wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Family claims Opus Dei lured daughter...
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 7:29:12 AM

Is any Wazuan out there a member of Opus Dei? What is the truth about the organization?

Here is Naliaka's story as reported by the STAR.

Parents of a 25-year-old woman who claim their daughter has been confined illegally by a secretive Catholic Church movement, Opus Dei, have sought the court’s intervention to have their child back. The court has ordered the Commissioner of Police and the Director of Public Prosecutions to produce Sophie Naliaka Kibanani in court next Friday.

The immigration Department had also been compelled by High Court Judge Daniel Musinga to prohibit the agents who recruited Naliaka and any other servants of Opus Dei from removing her out of Kenya. The parents in a suit instituted yesterday at the High Court in Nairobi allege that their daughter was lured from their home in Bungoma 21 days ago and taken to Nairobi to serve the Opus Dei as a numerary living in one of its residences.

The girl studied Commerce at the University of Strathmore but the parents claim she graduated in absentia during the graduation ceremony on June 24.

Numeraries are celibate members of Opus Dei who usually live in special centres run by Opus Dei. Both men and women may become numeraries, although the centres are strictly gender-segregated. Numeraries generally have careers and devote the bulk of their income to the organisation

Dr Charles Ngome and his wife Hellen Kibanani allege that their daughter, Sophie Naliaka might be taken out of the country so that she can continue serving as a member of Opus Dei . It is claimed that her membership into the organization demands that she serves it permanently and for life in one of its residences in Kenya or anywhere in the world, according to the parents.

The parents said Naliaka has been suffering from a mental disorder apparently caused by her recruitment to the church movement
Through their lawyer Kibe Mungai the parents allege that as a result of the mental illness Naliaka was admitted to Mathari mental hospital in Nairobi and treated for delusional disorder on May 9.
She was discharged on May 24 2011 and placed on medication as outpatient. As her recovery improved, members and agents of Opus Dei , lured her on June 18 from her parent’s home in Bungoma .

The agents identified as Maria Consolata Osienju, Otero Espanola alias Maria and Irene Ngunjiri alia Renee facilitated her travel to Nairobi for admission in Fanusi house as a Numerary.
Naliaka had been recruited into Opus Dei when she was studying at Kenya High School without the consent of her parents.
And when she was admitted for undergraduate studies at Strathmore University, she continued with her involvement with Opus Dei.
Her parents tried unsuccessfully to have the intervention of the Vice Chancellor of Strathmore University to rescue Naliaka from Opus Dei in a written letter dated June 18.

Soon after the letter was delivered, the mother claims Naliaka called her and told her in a timid voice that she had recovered. She also informed her that after graduation she will continue living in Fanusi House as she searched for work and hanged up. The parents want the court to order the Commissioner of Police, and the director of Public Prosecutions to produce Naliaka in court within 36 hours of the order being issued.
Justice Musinga directed lawyer Mungai to serve Strathmore Education Trust, the director Fanusi Study centre and Keri house who have been named as respondents in the case.
Insurgent
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:44:19 AM

I am a member of Opus Dei. We realize the glory of God through work. Sophie Naliaka is an adult after finishing her undergraduate studies. She has a right to choose. Joining Opus Dei is a calling, just like many are called to marriage, priesthood and other forms of service to God.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:48:20 AM

Insurgent wrote:
I am a member of Opus Dei. We realize the glory of God through work. Sophie Naliaka is an adult after finishing her undergraduate studies. She has a right to choose. Joining Opus Dei is a calling, just like many are called to marriage, priesthood and other forms of service to God.

Thank you @ insurgent, its always good to get clarification from an insider..
Spend.thrift
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:29:38 AM

What is so special about Naliaka? Is there history of delusion or mental disorders in her family.

IMHO, there is too much construction going on in the minds of people about Opus Dei - all of it caused by lack of information or starting to undertand the Opus dei from a "conspiracy" position. Hundreds of people (protestant, muslim, catholic...all faiths even budhists) have been to institutions run by or affiliated to the Strathmore Education Trust; Kimlea, Srathmore (School & Uni), Kianda, Kibondeni and have never been forced to become members.

Other facilities such as Fanusi, Keri and Mbagathi are for spiritual cum professional development and there are different categories of membership some celibate others are coperators who lead their lives at different places of work and are also married.

The prelature, like the entire Catholic church may have conservative position on many issues such as contraception, euthanasia e.t.c but these are matters of faith and personal choice ( i believe there are hundreds of catholics who use condoms or have even procured abortions, despite haveing been taught otherwise)

Spend.thrift
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:41:12 AM

#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:00:32 PM

Insurgent wrote:

@Insurgent, Ati you are member of Opus Dei? Please someone remind me to stay far from this group if @insurgent is a sample member. What exactly does this institution teach. Is realizing the glory of God done through the xenophobia you exhibit in the thread below?

Angela Merkel thread

Or in the defense of Osama bin laden as in the the thread below?

Osama death thread

You even admire Mugable because he 'kicked out the pink asses' Kumbe you are a member of an organization formed by the same 'pink asses'!!

I love mugabe thread

Thanks but I will 'pass' membership to the Opus Dei. I pity the family of the girl in question
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:04:52 PM

I saw the radiant face in the Standard today and that is definitely not a damsel in distress.
Spend.thrift
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:25:19 PM

What if one chooses a celibate life when the parents expect to be called grandparents?

I recall sometime back I head a parent retort "you must be crazy and joking!!" when his 10 year old son shared his ambition of becoming a priest. The guy was probably disturbed and questioning how a first born who is "supposed" to M-pesa money home every end month and also take care of his siblings when grown up enter into celibate life with no prospects of transfer earning.

May be these are the issues.
Insurgent
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:31:54 PM

Robinhood wrote:

@Insurgent, Ati you are member of Opus Dei? Please someone remind me to stay far from this group if @insurgent is a sample member. What exactly does this institution teach. Is realizing the glory of God done through the xenophobia you exhibit in the thread below?

You even admire Mugable because he 'kicked out the pink asses' Kumbe you are a member of an organization formed by the same 'pink asses'!!

Thanks but I will 'pass' membership to the Opus Dei. I pity the family of the girl in question
Now you are attacking my faith. I should defend it to the last man standing. It is Pink Person.

First post on Stormfront:

As a student at a major university in the SEC, I see firsthand the kind of culture that students are surrounded by. Liberal ideas are crammed down our throats in the classroom and "tolerant" ideologies are spouted by not just minorities, but our own race. This is nothing new to you. The entire student body is practically forced to worship the negroid football team who prey on white girls. These girls, ignorant, beautiful, race traitors throw themselves at the blacks in an attempt to be with the "stars," the "popular" idols of the university. All these girls care about is status and being with a black athlete is apparently a "privilege." This is a phenomenon that is being WIDESPREAD. White girls flock to the negroid athletes because the school worships the football team.

Why are girls rushing to blacks?

It is because youth today are OBSESSED with glorifying negroid culture such as their MUSIC. Starting at a young age in middle schools, whites everywhere listen to the negroid music. This does not change in college. In nearly every bar, rap, hip hop trash is played at obscene decibel levels. I have been in vehicles with beautiful white women who are rapping along to some black rapper who objectifies women as objects. I cant tell you how disgusted I feel at these white girls who are embracing black culture so openly because it is "cool."

We need to throw away negro music. Rap, hip-hop is destroying our youth and elevates negro culture while promoting miscegenation. Granted, the radio "top 40" lists are so completely controlled in the agenda to destroy whites.

We have to act right here, right now to PROHIBIT black music from our ears as much as humanly possible while replacing that garbage with pro white music.

http://www.stormfront.org/forum/t680327/

White girls and boys, my foot, am yet to see a white girl. What is wrong with accepting you are pink and am brown?

Back to Opus Dei, what was your problem.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

tony stark
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:23:26 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
What if one chooses a celibate life when the parents expect to be called grandparents?

I recall sometime back I head a parent retort "you must be crazy and joking!!" when his 10 year old son shared his ambition of becoming a priest. The guy was probably disturbed and questioning how a first born who is "supposed" to M-pesa money home every end month and also take care of his siblings when grown up enter into celibate life with no prospects of transfer earning.

May be these are the issues.

Story says the parents are DR .... and Mrs. The schools she attended also suggests that the parents have means and would not need Mbecha support.
My 2 cents
2 Miles
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:32:36 PM

Sophie Naliaka's story could be very true.

The methods they use to make people join are not as voluntary as they may sound.

A priest friend ( from the Consolata Missionaries ) wasn't very enthusiastic about this organisation when I mentioned the organisation to him.
liomungai
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:48:04 PM

she said it very well, it was out of her own free will. she was my classmate for four years and a very intelligent lady and her desire to belong led her to opus dei - we all have to appreciate their good work especially in education.
Being at Strathmore I got to attend many sessions at Mbagathi and nobody forced me to join them and I never became a member. I have many friends who are members and it takes special characters...
People who look for easy money invariably pay for the privilege of proving conclusively that it cannot be found on this sordid earth
winston
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 2:44:43 PM

The call to serve is never a forced one. It is not slavery that one must be lured and trapped.

I have friends who are opus dei...and they are societal models in their own right.

Seems to me the parents want their no-longer-small-girl to do their will rather than her own will...or to put it differently, God's will in her life.
Ms Mkenya
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 4:56:26 PM

That is an adult.. I don't even know why the court allowed the case to be filed..
....above all, to stand.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 5:37:51 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
That is an adult.. I don't even know why the court allowed the case to be filed..

Ms Mkenya there you go. We are talking of a 25 year old? My foot!I wonder why her parents are complaining. She should be the one complaining.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 5:39:29 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Ms Mkenya there you go. We are talking of a 25 year old? My foot!I wonder why her parents are complaining. She should be the one complaining.
Cardinal
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 8:36:28 AM

Do not underestimate the pressure that non opus dei members get from opus dei members, especially in institutions like strathmore that stand for opus dei.

Opus dei apply aggressive recruiting strategies to get new members who are then brainwashed to believe that they have a calling.

There are centers that do this,e.g fanusi, mbagathi and keri center in strathmore, where young students are invited to attend barbecues, excursions,e.t.c without knowing that they are slowly being recruited.

Opus dei isn't a bad organization at all, it has good people in it.

Regarding this girl,well she is over 18, her wishes should be respected but she shouldn't be under any coercion to stay at Fanusi whilst her parents wants to see her regularly as their only daughter and first born.

#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 9:04:16 AM

Whom between these two do we believe?

liomungai wrote:
she said it very well, it was out of her own free will. she was my classmate for four years and a very intelligent lady and her desire to belong led her to opus dei - we all have to appreciate their good work especially in education.
Being at Strathmore I got to attend many sessions at Mbagathi and nobody forced me to join them and I never became a member. I have many friends who are members and it takes special characters...

Cardinal wrote:
Do not underestimate the pressure that non opus dei members get from opus dei members, especially in institutions like strathmore that stand for opus dei.

Opus dei apply aggressive recruiting strategies to get new members who are then brainwashed to believe that they have a calling.

There are centers that do this,e.g fanusi, mbagathi and keri center in strathmore, where young students are invited to attend barbecues, excursions,e.t.c without knowing that they are slowly being recruited.

Opus dei isn't a bad organization at all, it has good people in it.

Regarding this girl,well she is over 18, her wishes should be respected but she shouldn't be under any coercion to stay at Fanusi whilst her parents wants to see her regularly as their only daughter and first born.

#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 9:11:58 AM

It seems to me that many people find it hard to believe that one can commit to a life of helping fellow human beings for absolutely no pay in return.

I remember watching a Japanese game show on TV with my 22-year-old nice. Participants are given very difficult tasks to complete - like hand-walking along a path with numerous hurdles. Halfway through, my nice asked me what prizes the guys were competing for. I told her I didn't think there was any - I had never seen anyone getting anything.

She was shocked and responded: "You mean they do all this for nothing!?"

I asked her: "can't you do something for the fun of it?"

"No way!" was her answer.
Ms Mkenya
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 9:24:45 AM

@Mukiha, Religion (or the lack of it) is often an emotive issue, hence the strong differences in opinion. I would say this is perfectly normal.

However, the parents cannot fight her word and win. If she wants to be there so be it. Might it be a case of a parent not accepting their daughter's choice in life?
....above all, to stand.