wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Meteorite in kenya
Ngalaka
#21 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 2:19:19 PM

Hiyo mawe ilitupwa Kangundo ama Muranga sasa!

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/13ulmhtz/-/index.html
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
grolut
#22 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 4:50:42 PM

@YesuWangu I'm still not sure whether I understand what you are saying. Is it that you do not believe meteorites, meteors, asteriods and comets exist, or that this particular one in Kenya is not a meteorite?

Meteorites exist and constantly fall to Earth. Many are not large enough to be observed and their impact sites located. Meteorites that leave behind craters are larger and rarer, that's why physical signs of impact may not be immediately visible at sites of smaller meteorite impacts.

The other heavenly bodies mentioned above are all observable.

Although you do not want to be referred to other sources if you want to see actual physical damage caused by large meteorites, have a look at the devastation caused by an exploding meteorite over Tunguska in Russia or any craters.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#23 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 1:09:52 AM

i am lucky to have seen a meteorite during the day. it about 3years ago. was around 5pm . it looked like a plane burning in the sky. but the whole experience takes about 5secs which is longer and more spectacular than what is seen at night(the smoke in the sky lasts for more than a minute)
#24 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:26:12 AM

A Gor fan in outer space.Don't worry,he justed missed his target which rarely happens.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly No way @Njunge, i diasagree.. Gor fans are now very disciplined as evidenced in the last match over the weekend..ama you want to say its a stone thrown last month and landing now?
nyangao
#25 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:27:14 AM

[quote=Ngalaka]
Hiyo mawe ilitupwa Kangundo ama Muranga sasa!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/13ulmhtz/-/index.html[/quote]

iam witness to the meteor was in gatuanyaga where there was a whirling sound followed like gun shot sounds . women were trying to scatter thinking it was a shoot out but could not see the action.
the stone landed in a place called kihiumwiri where army guys picked it fast. about the tremor didnt feel it
#26 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:33:47 AM

A Gor fan in outer space.Don't worry,he justed missed his target which rarely happens.

You beat me to it. Laughing out loudly
wanyuru
#27 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:43:26 AM

did they say there was a blast up there in the skies?...and the 5-kg rock landed some 50 metres from that old lady's house! GFF, that thing could have landed on some poor guys head!!Sad Sad
#28 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:53:12 AM

grolut wrote:
@YesuWangu I'm still not sure whether I understand what you are saying. Is it that you do not believe meteorites, meteors, asteriods and comets exist, or that this particular one in Kenya is not a meteorite?

Meteorites exist and constantly fall to Earth. Many are not large enough to be observed and their impact sites located. Meteorites that leave behind craters are larger and rarer, that's why physical signs of impact may not be immediately visible at sites of smaller meteorite impacts.

Although you do not want to be referred to other sources if you want to see actual physical damage caused by large meteorites, have a look at the devastation caused by an exploding meteorite over Tunguska in Russia or any craters.

Absolutely Grolut. I believe asteroids exist same as comets and planets, stars and sun, milky way and galaxy. For I have seen pictures of them. Or what I was told was their pictures. Some of these I see for myself.

But this one.......nah! Not a meteorite. I see my language might have caused misunderstanding. I apologise.

There is this documentary I watched some time back. (Someone thought I dont have access to National Geographic.) It was about Hubble. I need to revise it again.
#29 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:19:38 AM

YesuWangu wrote:
grolut wrote:

Absolutely Grolut. I believe asteroids exist same as comets and planets, stars and sun, milky way and galaxy. For I have seen pictures of them. Or what I was told was their pictures. Some of these I see for myself.

But this one.......nah! Not a meteorite. I see my language might have caused misunderstanding. I apologise.

There is this documentary I watched some time back. (Someone thought I dont have access to National Geographic.) It was about Hubble. I need to revise it again.

@YesuWangu; I think you are trying to escape this one. You were quite categorical in your initial post:

YesuWangu wrote:
I dont believe meteorites exist. Asking me to is to tell me to take in the 'Big Bang' theory as well and evolution to boot. Those are just fables.

This stone can be explained. I am sure. Even if it wont, it most likely will be due to the incompetence of our officers.

Now you imply that you only believe stars exist because you "have seen pictures of them". Kwani where do you live? Have you never looked up in the sky at night? The small small brightly sparkling things you see there are called "STARS"... or NYOTA in Kiswahili!!!!!

#30 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:42:46 AM

@yesuwangu amekuwa kalonzo wa musyoka.
Lol.

#31 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:45:14 AM

BTW: @YesuWangu, the word "meteorite" is derived from "meteor". And the word "meteor" is the scientific name given to what we call a Shooting Star... the ones that we see racing very fast across the sky. Have you ever seen one?
#32 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:04:15 AM

I still don't understand why the military chap was holding the stone using a Tusky's paper bag...d'oh!

Original meteorite must have been much larger before entering the earth's atmosphere where a good chunk burned up due to intense air friction (in fact this intense heat was what caused the shuttle Discovery to disintegrate in mid-air as it re-entered teh earth's atmosphere).
The documentaries I have seen after being charged exorbitantly by dstv say the burning meteors produce all sorts of noises (rumbling, explosion-like as was this particular one, etc) due to the loud sonic booms prodcued by the meteor travelling at extremely high velocities (Mach+).

@yesuwangu, Luke 17:29 says 'But the day Lot left Sodom,fire and sulfur rained down from heaven and destroyed them all' and IMHO, I think these were meteorites.

Mtu Biz
#33 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:04:46 AM

mukiha wrote:

@YesuWangu; I think you are trying to escape this one. You were quite categorical in your initial post:

YesuWangu wrote:
I dont believe meteorites exist. Asking me to is to tell me to take in the 'Big Bang' theory as well and evolution to boot. Those are just fables.

This stone can be explained. I am sure. Even if it wont, it most likely will be due to the incompetence of our officers.

Now you imply that you only believe stars exist because you "have seen pictures of them". Kwani where do you live? Have you never looked up in the sky at night? The small small brightly sparkling things you see there are called "STARS"... or NYOTA in Kiswahili!!!!!

@ Yesu... hapa Wazua ukiteleza unaangushwa! smile
Sola Scriptura

#34 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:06:57 PM

Elder wrote:

You beat me to it. Laughing out loudly

...and directed it to Central Kenya...
milken
#35 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 12:46:00 PM

If the stone fell in my plot, can I keep it. Wapi lawyers to elaborate on ownership by finding?
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
#36 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 1:50:09 PM

LMAO!!! wah, you've cracked me up there
#37 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:07:30 PM

Lol.

Laughing out loudly hajui kama ziko au haziko.
#38 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:11:44 PM

Lol.

#39 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:13:48 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

I still don't understand why the military chap was holding the stone using a Tusky's paper bag...d'oh!

Original meteorite must have been much larger before entering the earth's atmosphere where a good chunk burned up due to intense air friction (in fact this intense heat was what caused the shuttle Discovery to disintegrate in mid-air as it re-entered teh earth's atmosphere).
The documentaries I have seen after being charged exorbitantly by dstv say the burning meteors produce all sorts of noises (rumbling, explosion-like as was this particular one, etc) due to the loud sonic booms prodcued by the meteor travelling at extremely high velocities (Mach+).

@yesuwangu, Luke 17:29 says 'But the day Lot left Sodom,fire and sulfur rained down from heaven and destroyed them all' and IMHO, I think these were meteorites.

wewe @ Intelligensia tutakupeleka Helicopter for prayers !!!Pray Pray
#40 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:29:18 PM

Lol.

Yuko katikati ya meteorite the planet Earth.
He hopes to pitia katikati and not get crushed.