wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

12 Pages«<678910>»
Listed banks H1 results - Profits continue to grow!
Cde Monomotapa
#141 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 5:44:02 PM

I figure if i'm to wait a while for excellent returns on Capital then dividend yield best be better than a bank a/c. That's a very key consideration for me.
young
#142 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 5:47:13 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Hahaha...I see we got something in common concerning high yielding stocks smile i remember after my shopping trip to "Dubai" to buy Scangroup all the way down to 14 bob acieving an of Av.26 bob. After the Ogilvy deal sold off in lots btwn 45-65 as the 70ct dividend became annoying!

Another young old tricks, financially healthy blue chips with Mzungu or foreign holding often return a high dividend as it is one of the legitimate ways they repartriate their funds to the home office . They rather do a rights or bonus issue than to pay miserly dividend.
Examples

EABL
BBK
Stanchart
BOC
BAT
BAMB

So tend to invest in most of them to get a few slices on their juicy returns.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#143 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:02:38 PM

young wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Hahaha...I see we got something in common concerning high yielding stocks smile i remember after my shopping trip to "Dubai" to buy Scangroup all the way down to 14 bob acieving an of Av.26 bob. After the Ogilvy deal sold off in lots btwn 45-65 as the 70ct dividend became annoying!

Another young old tricks, financially healthy blue chips with Mzungu or foreign holding often return a high dividend as it is one of the legitimate ways they repartriate their funds to the home office . They rather do a rights issue than to pay miserly dividend.
Examples

EABL
BBK
Stanchart
BOC
BAT
BAMB

Not at all.
1) It's not a trick. They make profits. They have the right to a dividend. You own a house/building in Ghana. You earn rent. How you spend the rent is your own business. You can add an addition OR remit it to Nigeria OR invest it in Uganda.
2) All shareholders benefit. Dividends are not reserved for 'majority' shareholders. Many shareholders who bought BBK shares 20 yrs ago get dividends higher than the price they paid for the shares!
3) Kenya has (almost zero) capital controls so I do not understand "one of the legitimate ways they repartriate their funds"... What other method would they use that is not legitimate?
4) All the firms mentioned are 'MATURE' firms that are unlikely to grow their Kenya markets much more so why leave the cash in Kenya when it may produce sub-par returns. Some profitable high growth firms with foreign shareholding & low dividend payout include:
- Safaricom
- Total (expansion by buying Chevron)
- Agricultural Firms (Not high growth but low div payout e.g. Williamson)
- TPS/Serena (Expansion)
- Diamond Trust (EAC expansion)
Cde Monomotapa
#144 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:09:52 PM

I will side with @VVS as to the maturity of those foreign subsidiaries. Their part in Corporate Kenya is done. We now have our own MNC's now...KCB, KK, EBL, SCAN e.t.c. I wouldn't be caught dead invested in those foreign Subs.
young
#145 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:18:03 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I will side with @VVS as to the maturity of those foreign subsidiaries. Their part in Corporate Kenya is done. We now have our own MNC's now...KCB, KK, EBL, SCAN e.t.c. I wouldn't be caught dead invested in those foreign Subs.

Unfortunately my friends, it is not about sentiments , it is not about patrotism it is all about facts.

http://allafrica.com/stories/201101310545.html

In general for dividend yield (income) mature and blue chip firms are your best bet in any part of the world.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Cde Monomotapa
#146 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:18:13 PM

And is it just me or is that KK might pay out 80cts dividend for FY2011 smile
young
#147 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:21:12 PM

Please be aware there other high dividend yield blue chips I have not mentioned includes KK, Safcom, NMG and others inclusive.
Cde Monomotapa
#148 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:22:55 PM

Patriotism in another fashion is being invested in OCH, SAMEER, EVEREADY...but their present & future financial performance stink and are a waste of time for my investment shillings. Or what is it u r talking about?
young
#149 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:28:09 PM

Even overseas MOST of the highest CONSISTENT dividend yield stocks are the age old blue chips.

I do not write theories but what I practice in various markets I am opportuned to be exposed to, it is the same principle, be it asia (Hong Kong), Pacific (Australia), US, Canada, RSA.
Kenya market with just 50 plus is a small fry and a little drop of my stocks investment experience.

Check out

www.topyields.nl

Asante Sana
young
#150 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:46:11 PM

Bwana VVs,

Safcoom is a blue chip NOT a low dividend yield stock.
Dividend yield is relative to the price.
At the cumment price of Safcom at sub 4 bob, the dividend of 20 cent very superb because it is a little above 5% yield at the moment.

Cheers and Regards
Cde Monomotapa
#151 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 6:52:48 PM

I see U are refferring to mostly income. That's fine. I need a combination of both high yield & growth which are mostly found in bear markets..since I am still literally young (under-30). And if I found someone investing my funds outside Sub-Saharan Afrika, he'll need a doctor and I a lawyer.
the deal
#152 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 7:26:44 PM

Daily Equity Report: NSE Declines for the 2nd Day, Olympia Capital and EABL Move.

The NSE20 further lost momentum today, the benchmark declined by 24 points or 0.64% to close at 3756. Equity turnover was Ksh346M, a total of 38M shares were traded in today’s session. On the forex front the Shilling was slightly weaker against the USD, last time I checked it was trading at 90.01 against the green buck.

Highlights of the Day

EABL was the top mover in today’s session, the stock traded 590K shares to bring total turnover to Sh110M, SAB Miller released their 1Q 2011 sales results, and sales were up 7% due to high sales volumes from emerging markets, in fact SAB Millers African sales volumes were up 15%.

Olympia Capital released their full year results today, I’m yet to officially look at their figures, once I look at them I will post my analysis here, the stock bounced from its 52 week low to close at Sh4.35, 1 year return is -40%.

Read more here http://www.contrarianinv...al-and-eabl-move.htmlsmile
young
#153 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 7:42:38 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I see U are refferring to mostly income. That's fine. I need a combination of both high yield & growth which are mostly found in bear markets..since I am still literally young (under-30). And if I found someone investing my funds outside Sub-Saharan Afrika, he'll need a doctor and I a lawyer.

High Dividend yield stocks always grow moderately. Nobody wants to buy a stunted stock.

In US market precisely on April 4 I bought age old saturated blue chip intel (NASDAQ:INTC) at USD 19.40 per share. It has yielded a quarterly dividend of 18 US cents twice but in addition the current price is USD 22.60, a 16% gain in US market term is a good one in virtually 3 months.

It depends on ones investment model, I do not say you should follow my style or outrightly condemn me as we have different investment approach to the market. It is not a matter of age (I am 49), but that of style that is developed with experience. I started as a speculator but I could not sustain it, this model from my experience is sustenable.

As you are looking forward to KCB price, I am preparing to buy it circa 20 bob (more or less).
Different strokes for different folks. But if that does work there is always another opportunity on high yield blue chip counter.

A lot of exchange of info between you and me today.

Cheers and Regards.
young
#154 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 7:51:21 PM

Just as I was stupid to invest in Uganda bourse recently and Kenya bourse in 2004, you were equally stupid to invest in both Zim & Ug bourse.

At the moment I am wise on Kenya investment but very stupid about Uganda.

The difference is time. I & you may be wise in 5 to 10 years time about Uganda.

That is life, different strokes for different folks.

But you are more stupid @Cde for being so wise for your age !!!
Cde Monomotapa
#155 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 7:55:03 PM

That was a smart move to buy a U.S stock whose sales are supported by emerging market sales smile Google has done that well too with their H1s. I read somewhere that U are almost retiring? Well, happy retirement & enjoy the fruits of ur investments smile. Please confirm, does life really start at 40? Looking forward to learning more from U.
Cde Monomotapa
#156 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 8:01:46 PM

LOL! I am accused of thinking & acting like an old man when it comes to investments. LOL, but I tell them it is the old with the money & wealth so let me start early and save time, LoL!
Cde Monomotapa
#157 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 8:06:39 PM

U know there is a hip-hop song called #stupid by Playaz Circle and part of it goes like "I got a bank roll, stupid bank roll * 2" I accept Laughing out loudly
#158 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:02:39 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
U know there is a hip-hop song called #stupid by Playaz Circle and part of it goes like "I got a bank roll, stupid bank roll * 2" I accept Laughing out loudly

They remixed it from Gucci's stupid...
Cde Monomotapa
#159 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:13:08 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

They remixed it from Gucci's stupid...

haven't heard it. Will look it up.
the deal
#160 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:16:10 PM

Equity bank just sits 1.09% above its 52 week low, 1 year return -2%, I wish Britak could release their 1H earnings...*Disaster*