How late is late...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/3/2011 Posts: 129 Location: Nairobi
for a husband to get home on a weekday of pints? Ladies of wazua...
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
First, come home after work, say hi to the kids and then you can go till whenever  . That's ok with me. I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
I think it really varies..... we are all not the same. for me, assuming it doesnt happen every day, 10-11pm is ok. Friday or weekend can be later or as @pep said - whenever (as long as the next day sun doesnt find you out - my friends call it "chasing the sun").... but once you get into the house, unless you are on leave and spent all day at home, i would frown at leaving the house at 8-9+pm to go to the bar on a weekday (of course unless you are taking me out  ..)... so, peppy's preference wouldn't work for me......
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
Thanks Wendz, i forgot to mention, midnight one-ish and please, don't bring me/the kids those samosas and fish fingers that you bakishad, yak. Wrapped in foil ati we kula in the morning. Yak. I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Peppy wrote:First, come home after work, say hi to the kids and then you can go till whenever  . That's ok with me. Ati what?! I come all the way to Kitengela, Ruai or Limuru to say hi and then I go back to tao or westi. Not doable. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Peppy wrote:First, come home after work, say hi to the kids and then you can go till whenever  . That's ok with me. Ati what?! I come all the way to Kitengela, Ruai or Limuru to say hi and then I go back to tao or westi. Not doable. hahahaha...noma!
@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then.She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
I've learnt that as a dad if you come home earlier than 8pm, you mess up the kids' biological clock (coz they are used to seeing you come home at 6.30am on their way to school).
Njung'e wrote:@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then.She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. ......  since am sure you have now become wiser in the back of your head,which one do you go home with,the lie or the newspaper ???
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,493 Location: Nairobi
callaspade wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then.She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. ......  since am sure you have now become wiser in the back of your head,which one do you go home with,the lie or the newspaper ??? Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
Boss how can you be late kuingia kwako? Somebody please explain. You make the rules as you go. ( the song, 'If I were a boy' by.. you could even switch off your phone and tell everyone that its broken so they think..) I Think Therefore I Am
callaspade wrote:......  since am sure you have now become wiser in the back of your head,which one do you go home with,the lie or the newspaper ??? None.I stay out and come home midday with meat wrapped in a newspaper Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then. She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. for the ladies, now, that's the trick right there!!!!! The next time you feel like shouting, remember those two words.... they work more magic than "shouting"and hurling insults... especially when he expects you to "shout and hurl".... if you are the "shouting-hurling" type. I dont know about the morning paper coz i might just light the "jiko" with it (kidding).... but last nights samosas and nyama bakishas are a no no... @bwenyenye.... hehehehehehe... try getting home at 7.30am tomorrow.... then report here.... one day you will be forgiven coz the lie might be convincing..... make it a habit, utakuja hapa with "my-friend-bla-bla" threads...
@Wendz, That was the most humbling request....I was under the sheets whole day but tell you what,i never slept...lol. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Wendz wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then. She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. for the ladies, now, that's the trick right there!!!!! The next time you feel like shouting, remember those two words.... they work more magic than "shouting"and hurling insults... especially when he expects you to "shout and hurl".... if you are the "shouting-hurling" type. I dont know about the morning paper coz i might just light the "jiko" with it (kidding).... but last nights samosas and nyama bakishas are a no no... @bwenyenye.... hehehehehehe... try getting home at 7.30am tomorrow.... then report here.... one day you will be forgiven coz the lie might be convincing..... make it a habit, utakuja hapa with "my-friend-bla-bla" threads... @Wendz, I have experienced what @Njunge is saying once when niliingia when kuku zinatoka asubuhi.... the silence and the good treatment was deadly. Then she mentioned it after like seven days... nowadays ikifika 1 a.m mimi nafunga virago narudi nyumbani. I Think Therefore I Am
Swali nyeti (but I have to admit, I was thiking different when i read the title)...but seriously ladies, kwa hii mambo ya fombe...great minds meet over alcohol, lazima kuwe na understanding...aren't ladies glad he's come home and hasnt slept in someone else's arms or worse in a mtaro completely naked stripped of his belongings..
bwenyenye wrote:Wendz wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Wendz, I agree about sun chasing.Many years back,i came home late (6 in the morning to be precise).I was actually up to no bad but somehow,our only means home broke down and there were no cell phones then. She opened the door and quietly followed me to the bedroom.Before i could explain,she asked me to never ever come that late and if i have too,i should,at least,come home with the morning paper,lest the neighbours think i have been out to no good.It's always at the back of my mind. for the ladies, now, that's the trick right there!!!!! The next time you feel like shouting, remember those two words.... they work more magic than "shouting"and hurling insults... especially when he expects you to "shout and hurl".... if you are the "shouting-hurling" type. I dont know about the morning paper coz i might just light the "jiko" with it (kidding).... but last nights samosas and nyama bakishas are a no no... @bwenyenye.... hehehehehehe... try getting home at 7.30am tomorrow.... then report here.... one day you will be forgiven coz the lie might be convincing..... make it a habit, utakuja hapa with "my-friend-bla-bla" threads... @Wendz, I have experienced what @Njunge is saying once when niliingia when kuku zinatoka asubuhi.... the silence and the good treatment was deadly. Then she mentioned it after like seven days... nowadays ikifika 1 a.m mimi nafunga virago narudi nyumbani. @Wendz, hapo umeongea kama wanawake 50...the shouting is the most annoying part, but when the ladt expresses her dissapointment quietly and explains, hata kama wewe ni ndume wa nyumba, the sweet words used when she explains changes alot of things....
late depends on what time the wife gets home. get married to a house wife and she will never appreciate even if you get home at 6pm. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Rank: Member Joined: 1/3/2011 Posts: 129 Location: Nairobi
aaah so 4am is not bad... was in the doghouse for the better part of the last 2 days...
How late is late...