:42 PM

http://www.espncricinfo....rrent/story/525833.html

Airtel seems to be having financial problems.
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:00:51 PM

Airtel is not making losses but a drop in profits. It seems they have decided to push into 3G in India. Africa is growing subscribers but not profits but they have stopped cutting prices even in India.

Anyway, since I have ZERO shares in Airtel... I wonder how Safaricom will perform this year. I have no shares but I will go in at some point just not at 3.50 or higher...
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 2:27:37 PM

46M shares have changed hands as we speak!
Reminds me of late Nov 2009 into early 2010 when these foreigners picked more than a billion shares sending the price from 3 bob to a high of 6.15!
Could we see safcom hitits IPO pice before div book closure on 8th?
Is there an opportunity to make a quick buck here?
@SufficientlyP
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:11:59 PM

Lakini Safcom announces Results in Oct 2011 so why the sudden interest?
young
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:16:07 PM

Some fund managers such as Databank of Ghana see it as being under valued. At the current price of 3.65 cum 0.20 dividend a fair value from their analysis is 4.20 bob. So they buy huge volumes.
There may be other interests though.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 3:23:14 PM

young wrote:
Some fund managers such as Databank of Ghana see it as being under valued. At the current price of 3.65 cum 0.20 dividend a fair value from their analysis is 4.20 bob. So they buy huge volumes.
There may be other interests though.

Thank you. I use their data & M-Pesa but I find the share price pricey. Have you looked at Sonatel? Interesting especially since it is hedged since it is linked to the Euro. Also good profits. I love W.Africa & when I move out of Kenyan equities, that is where I am going!
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 4:54:25 PM

Lakini Safcom announces Results in Oct 2011 so why the sudden interest?

smile smile smile

I have some thousands of chairs logged in on this compny.

#20 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 10:15:02 PM

Now MTN Kenya enters voice offering free calls within its network

http://www.businessdaily...0/-/j38yy7z/-/index.html