Fake mpesa (refund) sms con
#1 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 5:10:53 PM

BJ03WR495 Confirmed
You have received Kshs3,250
from
ORBA BORE
+254724566833
on 05/6/11 sender: MPESA.

Now how comes these con men always send me these SMSes just after I've loaded money into my phone and it's somehowly within the amount in my phone?
Safaricom, you need to investigate your agents. That's all I'm saying. Start by calling the above number because that idiot is still calling back when I bip him.

#2 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 6:05:10 PM

@2012,check whether in your phonebook there's a contact going by the name MPESA. And you delete it. If not, confirm who the sender is.It may seem an Mpesa message but from someone's number. In addition, the Mpesa message should show you your new balance, if indeed you had received Mpesa. You can always confirm that balance (its only a bob) and see if its a hoax. Lastly, since its getting tougher knowing who a genuine is from a fake, coupled with our well natured being to always return something to someone, ignore the caller or tell him to call Mpesa 234 to get a reversal of his amount.
KenyanLyrics
#3 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 10:23:30 PM

@2012 this is a touchy subject. Safaricom actually make life hell for whistleblowers, can you imagine?! Just ask one Idd Salim what happened to him when he blogged about 'Hacking MPESA for fun and profit,' a post which highlighted weaknesses in MPESA's system:

http://wanaii.com/tb/v7
#4 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 6:32:53 PM

Just got this text: ANTY JANE SEND ME 20 BOB CREDIT N CALL MTU WA BODABODA MTOTO AMEUMWA NA NYOKA. DAN
#5 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 6:42:13 PM

@Lolest,
Reply....."Sina pesa kwa saa hii.Ambia mtoto aume nyoka naja"
QW25071985
#6 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 6:46:01 PM

hahahhahhah !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

i have received TONS of these fake sms...its like the come every sunday evening.....
#7 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 7:10:25 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
i have received TONS of these fake sms...its like the come every sunday evening.....

Sunday is rest day at Kamiti Maximum Prison. Having no assigned duties, prisoners have more time to engage in their most profitable pass time.

@guka - LOL. I can imagine the fellow reading the reply. I'm sure he wouldn't help but laugh also.

@2012 - If you want to piss of the guy, do him an sms like the one below

BK09WR475 Confirmed
You have received Kshs 23,650
from
Mjinga Kama Wewe
+254738599822
on 25/7/11
This money will earn interest at
a rate of 35% per week.
To withdraw in dollars press 1
To withdraw in euros press 2
To enjoy your stay in prison, drop the soap. sender: MKUFA.
#8 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 7:40:42 PM

@Lolest,

#9 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 8:46:29 PM

@Lolest,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause GFF Guka you are mad
XSK
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2011 8:24:20 AM

QW25071985 wrote:

Sunday is rest day at Kamiti Maximum Prison. Having no assigned duties, prisoners have more time to engage in their most profitable pass time.

@guka - LOL. I can imagine the fellow reading the reply. I'm sure he wouldn't help but laugh also.

@2012 - If you want to piss of the guy, do him an sms like the one below

BK09WR475 Confirmed
You have received Kshs 23,650
from
Mjinga Kama Wewe+254738599822
on 25/7/11
This money will earn interest at
a rate of 35% per week.
To withdraw in dollars press 1
To withdraw in euros press 2
To enjoy your stay in prison, drop the soap. sender: MKUFA.

Maich*

Hiyo ni kali!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!