wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

KENYANS FOR KENYA
Barrywhite
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:44:22 AM

The Safaricom Foundation and KCB Foundation today led a coalition of corporate Kenya and media in launching a massive fund-raising effort aimed at reversing the suffering of an estimated 3.5 million Kenyans faced with starvation.

Dubbed KENYANS for KENYA and intended to raise over Sh500 million, in four weeks. KENYANS for KENYA, touted as the biggest such effort ever mounted in Kenya, shall be co-ordinated on several fronts, including pledges from corporate society. Also key to the campaign is the use of M-PESA, Safaricom’s money transfer service to receive donations.

This campaign will ensure that donations as low as Sh10 is harnessed, as this will go a long way in improving the situation of millions of Kenyans currently staring starvation and death in the eye. Donations can be sent to the M-PESA PayBill number 111111 at no charge.

The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:46:36 AM

Great initiative from Safcom and KCB.
Barrywhite
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:54:30 AM

I agree. Guys lets start mpesa-ing. Sacrifice a meal, a drink, use public transport one day a week, do something to a fellow Kenyan in DIRE need. The footages on telly tell it ALL.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:08:08 AM

Lets Mpesa ,Instead of MPesaing to the Miracle Parasites on KBC at 8am on sunday , Lets help these Kenyans , I personally ,User , will give in my own small way .

You can start by sambasaing the 20 or 30/- balance in your Mpesa accounts.

Its a shame for Kenyans to die of Hunger.

Lets forget about food policies , leaders , government , Moi blames .
People are dying , lets do something.
Mpesa NOWWWWW!!!!!
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Barrywhite
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:24:42 AM

And its FREEEEEEEEEE!

So those balances we keep and when we are asked, uko na pesa kwa mpesa? We answer NO. Those balances should have been sent by nooooow! @user, so true! So your balance is ZERO
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:51:40 AM

Imagine...15million MPESA clients sending 50bob each.... watu wa hesabu muko wapi?
otienosmall
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:55:50 AM

Great idea we should all unite in helping, it’s a pity that a fellow Kenyan should die of hunger as we watchSad Sad Sad Sad
coco
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:05:32 AM

Great initiative!!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:08:08 AM

Just checked here http://www.safaricomfoundation.org/ and here http://www.kcbfoundation.org/ .

there is no mention of it.
Ondiek
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:57:53 AM

mukiha wrote:
Just checked here http://www.safaricomfoundation.org/ and here http://www.kcbfoundation.org/ .

there is no mention of it.

Just sent and the response is that the funds have been received by the Famine Fundraising Campaign. Sounds legit.