wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

KENYANS FOR KENYA
Barrywhite
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:44:22 AM

The Safaricom Foundation and KCB Foundation today led a coalition of corporate Kenya and media in launching a massive fund-raising effort aimed at reversing the suffering of an estimated 3.5 million Kenyans faced with starvation.

Dubbed KENYANS for KENYA and intended to raise over Sh500 million, in four weeks. KENYANS for KENYA, touted as the biggest such effort ever mounted in Kenya, shall be co-ordinated on several fronts, including pledges from corporate society. Also key to the campaign is the use of M-PESA, Safaricom’s money transfer service to receive donations.

This campaign will ensure that donations as low as Sh10 is harnessed, as this will go a long way in improving the situation of millions of Kenyans currently staring starvation and death in the eye. Donations can be sent to the M-PESA PayBill number 111111 at no charge.

The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:46:36 AM

Great initiative from Safcom and KCB.
Barrywhite
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:54:30 AM

I agree. Guys lets start mpesa-ing. Sacrifice a meal, a drink, use public transport one day a week, do something to a fellow Kenyan in DIRE need. The footages on telly tell it ALL.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:08:08 AM

Lets Mpesa ,Instead of MPesaing to the Miracle Parasites on KBC at 8am on sunday , Lets help these Kenyans , I personally ,User , will give in my own small way .

You can start by sambasaing the 20 or 30/- balance in your Mpesa accounts.

Its a shame for Kenyans to die of Hunger.

Lets forget about food policies , leaders , government , Moi blames .
People are dying , lets do something.
Mpesa NOWWWWW!!!!!
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Barrywhite
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:24:42 AM

And its FREEEEEEEEEE!

So those balances we keep and when we are asked, uko na pesa kwa mpesa? We answer NO. Those balances should have been sent by nooooow! @user, so true! So your balance is ZERO
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:51:40 AM

Imagine...15million MPESA clients sending 50bob each.... watu wa hesabu muko wapi?
otienosmall
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:55:50 AM

Great idea we should all unite in helping, it’s a pity that a fellow Kenyan should die of hunger as we watchSad Sad Sad Sad
coco
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:05:32 AM

Great initiative!!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:08:08 AM

Just checked here http://www.safaricomfoundation.org/ and here http://www.kcbfoundation.org/ .

there is no mention of it.
Ondiek
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:57:53 AM

mukiha wrote:
Just checked here http://www.safaricomfoundation.org/ and here http://www.kcbfoundation.org/ .

there is no mention of it.

Just sent and the response is that the funds have been received by the Famine Fundraising Campaign. Sounds legit.
nyangao
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 12:03:56 PM

just hope its not the "regional govt "offices to manage the fund. as usual we shall hear/ read of misappropriation and the like.
nevertheless nitatuma gitu gitogo
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 1:36:28 PM

A noble exercise and i support.....but i just wish....All this forgotten Kenyans need year round is water....plenty of water and they won't be begging any more.We will feed them for now but be sure that we will be repeating the same some years down the line.Why don't we seem to get it and look for a permanent solution?
mozenrat
#13 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 3:07:09 PM

Donations currently stand at Kshs. 36 Million... Come on Kenyans

@Mukiha

http://www.kcbbankgroup....p;id=758&Itemid=264

and

http://www.safaricomfoundation.org/kenyans4kenya/
Mo
#14 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 3:56:54 PM

while it is commendable that Kenyan have come out in droves to support this intiative, Am a man in a lotof pain.
We have a minister of special programmes who told us we had enough maize reserves and we have a minister of agriculture when we got a maize glut in Ukambani last year that went to waste due to poor storage. KRA has religiously taken 25% of my earnings month in month out in direct taxes plus other consumption taxes fuel levy VAT etal.
We need to support the Kenyans in distress YES but we need to direct rage and anger for mismanagement of this country to someone. Someone should be heal accountable for this pathetic situation!!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
Ms Mkenya
#15 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 7:09:26 PM

We are at 40M, guys let's not stop!
....above all, to stand.
sanity
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2011 9:15:51 PM

I'm curious how this money will be spent.I hope they dont concentrate on the shortterm solutions only.having worked in turkana for some time,I know that the locals are always in a state of misery.sometimes like now the media comes in and shows the graphic images of their misery.with that kind of money,longterm solutions can be put in place,such as provision of water,introducing alternatives to the largely pastrolist community,education,health facilities etc.
Hope is not a strategy
#17 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2011 9:03:26 AM

I thought this was an initiative between SCOM, KCB and Kenyan Media. However, I can only see Citizen (Royal Media) giving it a big push. The rest are just laid back or simply doing NOTHING!

What are NMG doing?

What are SGL doing?

#18 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2011 9:11:25 AM

sanity wrote:
I'm curious how this money will be spent.I hope they dont concentrate on the shortterm solutions only.having worked in turkana for some time,I know that the locals are always in a state of misery.sometimes like now the media comes in and shows the graphic images of their misery.with that kind of money,longterm solutions can be put in place,such as provision of water,introducing alternatives to the largely pastrolist community,education,health facilities etc.

It is for short term support - buying food and delivering it to the hungry via Red-Cross.

Sh500m is too little to do both short-term feeding and long-term solutions.

BTW: Sh80m contributed so far; 150tonnes worth Sh18m flagged off yesterday from Uhuru Park to Turkana North. This will feed about 1,500 people for three months... but we have 3,000,000 people to feed. So keep sending the money....

@Wazua Admin; how about highlighting this issue? You could put a catchy banner on every page?

mozenrat
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 03, 2011 6:31:53 PM

Yeah.. and combining this thread with Kenyans4Kenya.. Wake up admin
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:59:38 PM

so what happens after one month and the rains are all over, obviously this money will be lying in KCB until the area drys up in a couple of months, by then another drought fighting initiative would be launched.

I think the money should be used as a revolving fund and COOP ministry given a task of creating cooperative movement in those areas(3 COOPs in the interim) then lets all pastoralist be encouraged to join this ranching cooperatives (its hard to convince a pastrolist to practice agrofarming)

I Think With corporates(kenyan4kenya)playing an oversight role pple in turkana would be better off with this strategy than relying on redcross to play this russian roulette.