wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

Savings account interest rates and money market bank accounts in kenya
#11 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:46:14 PM

@Selah,
10% would be more like it....I have been in one where i have choked 10 this past six years and as Hundwear puts it FOSAs are offering quick short loans but at interests some above 8% per month.See where the money is?
solo
#12 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 4:37:16 PM

Actually i concur with Hunderwear and Njunge, from my diversified portfolio my investment saco performed the best returning a lucrative 42% in year 2010. From the way the market looks today investment saco's may just end being the best investment vehicles this year, especially those dealing with real estate. For this reason who has the stats for stima saco which is selling shares? do they have a split savings and investment saco or is it combined saco? anyone who can send the last 5 years finacials?
#13 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 5:06:22 PM

Saccos give loans @12pc. Mine gives me 7.5 to 10pc in div
GGK
#14 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 6:09:36 PM

I've been in SACCO for years... I think we get something like 5%. The Hunderwear one sounds like pyramid scheme. Even if SACCO will offer a loan at 20%, you find that the Sacco borrows from Coop-bank to finance the emergency & Fosa loans so the the net interest income is lower than that of Normal (12%) loan.

Don't expect anything above 5% from a bank as interest on savings.

Why don't you try the 91 day CBK instrument?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Hunderwear
#15 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:51:26 PM

GGK wrote:
I've been in SACCO for years... I think we get something like 5%. The Hunderwear one sounds like pyramid scheme. Even if SACCO will offer a loan at 20%, you find that the Sacco borrows from Coop-bank to finance the emergency & Fosa loans so the the net interest income is lower than that of Normal (12%) loan.

Don't expect anything above 5% from a bank as interest on savings.

Why don't you try the 91 day CBK instrument?

>Hii ndio shida ya kuwa mzee with the wrong experience.Dont blame you though I once belonged to the most corrupt of al saccos Harambee and they used to gve us 6% and thought that was good.Am suprised you stil cannot learn though.For your info. 15% is a day return for a pyramid scheme.
kiterunner
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:03:45 AM

mhasibu gave around 11% last year (hearsay) i am not a member,
our goals are best achieved indirectly
josiah33
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:12:08 PM

well! thanx guys, i've heard the good and the bad about saccos and seems likes most of you think saccos are good investment vehicles. But may i just ask a simple question,what does cfc-stanbic bank give as interest for it's PURESAVE ACCOUNT?
Kwanini
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 11:37:20 AM

@ggk.... the taste of the pudding is in the eating... i belong to one that has paid 10.1%- 13% for the last 4 years. The money comes from the short/ovenight term loans... i know coz am in the kitchen brewing tha broth that keeps the committee re-elected year in year out!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 11:59:40 AM

Saccos give loans @12pc. Mine gives me 7.5 to 10pc in div

Which sacco is that mine has never gone beyond 6.25% dividend payout.
luttz
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 12:11:13 PM

We have many Saccos which are doing pretty well. The least dividend my Sacco has paid is 15% for the last seven years. Dont ask me how they arrive at those figures because I dont know. I never put my money is savings account
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."