wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
GMO Ugali
#61 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:20:53 PM

B.Timer wrote:
'user' wrote:
And to make the matters worse , these GMO are being brought to be eaten only . Not to be planted .How will that benefit our farmers?
Sounds cynical.

Simple ,They want to know if we will die if we eat the GMOs.And this is evil

How simplistic can we be!

There a diffence between seed grain and food grain.

This is a move to mitigate inadequate food stocks.

If you need seed, go to the right place.

And by the plants in the field would have ceratin other effects on the existing ecosystem.

Did you know, you are not allowed to import any foreign plants for purposes of planting, - lest they interfere with the existing flora and fauna.

Big timer , this is laughable or cryable .Na unajua the GMO will land kwetu Londokwe mwiso wa ndia, na Kwenyu Mwingi na kwakina magigi , karibu na Konza ICT as soon a the first ship docks .I fear for the men and women there.

Why cant we mitigate using the conventional maize , its available in Malawi.

can someone tell me if GMO are cheaper than the conventional maize/ cereals.
That will make sense , since we will be feeding our poor with the poison because it's cheaper .

Why are we going for something that has not been tested for long term effects when we have have good alternatives available.
Why is ODM leadership so fast in supporting this GMOs.

I am a supporter of Raila , no secret , but not a blind one.I do ask questions
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#62 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:42:44 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
What i want to know is
(i)who is advocating for GMOs (the millers are reluctant)
(ii)who the importers of these GMO's and
(ii) A clear guideline on the quality measures out in place to ensure we are getting good stuff.

Otherwise we are just opening the doors for rubbish to be dumped in our country.

I asked this question and nobody bothered answering. We have non-GMO maize readily available from numerous African countries. Can someone explain to us in slow motion exactly why "we" want to import GMO maize? If it was the only available option, maybe I would understand, but it is not! Was somebody handed a fat cheque - maybe in dollars? Might he be the same person who was handed a fat cheque by the owner of Grainbulk Handlers Limited? Might there be a connection between the GMO maize importation and Grainbulk Handlers Limited?

All advocates of GMOs can you tell us why we need to buy GMO maize. And give facts only. If it is price, go ahead and compare the prices etc.
#63 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:45:48 PM

"Dad, are there any genes on my plate?" my 14-year-old daughter asked.What if
your child asked you this? An opinion survey showed that 70 percent of the
people have the mistaken idea that ordinary food does not contain genes,
whereas GM food does. Rather than explain to my daughter that every bite of
food on her plate has billions of genes, I told her a story.
"In the mountains high above Cristobal de las Casas in Chiapas, Luis and
Jimena Rodriguez tend their small field of corn and beans.They are ‘organic’
farmers because they don’t have enough money to buy fertilizers or pesticides.
After they bring in the corn harvest, they store the ears in a large corn crib that
covers the entire back wall of their one-room house. It’s the safest place to store
the corn.This room also has their bed and the four kids sleep on the floor. After
the harvest is in, Luis goes to town to buy some pesticide to fumigate the corn
inside his house. In the house his corn is safe from rain, rodents, and thieves, but
not from insects. If he does not fumigate, the weevils will eat the stored corn. If
he does not fumigate, he will have more weevils than corn kernels in six
months’ time. Indeed, each female weevil lays about 100 eggs, and after the larvae
hatch, they burrow into the seeds. After thirty-five days mature insects
emerge and the cycle begins again. Half of those insects are females, so just
multiply 50 by 50 by 50 by 50 by 50 and figure out how many that is," I said to
my daughter.
"More than 5 million," she answered, "all coming from two weevils."
"Now suppose that the corn was genetically modified with a Bt gene to kill
those weevils, the parents and children wouldn’t have to sleep in those pesticide
fumes," I said. "Don’t you think those children would benefit from having
some genes on their plates?"

Great discussion here........

http://www.sdcma.org/GMFoodsBrochure.pdf
#64 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:46:42 PM

Let the ministers who approved the importation of GMO first hold a party on Uhuru park and publicly feast on GMO ugali.

If they are still healthy after a month, we'll join them.
#65 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 4:40:07 PM

Tebes wrote:
"Dad, are there any genes on my plate?" my 14-year-old daughter asked.What if
your child asked you this? An opinion survey showed that 70 percent of the
people have the mistaken idea that ordinary food does not contain genes,
whereas GM food does. Rather than explain to my daughter that every bite of
food on her plate has billions of genes, I told her a story.
"In the mountains high above Cristobal de las Casas in Chiapas, Luis and
Jimena Rodriguez tend their small field of corn and beans.They are ‘organic’
farmers because they don’t have enough money to buy fertilizers or pesticides.
After they bring in the corn harvest, they store the ears in a large corn crib that
covers the entire back wall of their one-room house. It’s the safest place to store
the corn.This room also has their bed and the four kids sleep on the floor. After
the harvest is in, Luis goes to town to buy some pesticide to fumigate the corn
inside his house. In the house his corn is safe from rain, rodents, and thieves, but
not from insects. If he does not fumigate, the weevils will eat the stored corn. If
he does not fumigate, he will have more weevils than corn kernels in six
months’ time. Indeed, each female weevil lays about 100 eggs, and after the larvae
hatch, they burrow into the seeds. After thirty-five days mature insects
emerge and the cycle begins again. Half of those insects are females, so just
multiply 50 by 50 by 50 by 50 by 50 and figure out how many that is," I said to
my daughter.
"More than 5 million," she answered, "all coming from two weevils."
"Now suppose that the corn was genetically modified with a Bt gene to kill
those weevils, the parents and children wouldn’t have to sleep in those pesticide
fumes," I said. "Don’t you think those children would benefit from having
some genes on their plates?"

Great discussion here........

http://www.sdcma.org/GMFoodsBrochure.pdf

Applause
#66 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 4:46:40 PM

kenmac wrote:
Let the ministers who approved the importation of GMO first hold a party on Uhuru park and publicly feast on GMO ugali.

If they are still healthy after a month, we'll join them.

Good point. And the Parliament canteen should prepare only GMO ugali.

These bloody characters will never partake of GMO-ugali and they are shouting at the top of their voices how safe they are. Again I ask, why specifically GMO maize??? Can somebody answer that!

Interesting reads. Make a point of going through them

Monsato and GMO

Monsato vs Farmers

USDA in Bed With Monsato!!!

These two links are a MUST read!!!

The American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM) has issued a warning urging the public to avoid genetically modified foods

Mexico rejects Monsanto’s GMO corn
#67 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 4:49:34 PM

Indian buffalo that consumed genetically modified cottonseed experienced various birthing complications including infertility, abortions, premature delivery, and prolapsed uteruses. Many of the calves that survived birth died shortly thereafter.

In the United States, about 24 farmers reported that their pigs became sterile after consuming genetically modified corn.
#68 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 5:14:31 PM

Despite consensus from most FDA scientists in the early '90s declaring that genetically modified foods are inherently dangerous and could lead to all sorts of serious health problems, politics won out as mandates were given from Washington to promote biotechnology and GMOs in spite of apparent and obvious dangers. This led to the promotion of Michael Taylor, former attorney for Monsanto, as head of GMO policy at the FDA, a move that led to the official denial by the agency of any knowledge or substantiated concern by any FDA scientists about the safety of GMOs.

Despite findings in some 44,000 pages of internal FDA memos and reports released in 1999 due to a lawsuit, findings that contained the warnings from then scientists about the "unintended negative side effects" of genetic engineering, official FDA GMO policy has been scrubbed clean of the truth and purports blatant lies in its defense of GMOs as safe. In fact, current policy emphatically states that no safety studies on GMOs are even required or necessary; it is instead up to Big Biotech to determine the safety of its own genetically modified organisms if it so chooses.
Foreman
#69 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 6:48:38 PM

Where there is smoke, there is fire. They will feed the GMO to us then in 2015 we will be discussing a thread titled, 'FINALLY EXPERTS ADMIT GMOs ARE A THREAT TO HUMAN HEALTH.'
They say the unga shall be labelled, but how do i know if the ugali served at the restaurant is GMO or not.
#70 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 7:33:10 PM

Foreman wrote:
Where there is smoke, there is fire. They will feed the GMO to us then in 2015 we will be discussing a thread titled, 'FINALLY EXPERTS ADMIT GMOs ARE A THREAT TO HUMAN HEALTH.'
They say the unga shall be labelled, but how do i know if the ugali served at the restaurant is GMO or not.

And this is Kenya!!! Haven't we seen people arrested with bhang bearing Kebs labels? Once this maize lands in Kenya, we are finished! The labeling will be in theory only.
#71 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:06:57 AM

Foreman wrote:

And this is Kenya!!! Haven't we seen people arrested with bhang bearing Kebs labels? Once this maize lands in Kenya, we are finished! The labeling will be in theory only.

Well, let's take that line of thought a little farther...

What makes you sure that we aren't already eating GM foods? After all, we have been importing grains for a long, long time, haven't we?
B.Timer
#72 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:11:45 AM

If we dont trust experts/scientists anymore, then we should equaly abandon medical research on HIV/AIDS, Cancer etc and result to Loliondo for all solutions after all over there they use unadulterated plants.
Dunia ni msongamano..
Sasha
#73 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:13:46 AM

@YesuWangu: Like I said, my analogy may be a bit simplistic, but it is the same concept. If you can replicate a controlled environment in your backyard, I believe Monsanto will allow you to grow their products. KARI have a controlled environment in their compound where they grow maize and cassava.

@mukiha: That is the question I've been asking people who are against GM foods. People have been eating these foods for a very long time and labeling will not reverse this fact, rather it will only give people a choice!

Off the top of my head;
1 If you have eaten eggs bought in a supermarket, most likely it came from SA from a chicken fed on GM feeds.
2 If you have eaten those red, very succulent & round mangoes, the red colour has been enhanced using genetic modification.
3 If you have eaten yellow rice, yellow & baby corn, baby tomatoes chances are that they were GM foods.
4 Any meat you may have eaten that is imported, will have been fed at one time with GM foods!
#74 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 11:36:02 AM

Ati Mututho says that the GMO ugali was once fed to some panya in Viena and they stopped giving birth.
So eat this GMO thing if you are sure you dont need to land anymore.
I will be changing my eating habit and start sampling mashed ngwaci and steamed sorghum.

he he he @ impunity !

@ Maichblack is researcher i think,always backs up his points with links.....so i clicked on one of them and this is what it says

"While urging for more independent studies, the AAEM paper cites its own studies alleging that genetically modified foods cause serious adverse health effects, emphasizing more than a mere "causal association" as is commonly assumed. These effects include rapid aging, severe alterations to the major bodily organs, infertility, immune problems, gastrointestinal dysfunction, and disruption to proper insulin regulation, among others"

So you can imagine why with my little info on this topic,i am worried about GMOs......rapid aging ?????????????!!!!!smile let the debate rage on!

#75 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:08:18 PM

Sasha wrote:
@YesuWangu: Like I said, my analogy may be a bit simplistic, but it is the same concept. If you can replicate a controlled environment in your backyard, I believe Monsanto will allow you to grow their products. KARI have a controlled environment in their compound where they grow maize and cassava.

@mukiha: That is the question I've been asking people who are against GM foods. People have been eating these foods for a very long time and labeling will not reverse this fact, rather it will only give people a choice!

Off the top of my head;
1 If you have eaten eggs bought in a supermarket, most likely it came from SA from a chicken fed on GM feeds.
2 If you have eaten those red, very succulent & round mangoes, the red colour has been enhanced using genetic modification.
3 If you have eaten yellow rice, yellow & baby corn, baby tomatoes chances are that they were GM foods.
4 Any meat you may have eaten that is imported, will have been fed at one time with GM foods!

And you ask why our women are growing beards.there are many of these in the streets of Nairobi.

And our women are blending us useless in bedminton.Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Agnes of Classic was ready to run from the hussy because he couldnt deliver a Big 'O',can I assume that the hussy eats alot of the above foods

And now you want to support the formalization of these foods

Mimi na familia yangu siko kwa hii.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
mburuke
#76 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 10:17:11 AM

Sasha wrote:
@MaichBlack: FYI, I have gone through the thread, and I have read the reports you allude to. But for you to appreciate the fallacy of some of the reports, you need to understand the essence of genetic engineering. Genetic engineering does not utilise any chemicals rather specific gene sequences responsible for manifestation of some desired characters. So when you say 'chemicals found in GM foods', I don't understand where you are coming from.

These reports talk about the Bt toxin being found in blood. The Bt toxin has been used in agriculture for decades as an element in many insecticidal sprays. As such we have been consuming it for a long time. So all of a sudden it is harmful? The alarmists have claimed that the toxin used to engineer plants is different from the one used in sprays. How is it different when it is coming from the same bacteria? FYI, the Bt toxin was used in RDT (Recombinant DNA Technology) as a way of reducing its used in agricultural sprays, you know, the ones that are depleting our ozone layer?

Like I said, I'm averse to discuss this issue because people seem to have a made-up-mind because of what has been 'said' and rarely look at the facts.

Kudos sasha and Mukiha for the information. In regards to that study i think on of the shortcomings in that study was that there was no attempt to analyze the food source and the bt protein content in the foods consumed by the subjects so as to come to the conclusion that the bt protein was from gm product.
the good book says that my people are perishing from lack of knowledge!
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
mburuke
#77 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 10:20:03 AM

tony stark wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I read somewhere that a cow (or goat maybe) has been cloned to produce human milk. This on the face of it looks good for there are children who for whatever reason do not access their mothers' milk and could benefit.
But how far can science go?
GMO is the equivalent of cloning in animals, is it not?
I would thus imagine that it is possible to manipulate plant genes to mimic a hormone (contraceptive) or a steroid or add vitamins etc.
What needs to be clear to anyone before you dip your hand to scoop you ugali is: what gene in that maize has been modified/added? You owe that info to yourself and your family.

Yes it is very possible to generate hormones by genetically modifying plants or other organisms to produce the said hormone. A good example is human insulin that is used by diabetics world over which is made from genetically modified e coli.

It is nearly impossible to get the said hormone through ingestion. You body breaks down components of food to their near basic building blocks therefore altering any protein(most hormones) or steroid (cholesterol based hormones) into its components.

Your body will therefore break down GMO maize the same way it will break down the normal maize. You will basically have non starch polysaccharides (fibre) amino acids, complex carbohydrates and simple carbohydrates.

The DNA will be broken down into it's bases and sugar back bone and therefore it doesn't matter whether they were from the GMO or "kawaida" ugali.

Eating nyama choma is more riskier than eating GMO maize since the link betwen cancer and meat of burnt (which contains heterocyclic amines) has been proven several times lakini you still probably eat it and feed it to your children?

very well put
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#78 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 10:31:30 AM

Just one or two questions , Mburuke , are GMO products cheaper than Non-GMO ?
Are there non GMO maize near us(ie from our neighbours ?

I just want to understand why we are importing GMO Maize if the reason for importing now is to mitigate maize shortfall as some of us are saying here.

Yes or no answer suffices.

Pleeease
#79 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 11:09:52 AM

'user' wrote:

I just want to understand why we are importing GMO Maize if the reason for importing now is to mitigate maize shortfall as some of us are saying here.

Pleeease

A bag of imported maize is costing the 'government' 3,500 am sure our farmers would be happy with 2.5k or 3k... and they have money to buy fertilizer next year without government subsidies...
mburuke
#80 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 12:03:39 PM

'user' wrote:

Pleeease

@user my interest in this debate is about the safety of gm technology and not necessariry specificly pegged on the gm maize that the government wants to import. Genereally any gm product should be cheaper than the existing options for any one to adopt it. However there diffrent gm products developed to adress many diverse and diffrent challenges and it would thus be unfair to lump them all together.
Having said the maize being imported is modified to be pest resistance therefore no need for pestcides and consequently this means less cost of inputs to the farmer which translates to lower cost of production. Am sure the cost of shipping from south africa and other related charges will obviously inflate the final cost, by how much i dont know.
However what am sure of is if this resistance was intergrated into our locally adapted kenyan maize varieties the resultant gm maize would be cheaper! for the said reason in comparison with the hybrids that farmers use.
For those of you who might not be aware this is already being carried out and we have field trials going on in diffrent parts of kenya with very promisibg results.
It seems we are so much concerned about the multinationals instead of asking ourselves how can we use the technology ourselves and generate gm products that solve some of the challenges that our farmes are facing. we dont have to rely on monsanto and the likes to give us the gm seeds we can produce them in our research facilities and use them. I think gm cotton will be one of the first crops to be released in kenya. All in all any gm product is desighned to give the targeted end user a cheaper and more effecient alternative in solving an already existing challenge if it cant then there is no need in adopting it!