wazua Sun, Apr 19, 2026

10 Pages«<23456>»
GMO Ugali
B.Timer
#31 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2011 1:10:21 PM

@Mburuke

I agree with you!!!

Your explanation is quite informative and comprehensive.

It must break your heart that even after providing such info to a community as enlightened as Wazua's there seems to be too much knee jerk reaction type of dismissal!

For me the question should be what do the experts in the field think.

Nedicine and its development borrows from this technology!

Some arguments here border on the arguments advanced by the sects that advocate for not going to Hospital in order not to annoy God!

@ Mcreggae
Kudos for being objective
Dunia ni msongamano..
#32 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2011 2:16:06 PM

There is non-GMO maize readily available in Tanzania, Zambia etc. It's not like we have to choose between the GMO maize and starving to death! Why the pressure and urgency to import the GMO maize? Is it already at the port and the culprits just want to make everything official? As @user is asking, who is pushing this GMO importation? Who is set to benefit? I know the son of one of the so called principals ate the Ruto maize thoroughly. Having tasted maize money, might he be involved?

Remember the aflatoxin maize they wanted to feed us on the last time. It was battle royal as they were insisting on getting the maize in. If I'm not wrong, it is Beth Mugo who saved us that time. This time round she is facing the same cartel. I hope she comes out on top!

I say, import non-GMO maize because it is available. Give this GMO debate and/or research a few years we see what comes out of it. We are not guinea pigs and we have other options. Let's not behave like it's only GMO maize that is available!!!!
#33 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:01:08 PM

I dont think there is anything wrong with clever people doing their thing in the laboratories and coming up with GMOs in so far as plants only are concerned. I dont think GMOs are against God.

For in the garden of Eden, after God created man, he told them, 'I give you every seed bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.' So you see we were supposed and created to be vegetarian. Earlier, God had said 'Let us make man in our image....to rule...... over all the earth....and subdue it.'

As far as Monsanto goes with its genetic work with plants, food for man, is so far beneficial and certainly not contrary to God and His provisions. There is nothing wrong with enhancing food (seed bearing plants as the original diet) production through genetic modification. Man is the epitome of Gods creation and all this simply goes to show how great the creator of this man is. That the created can do all these improvements and adjustments and modifications with what he was given, how much more now the creator?

However, the rubber meets the road when fellow man will be at the mercy of fellow man as far as food (seed bearing plants as the original diet) is concerned. Genetic modification is not being done so that it is given away freely. It will have to be paid for.

Someone is going to demand a lot of compensation for this. Many people are not going to afford it and the good intentions of GMOs might be lost.
murenj
#34 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:14:40 PM

this rminds me about the history of surgery.....people could not understand how the process of cutting up a human being could rid him of a disease...........folks resisted immunisation untill a member of the royal family recieved a jab publicly...........motor vehicles were vehemently opposed by the general public of the time....preachers went around praching that Elijah went to heaven on a charriot and not a smoke bellowing behemoth.........

Nedless to say, technology prevailed..........GMOs are here to stay...........
B.Timer
#35 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:22:41 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Say No to monsanto et al.

The PM appeared on Telly yesterday giving GMO foods a clean bill of health.

In what appeared as an ODM strategy, Mudavadi also vouched for GMO.
For this I salute the two leaders insofar as this matter is concerned.

From now on, we will see lots of softening of hearts towards 'GMO ugali'!!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#36 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 2:16:11 PM

B.Timer wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Read post #32 and post #30. I think a pattern is emerging here.
#37 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 3:44:56 PM

I love wazua. It provokes thoughtsmile
mjuaji wa stocks
#38 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 11:19:57 PM

B.Timer wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

YOU ARE WRITING REFERING TO RAO AS IF HE IS A GMO SCIENTIST!!!!

OR AS IF HE WILL BE AMONG THOSE WHO ARE GOING TO CONSUME ....... NKTEST!

NATAKA KUNIAMBIA ETI COZ RAO AMESEMA BASI NI TOSHA??

THINK THINK THINK!!

AS SOMEONE HAS SAID .... WHY PUSH FOR GMOS WHEREAS KUNA MAIZE FROM MALAWI NA ZAMBIA??????

I THINK MOST OF US ARE WRITING FROM IGNORANCE ..... FIND OUT HOW MONSANTO & BIG ELITES ARE PUSHING THIS GMO WORLDWIDE AND AGAIN I SAY GOOGLE GMO FOOD CONTRAVERSIES!!

GOOGLE GMOS IN INDIA ...... AND SEE HOW MONSANTO TRICKED FARMERS WHO THEN ENDED COMMITING SUICIDE BECAUSE OF POOR YIELDS FROM GMO SEEDS AND INABILITY TO PAY BACK LOANS.

LAKINI KWA KWELI ... SIKIO LA KUFA HALISIKII DAWA ..... THAT I KNOW VERY WELL ...

AND I SEE THAT FOR SURE AFRICANS HAVE A VERY SMALL IQ...

I THEREFORE LEAVE IT TO YOU TO DECIDE TO BUY OR NOT ..... A

AS FOR ME AND MY HOUSE ..... GMOS AND THEIR PRODUCTS ..... NEVER EVER!!!!

LET THEM BE LABELED ..... THEN WE WILL MAKE A CHOICE@@
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Sasha
#39 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:50:14 AM

Very interesting! A lot of misinformation flying around here!

I'm usually averse to engaging in discourse about genetic engineering because people, as is evident here, tend to base their arguments on unfounded fears! It is human scourge known as Fear of the Unknown!

Mburuke has tried to give a qualified scientific opinion yet people are who are not scientist are quick to bash him! Kudos Mburuke for giving it a try! For the record, I'm neither for or against GMOs. I am however certain that they are a necessity and we will not survive without them in the long run!

Please realise that this debate is not really about the safety/health of the food but rather about corporate survival. Think about it: If we can make plants that do not require fertilisers, pesticides and other additives, the Bayer's, GSKs, Syngentas and BASFs go burst! I can bet that most of the propaganda about GMOs is funded by these conglomerates!

We can throw our toys out of the pram screaming but the fact of the matter is that we have been eating GM foods for a very long time already!
#40 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:13:53 AM

Yes Sasha. We do eat them. One side wants to get all goodies after monopolising crop production using an upper edge. The other side would prefer competition. I think variety is good especially if the consumers have leeway to exercise choice.

There are some sweet, bright orange oranges being sold in the streets today. I dont know if they are GMOs or not because they are not labelled. And the sad part is that they dont have seeds so no one else can plant them. If anyone wants them, they will have to buy them from the source. That irritates.

But labeling is good. After spending all the energy and funds and time researching surely a tiny label cannot be the impossible final thing.
10 Pages«<23456>»