wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

The Hunger issue.....a BIG shame
MCHUNA
#1 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 11:06:35 AM

I think its time we as Kenyans get our priorities right.How can we watch kids and fellow citizens dying out of hunger?
We Marshall thousands to watch football matches and political rallies,yet we cannot do the same to solve this issue?
If every willing Kenyan is to give 50 bob,the hunger will be history:Emergency food then dig up boreholes!But i see no leader ho has the guts to spearhead such an initiative....so we continue dying,burying the dead then next year we claim we want change,chungwa moja sijui tujitokenze?then this dude ati tuko pamoja?tukikufa njaa?? javascript:insertsmiley('Shame on you%20','/Images/Emoticons/eusa_naughty.gif')
#2 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 11:10:43 AM

Contributing 50 bob is not a solution at all.
#3 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 11:29:47 AM

Mchuna i agree with Guka 50 bob is not the solution.We need clear policies on food security and do not forget that corruption is a nightmare in Kenya.
For example if we decided to contribute 50 bob each believe me the people coordinating the receipt of the money and disbursing it will still steal from us.
Policies,policies even if it means adopting GMO foods we should have them
otienosmall
#4 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 2:45:18 PM

Mature policies are what we need….otherwise food aid is mere cosmetic. Irrigation programs in the otherwise fertile but dry areas should be prioritized…these communities should also be encouraged or better still forced to enrol their children to schools…and why the hell would somebody get over ten children in this time and age???? Family planning programs should be enforced. Pastoralists should be taught the need of keeping fewer and more productive animal breeds instead of overwhelming pastures with thousands of unproductive animals…
#5 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:07:06 PM

otienosmall wrote:
Mature policies are what we need….otherwise food aid is mere cosmetic. Irrigation programs in the otherwise fertile but dry areas should be prioritized…these communities should also be encouraged or better still forced to enrol their children to schools…and why the hell would somebody get over ten children in this time and age???? Family planning programs should be enforced. Pastoralists should be taught the need of keeping fewer and more productive animal breeds instead of overwhelming pastures with thousands of unproductive animals…

we need to break it down to them...key to all this is education. the rest is theory. ama they should move from northern kenya - what are they doing there to begin with? it will take a generation in order to make what you are talking about a reality.
#6 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:17:18 PM

@Masukuma,
Northern Kenya is not as dry as we are meant to believe.There are huge tracts of land in such areas as Isiolo,Marsabit,Garissa,Kitui which are very productive.The only thing that we need to give this people is water and education....then we can keep our finjes for life.
MCHUNA
#7 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:43:08 PM

If we are to look at the most immediate action,the only choice is to go the KICC way-kila mkenya achange.Then we think about policies.Surely i agree with Njung'e,i was in isiolo recently and it will surprice many to note that the Guys there have started serious irrigation in a years time isiolo hakutakuwa njaa.The only problem they now have is lack of Condoms!
kimiri
#8 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 5:15:10 PM

Kenya has some of the best policies when it comes to agriculture and also economic growth and development. Our biggest problem is implementing these policies. Look at what has happened in the case of free primary education and also ministries of water, health etc. We will never get anywhere if we do not confront corruption head on. This is where I think we need a benevolent dictator for the next president. We should borrow a leaf from China on how to tackle corruption.
#9 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 5:27:50 PM

@Masukuma,
Northern Kenya is not as dry as we are meant to believe.There are huge tracts of land in such areas as Isiolo,Marsabit,Garissa,Kitui which are very productive.The only thing that we need to give this people is water and education....then we can keep our finjes for life.

cant agree more.

kwetu Londokwe , there is large tract of land .The leaders just want our people to remain illiterate and ignorant so that a kafinje come 2012 and 5 years there after can win them a jobSad

They ensure that CDF money is managed by their men .

Their men have built palatial homes and are sorrounded by paupers.
They eat CDF and give hand outs to the ignorant few who praise them for being sonkos

what to do?

If water was harvested well in Londokwe there would be no Mwolyos(relief food) any more.

River Athi crosses through our land and drains to Indian Ocean with impunity(as in no Kamba leader can touch it) .

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2011 8:59:19 AM

http://www.nairobistar.c...-cause-mayhem-in-mwingi

This is no laughing monkey business!