wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
GMO Ugali
#41 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:03:28 AM

'user' wrote:
GMO has been associated with impotence .I'm still wondering who is selling our future(of course the future between our legsAnxious Anxious ).
Who is this pushing for the GMOs to be brought into the country?

Beth Mugo has said that there was no cabinet agreement on the importation of GMO .The issue was not discussed in the cabinet meeting .

I have noted with a closer analysis that PNU Mpgs(mugo , Mututho , the kirinyaga construction company Mp cant remember his name) are against the importation . No ODM MP has talked about it.
(Some wazua ODM supporters are for the GMOs)

Should I read between the lines?

ODM is out in support , Raila Mudavadi.

Raila is my man but ,I'm confused.

Are the GMO cheaper , since we are importing them not to plant but to eat only? in this case cant we just import the normal maize?

Why import to grind to ugali and eat only ? How will that benefit our farmers?

Isnt this experimenting , ie grind the blooody gmo , give them to the poor and if they dont drop dead , we now start planting them ?

Im angry .

Raila, better read the mood of the poor who votes for him.
Will the GMO land on the tables of the rich ?
Why GMO for eating only I ask again.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Sasha
#42 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:15:05 AM

@YesuWangu: Ever heard of the word 'patent'? So you expect a company to invest billions of dollars in RnD and come up with a better fruit, then just philanthropically give it out? Seriously? This is akin to saying that since BMW have a better machine as compared to a Toyota, they should give out their BMWs so that we can all enjoy the benefits thereof! C'mon! If you have to plant oranges, plant the kawaida ones!

Labeling has been a controversial subject. I don't see anything wrong with it. However, the companies that are producing the GM foods feel that labeling should be extended to include all additives and preservatives which the proponents of the drive were against. Tell me that your eating habits will change because your ugali all of a sudden has a label!
#43 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:16:14 AM

@mburuke; Michael Joseph was right: Kenyans are a peculiar lot! They would rather believe what politicians tell them, but when opinion polls are conducted, they tell the pollsters that they don't trust politicians. Perhaps I should have said that Kenyans are liars, but that would have been too harsh.

Today, we are rejecting GM foods because some politicians (Mututho et al) have said they are not safe. Yet our scientists are telling us that nobody has proven that GM foods are unsafe!

It reminds me of the hoolabaloo about the drink Alvaro. When questions were raised about whether it contains alcohol (since it is produced by a beer company using barley), the Government Chemist went to EABL and collected random samples.

The samples were tested in the lab and were found not to contain any alcohol. The report was given to the parliamentary committee investigating the matter. However, the MPs didn't believe it, so they made an "inspection tour" of the production facility.

Now, none of this lot was an industrial chemist, so all they saw were machines producing the drink but no one understood exaclty what was going on! But they still came out patting themselves on the back and proclaiming that they have "confirmed that Alvaro has no alcohol".

It was only then that Kenyans trusted the drink!

Like you, I am a scientist, though not in your field of expertise; so, like Chaka Khan said: "I feel for you".
#44 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:23:55 AM

Sasha wrote:
@YesuWangu: Ever heard of the word 'patent'? So you expect a company to invest billions in RnD and come up with a better fruit, then just philanthropically give it out? Seriously? This is akin to saying that since BMW have a better machine as compared to a Toyota, they should give out their BMWs so that we can all enjoy the benefits thereof! C'mon! If you have to plant oranges, plant the kawaida ones!

@Sasha: precisely! Many people do not believe in rewarding hard work. It is the same mentality you find with people who reproduce recorded music and photocopy books.

It takes a lot of hard work to compose a song or write a book. It's a shame that some one else will buy one copy then reproduce it and sell without rewarding the composer.

This is how Esther Wahome almost went bankrupt after singing "Kuna Dawa". She has never gotten a single shilling from her most popular song!
#45 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:38:04 AM

Sasha wrote:
Very interesting! A lot of misinformation flying around here!

I'm usually averse to engaging in discourse about genetic engineering because people, as is evident here, tend to base their arguments on unfounded fears! It is human scourge known as Fear of the Unknown!

@Sasha - "As is evident" from your post, you surely haven't gone through the whole thread and/or links. There are people who have pasted links to studies for example showing that the chemicals used in GMOs were found in foetuses and pregnant mothers' blood. Some of this articles indicated that as a result of these research some of the countries that previously allowed GMOs in their countries were in the process of burning them. These included countries like Canada if I'm not wrong. You categorize that as fear of the unknown?
#46 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:39:09 AM

Among the population, biologist David Schubert of the Salk Institute warns that “children are the most likely to be adversely effected by toxins and other dietary problems” related to GM foods. He says without adequate studies, the children become “the experimental animals.”

The experience of actual GM-fed experimental animals is scary. When GM soy was fed to female rats, most of their babies died within three weeks—compared to a 10% death rate among the control group fed natural soy. The GM-fed babies were also smaller, and later had problems getting pregnant.

http://www.foodmatters.t...0It's%20Not%20Pretty
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#47 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:39:56 AM

mukiha wrote:
Sasha wrote:
@YesuWangu: Ever heard of the word 'patent'? So you expect a company to invest billions in RnD and come up with a better fruit, then just philanthropically give it out? Seriously? This is akin to saying that since BMW have a better machine as compared to a Toyota, they should give out their BMWs so that we can all enjoy the benefits thereof! C'mon! If you have to plant oranges, plant the kawaida ones!

@Sasha: precisely! Many people do not believe in rewarding hard work. It is the same mentality you find with people who reproduce recorded music and photocopy books.

It takes a lot of hard work to compose a song or write a book. It's a shame that some one else will buy one copy then reproduce it and sell without rewarding the composer.

This is how Esther Wahome almost went bankrupt after singing "Kuna Dawa". She has never gotten a single shilling from her most popular song!

And to illustrate the mentality above, see this post I have just lifted from THE THREAD: If only Our Kenyan Police...:

Sober wrote:
For your info you dont have to work very hard to win a race. It is 85% inborn ability the than the trainning will give you the rest, that is why you just mentioned people from the rift, each person should strive to archive and perfect what he/she is good at.

Who will help our people out of this mindset?
majimaji
#48 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:47:07 AM

I read somewhere that a cow (or goat maybe) has been cloned to produce human milk. This on the face of it looks good for there are children who for whatever reason do not access their mothers' milk and could benefit.
But how far can science go?
GMO is the equivalent of cloning in animals, is it not?
I would thus imagine that it is possible to manipulate plant genes to mimic a hormone (contraceptive) or a steroid or add vitamins etc.
What needs to be clear to anyone before you dip your hand to scoop you ugali is: what gene in that maize has been modified/added? You owe that info to yourself and your family.
#49 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:01:45 AM

Sasha wrote:
@YesuWangu: Ever heard of the word 'patent'? So you expect a company to invest billions of dollars in RnD and come up with a better fruit, then just philanthropically give it out? Seriously? This is akin to saying that since BMW have a better machine as compared to a Toyota, they should give out their BMWs so that we can all enjoy the benefits thereof! C'mon! If you have to plant oranges, plant the kawaida ones!

Labeling has been a controversial subject. I don't see anything wrong with it. However, the companies that are producing the GM foods feel that labeling should be extended to include all additives and preservatives which the proponents of the drive were against. Tell me that your eating habits will change because your ugali all of a sudden has a label!

Ahhh.

Now we are getting to the heart of the matter lets keep the main thing the main thing:

Restrictions on distribution and access to (food) based on capacity to purchase. The moral question!

On comparisons, the medical sector are already doing that to drugs with cheaper generic varieties that are saving lives in third world countries, ours included.

I say GM creators should drop the hardline stance on control. Its not winning more support for their cause.
Sasha
#50 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:03:49 AM

@MaichBlack: FYI, I have gone through the thread, and I have read the reports you allude to. But for you to appreciate the fallacy of some of the reports, you need to understand the essence of genetic engineering. Genetic engineering does not utilise any chemicals rather specific gene sequences responsible for manifestation of some desired characters. So when you say 'chemicals found in GM foods', I don't understand where you are coming from.

These reports talk about the Bt toxin being found in blood. The Bt toxin has been used in agriculture for decades as an element in many insecticidal sprays. As such we have been consuming it for a long time. So all of a sudden it is harmful? The alarmists have claimed that the toxin used to engineer plants is different from the one used in sprays. How is it different when it is coming from the same bacteria? FYI, the Bt toxin was used in RDT (Recombinant DNA Technology) as a way of reducing its used in agricultural sprays, you know, the ones that are depleting our ozone layer?

Like I said, I'm averse to discuss this issue because people seem to have a made-up-mind because of what has been 'said' and rarely look at the facts.
tony stark
#51 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:23:25 AM

majimaji wrote:

I read somewhere that a cow (or goat maybe) has been cloned to produce human milk. This on the face of it looks good for there are children who for whatever reason do not access their mothers' milk and could benefit.
But how far can science go?
GMO is the equivalent of cloning in animals, is it not?
I would thus imagine that it is possible to manipulate plant genes to mimic a hormone (contraceptive) or a steroid or add vitamins etc.
What needs to be clear to anyone before you dip your hand to scoop you ugali is: what gene in that maize has been modified/added? You owe that info to yourself and your family.

Yes it is very possible to generate hormones by genetically modifying plants or other organisms to produce the said hormone. A good example is human insulin that is used by diabetics world over which is made from genetically modified e coli.

It is nearly impossible to get the said hormone through ingestion. You body breaks down components of food to their near basic building blocks therefore altering any protein(most hormones) or steroid (cholesterol based hormones) into its components.

Your body will therefore break down GMO maize the same way it will break down the normal maize. You will basically have non starch polysaccharides (fibre) amino acids, complex carbohydrates and simple carbohydrates.

The DNA will be broken down into it's bases and sugar back bone and therefore it doesn't matter whether they were from the GMO or "kawaida" ugali.

Eating nyama choma is more riskier than eating GMO maize since the link betwen cancer and meat of burnt (which contains heterocyclic amines) has been proven several times lakini you still probably eat it and feed it to your children?
Sasha
#52 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:32:01 AM

@YesuWangu: Sorry I had not seen you response. I will not pretend to know the intricacies of the restrictions placed on distribution of these foods. Again, use my analogy of the BMW and the Toyota. Try convincing the Germans to subsidise their product 'for the better' of the population. I know it is not that simple but look at it from the view of the developers of the foods.

My understanding is that the restrictions on distribution are due to the delicate nature of the plants. They have to be grown in controlled environments and to prevent cross-pollination. I'm not aware of any restrictions to access i.e. unless you mean restrictions in terms of how expensive they are. Hey, if you want foods with more nutrients, you have to pay for it!
majimaji
#53 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:35:13 AM

@ Tony stark: Look, we do have oral contraceptives so i think its not just a matter of breaking maize into carbohydrate sugars etc when eaten if it indeed has been modified to act like a hormone.
There could be GM maize that contains say vitamin A, D etc which is good; what i think should be done is that a packet of unga should not just be labelled GMO and thats it. It should go further and disclose what has been modified; that way, the consumer makes an informed choice.
#54 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:08:39 PM

Sasha, surely there is a difference between a car and food.

How can we compare the two? Unless that particular food is still a want, for now. In that case it should remain in the category of a want, never crossing into the category of a need.

And surely there cannot be just one single reason for controlling their distribution. The 'controlled growing environments' can still be replicated by third parties that is not a problem. What if I can replicate that in my backyard to grow that sweet orange?

I think it is good to know what one is eating, even though admittedly people dont check every single time.

Sneaking in some type foods without alerting the population, camouflaging it with inconspicuous packaging is very bad, reeks a hidden agenda, even, for the so-inclined. The food may not be that expensive but the fact that I only must get it from a specific source worries me.

People should get a choice! And use the item they are most comfortable with. If they are not comfortable with GMOs, after identifying it, let it be so. May the more persuasive politician and marketer win the public sympathy. But they should not lure people into their more nutritious foods only to realize when hooked that they have to get it from a certain source, there being no other way of accessing it.

#55 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:42:46 PM

[quote='user']Among the population, biologist David Schubert of the Salk Institute warns that “children are the most likely to be adversely effected by toxins and other dietary problems” related to GM foods. He says without adequate studies, the children become “the experimental animals.”

The experience of actual GM-fed experimental animals is scary. When GM soy was fed to female rats, most of their babies died within three weeks—compared to a 10% death rate among the control group fed natural soy. The GM-fed babies were also smaller, and later had problems getting pregnant.

http://www.foodmatters.t...It's%20Not%20Pretty[/quote]

Im yet to see somebody respond to this.

These are words from biologist , not a mechanic.
why dont the GMO marketers market them to their own population instead of bringing them to us to see if we will drop dead ?
If they have to bring food to feed the poor , let it be the conventional food , ingine , somebody stands to benefit.

Where are the sovereignty singers when our poor are being sold as guinea pigs to the GMO companies

Ms Mkenya
#56 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:46:37 PM

What i want to know is
(i)who is advocating for GMOs (the millers are reluctant)
(ii)who the importers of these GMO's and
(ii) A clear guideline on the quality measures out in place to ensure we are getting good stuff.

Otherwise we are just opening the doors for rubbish to be dumped in our country.
....above all, to stand.
#57 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:49:30 PM

And to make the matters worse , these GMO are being brought to be eaten only . Not to be planted .How will that benefit our farmers?
Sounds cynical.

Simple ,They want to know if we will die if we eat the GMOs.And this is evil
#58 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:24:56 PM

A Comparison of the Effects of Three GM Corn Varieties on Mammalian Health

We present for the first time a comparative analysis of blood and organ system data from trials with rats fed three main commercialized genetically modified (GM) maize (NK 603, MON 810, MON 863), which are present in food and feed in the world. NK 603 has been modified to be tolerant to the broad spectrum herbicide Roundup and thus contains residues of this formulation. MON 810 and MON 863 are engineered to synthesize two different Bt toxins used as insecticides. Approximately 60 different biochemical parameters were classified per organ and measured in serum and urine after 5 and 14 weeks of feeding. GM maize-fed rats were compared first to their respective isogenic or parental non-GM equivalent control groups. This was followed by comparison to six reference groups, which had consumed various other non-GM maize varieties. We applied nonparametric methods, including multiple pairwise comparisons with a False Discovery Rate approach. Principal Component Analysis allowed the investigation of scattering of different factors (sex, weeks of feeding, diet, dose and group). Our analysis clearly reveals for the 3 GMOs new side effects linked with GM maize consumption, which were sex- and often dose-dependent. Effects were mostly associated with the kidney and liver, the dietary detoxifying organs, although different between the 3 GMOs. Other effects were also noticed in the heart, adrenal glands, spleen and haematopoietic system. We conclude that these data highlight signs of hepatorenal toxicity, possibly due to the new pesticides specific to each GM corn. In addition, unintended direct or indirect metabolic consequences of the genetic modification cannot be excluded.

5. Conclusions

Patho-physiological profiles are unique for each GM crop/food, underlining the necessity for a case-by-case evaluation of their safety, as is largely admitted and agreed by regulators. It is not possible to make comments concerning any general, similar subchronic toxic effect for all GM foods. However, in the three GM maize varieties that formed the basis of this investigation, new side effects linked to the consumption of these cereals were revealed, which were sex- and often dose-dependent. Effects were mostly concentrated in kidney and liver function, the two major diet detoxification organs, but in detail differed with each GM type. In addition, some effects on heart, adrenal, spleen and blood cells were also frequently noted. As there normally exists sex differences in liver and kidney metabolism, the highly statistically significant disturbances in the function of these organs, seen between male and female rats, cannot be dismissed as biologically insignificant as has been proposed by others [4]. We therefore conclude that our data strongly suggests that these GM maize varieties induce a state of hepatorenal toxicity. This can be due to the new pesticides (herbicide or insecticide) present specifically in each type of GM maize, although unintended metabolic effects due to the mutagenic properties of the GM transformation process cannot be excluded [42]. All three GM maize varieties contain a distinctly different pesticide residue associated with their particular GM event (glyphosate and AMPA in NK 603, modified Cry1Ab in MON 810, modified Cry3Bb1 in MON 863). These substances have never before been an integral part of the human or animal diet and therefore their health consequences for those who consume them, especially over long time periods are currently unknown. Furthermore, any side effect linked to the GM event will be unique in each case as the site of transgene insertion and the spectrum of genome wide mutations will differ between the three modified maize types. In conclusion, our data presented here strongly recommend that additional long-term (up to 2 years) animal feeding studies be performed in at least three species, preferably also multi-generational, to provide true scientifically valid data on the acute and chronic toxic effects of GM crops, feed and foods. Our analysis highlights that the kidneys and liver as particularly important on which to focus such research as there was a clear negative impact on the function of these organs in rats consuming GM maize varieties for just 90 days.

http://www.biolsci.org/v05p0706.htm
B.Timer
#59 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:04:12 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
B.Timer wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Say No to monsanto et al.

The PM appeared on Telly yesterday giving GMO foods a clean bill of health.

In what appeared as an ODM strategy, Mudavadi also vouched for GMO.
For this I salute the two leaders insofar as this matter is concerned.

From now on, we will see lots of softening of hearts towards 'GMO ugali'!!

YOU ARE WRITING REFERING TO RAO AS IF HE IS A GMO SCIENTIST!!!!

OR AS IF HE WILL BE AMONG THOSE WHO ARE GOING TO CONSUME ....... NKTEST!

NATAKA KUNIAMBIA ETI COZ RAO AMESEMA BASI NI TOSHA??

THINK THINK THINK!!

AS SOMEONE HAS SAID .... WHY PUSH FOR GMOS WHEREAS KUNA MAIZE FROM MALAWI NA ZAMBIA??????

I THINK MOST OF US ARE WRITING FROM IGNORANCE ..... FIND OUT HOW MONSANTO & BIG ELITES ARE PUSHING THIS GMO WORLDWIDE AND AGAIN I SAY GOOGLE GMO FOOD CONTRAVERSIES!!

GOOGLE GMOS IN INDIA ...... AND SEE HOW MONSANTO TRICKED FARMERS WHO THEN ENDED COMMITING SUICIDE BECAUSE OF POOR YIELDS FROM GMO SEEDS AND INABILITY TO PAY BACK LOANS.

LAKINI KWA KWELI ... SIKIO LA KUFA HALISIKII DAWA ..... THAT I KNOW VERY WELL ...

AND I SEE THAT FOR SURE AFRICANS HAVE A VERY SMALL IQ...

I THEREFORE LEAVE IT TO YOU TO DECIDE TO BUY OR NOT ..... A

AS FOR ME AND MY HOUSE ..... GMOS AND THEIR PRODUCTS ..... NEVER EVER!!!!

LET THEM BE LABELED ..... THEN WE WILL MAKE A CHOICE@@

Why all these bile!!!

For starters, I am NOT a supporter of Railas. I dont like his politics at all!!

I reckon though, that he has near fanatical following.
Only on that basis, did I suppose that his supporters were headed to beating an about turn on the matter of GMO.

At no point did I say that it is okay just because Raila said so.
As a matter of fact, I took a position on this matter a day before Raila's say so.
It is sheer coincidence that Raila's views and mine converge insofar as this matter is concerned.

As concerns Africans' IQ well.....

GMOs are being used in the western world!! They were developed there too.

With the changing dynamics and increased demand for food, against limited land under cultivation, it is only a matter of time before GMO foods become the sensible thing for all of us.

Of course the GMO maize and its flour will be so labelled.
There will be choice.

Products that benefit from scientific research will certainly have a competitive edge in pricing once they hit the market.

For me, incessant citing of Mossanto bla bla bla is to miss the point.

Scientist do their research and come up with certain result/discovery.
Corporate bodies buy off the results, patent them and sell the products.
Granted, sometimes the Corporates finance the research.

Ultimately, scientific research is scientific research.
Once a group of scientists come up with a finding, it is seriously interrogated and subjected to rigorous checks before it is adopted through the relevant international bodies not least - WHO in this case.

In the long run, when the these sensibilities become evident right here, you will have to swallow your words!

Please take your advice on thoughts!!

Dunia ni msongamano..
B.Timer
#60 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:16:25 PM

'user' wrote:
And to make the matters worse , these GMO are being brought to be eaten only . Not to be planted .How will that benefit our farmers?
Sounds cynical.

Simple ,They want to know if we will die if we eat the GMOs.And this is evil

How simplistic can we be!

There a diffence between seed grain and food grain.

This is a move to mitigate inadequate food stocks.

If you need seed, go to the right place.

And by the way, introducing new plants in the field would have certain other effects on the existing ecosystem.

Did you know, you are not allowed to import any foreign plants for purposes of planting, - lest they interfere with the existing flora and fauna.This can only be done however with special permission and under supervision.
Dunia ni msongamano..