wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Sedimentation on kettle-what to do?
Ms Mkenya
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 8:35:23 PM

Hi, we use a borehole which gives us 'hard' (more like harsh) water. The kettle we use to boil water for various uses keeps having sedimentation-whitish. How can i get rid of this?
....above all, to stand.
Mpenzi
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 9:58:48 PM

Boil vinegar inside the kettle or wash kettle with bicarbonate of soda or just sugua na steel wool smile
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 9:59:36 PM

ms beware of hard water.it is the cause of brown teeth .don't give it to kids less than 8 years at all
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Ms Mkenya
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 10:18:57 PM

Thanks @ Mpenzi. Boil vinegar-as in with water? Quantities? Bicarb of soda is baking powder ya? Kusugua siwesmek... Given up on that. smile
@user, we use mineral water for drinking and cooking.
....above all, to stand.
Mpenzi
#5 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 10:31:31 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Thanks @ Mpenzi. Boil vinegar-as in with water? Quantities? Bicarb of soda is baking powder ya? Kusugua siwesmek... Given up on that. smile
@user, we use mineral water for drinking and cooking.

Check this link

http://www.vinegartips.c...pts/pageViewSec.asp?id=7
Ms Mkenya
#6 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 10:42:33 PM

Thanks dear, i'll give it a try. Good night.
....above all, to stand.
karqui
#7 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 8:57:57 AM

hey we are many benefiting,thanks, scrubbing will spoil the kettles coating and vinegar will access all areas. I'll sure give it a try today.
#8 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 9:06:18 AM

'user' wrote:
ms beware of hard water.it is the cause of brown teeth .don't give it to kids less than 8 years at all

hard water causes brown teethShame on you Liar ....My ol' good chem teacher should be hanged then.
Wodu Wakiri
#9 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 10:04:37 AM

Go to Nakumatt and buy a plastic descaler. This will not only sort out your kettle but also toilet bowls (the browning marks) and also iron box.
#10 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 10:17:56 AM

Wodu Wakiri wrote:
Go to Nakumatt and buy a plastic descaler. This will not only sort out your kettle but also toilet bowls (the browning marks) and also iron box.

Good info. Thanks Wodu.
Ms Mkenya
#11 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 10:55:06 AM

@Mpenzi,
The vinegar did not work Sad

Wodu Wakiri wrote:

Hii ni nini?
....above all, to stand.
Mpenzi
#12 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 11:19:01 AM

Wodu Wakiri wrote:

what is this and how does it work?
Mpenzi
#13 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 11:21:00 AM

[quote=Ms Mkenya]@Mpenzi,
The vinegar did not work Sad

/quote]

karqui
#14 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 2:02:15 PM

Sad Sad
then plastic descaler if available
danas10
#15 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:16:10 PM

karqui wrote:
Sad Sad

what is this na iko section gani? detergents ama plasticsSad Sad Sad
Spend.thrift
#16 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:45:52 PM

'user' wrote:

hard water causes brown teethShame on you Liar ....My ol' good chem teacher should be hanged then.

@Njunge. Was thinking the same. I guess he or she meant fluorides. One question though, why only kids under 8 years ? and when salt-laden borehole water is used for cooking, are the browning effects chocked? I'm guessting its impractical and impossible to use bottled water for cooking
Mpenzi
#17 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:56:45 PM

karqui wrote:
Sad Sad

what is this plastic descaler? how do you use it and in which section of the supermarket does one find it?
#18 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:58:46 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
'user' wrote:

@Njunge. Was thinking the same. I guess he or she meant fluorides. One question though, why only kids under 8 years ? and when salt-laden borehole water is used for cooking, are the browning effects chocked? I'm guessting its impractical and impossible to use bottled water for cooking

Yeah ,Something to do with floride.I remember my children's paed mentioning something like that.

Most children in my area, Londokwe mwiso wa ndia have the same problem
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Ms Mkenya
#19 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 4:39:13 PM

Cooking actually doesn't take much water. We don't use much to cook. So we just add a little to the drinking water budget.
Sasa hii 'Plastic descaler' ni nini jameni?
....above all, to stand.
#20 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 5:10:34 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
'user' wrote:

Its because at 8 years, all the teeth are already formed.