wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
GMO Ugali
mburuke
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:14:25 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Forget it, no one wants to help miros ease their hunger issues.
And it is a fact that the long term effects of GMOs have NOT been conclusively established.
Ati Monsanto? Mimi anaogopa hao.
Recall the 'terminator' gene brouhaha. In the 3rd world, farmers grow maize, eat some of it when it matures and retain some for planting in the next season. But monsanto wanted a situation where today you plant a maize seed but the maize that comes from that crop CANNOT germinate thereafter because the gene for germination has been 'terminated' or 'neutered'. This means 3rd world farmers would keep running to the US bio-tech giant Monsanto for more seeds each season and thus the corp. would keep reaping handsome profits in the process. This is evil incarnate, disrupting global food chains for billions of people established over centuries, and subjecting billions who can barely afford anything to cold-hearted logic of capitalism just so that some huge giant can churn our profits because thats all they are interested in: topline and bottom line.

True and like i said monsato is in the business of making profiti just like any other company. The terminator genes were a case of monsato and are not a trpical feature in all gm products just like safcoms lock its handsets to protect its market share this does not mean than mobile phones or the technology is bad. Like i said lets generate our own gm product that solve the challenges we are facing and forget about the multinationals.The problems is that we have very many people claiming to be experts in this field and clearly they have no idea what the field is all about.
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
mburuke
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:17:29 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

But monsanto wanted a situation where today you plant a maize seed but the maize that comes from that crop CANNOT germinate thereafter

I thought this was the case with the seeds our farmers currently use!!

our farmers use what we call hybrid seeds they are not gm product but even with them if u replant them you will get poor yield. This is purely a biological case it has nothing to do with GM technology
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:21:31 PM

One thing I know is that our Creator made everything in perfect architectural mix.

any attempt to reengineer Gods creation make up will always backfire.

A tomatoe shoe be left to remain a tomatoe not a Pig tomatoe.Sad Sad
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
mjuaji wa stocks
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:31:07 PM

mburuke wrote:
mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
mburuke wrote:
@USER if that was the case then how comes we are yet to see kenyans growing feathers,horns or tails despite our attchment to kuku and nyama choma. the one thing we have to understand is that we do not eat genes our digestive systems only sees carbohydrates, vitamins, protein and the likes not genes! and upon digestion the said products are broken down to produce energy for the body. You body does not care wheather u eat ugali, chapati, githeri etc these are all broken down to carbon in the end to generate enrgy. Having said that DNA either from plants or animals is the same wheather it comes from pigs (incidentally it used to make the insulin used for diabetes patients), cows, maiz,e sorghum bacteria it is the same.
@ majimaji GM (GENETIC MODIFICATION)is aimed at imparting some traits to the plant. Naturally this occurs through fertilization and thats why you borrow some characteristics from your father and mother. However for this to occur the two species must be sexually compatible and thats why a dog and cat cant transfer traits among themselves since they cant mate. GM now offers an alternative where it is possible to transfer this traits among species that are not related or sexually compatible. It depends on what characteristics you may want to introduce. There is no ambiquity in this process since only a particular gene of interest will be introduced and assayed for in this whole process. Thus like the case of what the minister is talking about the gm maize has been modified to be resistant to a maize pest which means the farmer will not be required to spray the crop hence less inputs required. by doing so you have put the pestcides manufacturers (who are from europe) out of business and thus they will fight to ensure that their marketshare is not taken. The battle surrounding GM debate is a trade issues we are only being used as pawns in this. So when we hear of GM crop the first thing we should ask is which characeristics have been introduced and are they benefecial.Some gm plants are pest resistance and disease resistance others like soybeanare used to make the now popular liquid cooking oil in our supermarket that has less saturated fatts and is chorestrol free! The GM crop once grown can be able to cross pollinate to other related crops and transfer the said traits in this case if the maize has pest resistance it may be possible to pollinate with other maize crops and impart that characteristic (which is a good thing).
@elder gm cannot result in crop failures infact u need it to preceise develop crops that are drought tolerant. let me give u an example. All the charracteristics we have either color, yield, height everything are coded by a particular gene (they do not occur randomly), sorghum is known to be more drought resistant than other crops eg maize. if the genes responsible for drought torelance in sorghum were identified (and they have) then using gm technology this genes sourced form sorghum can be transfered to maize and consequently have the maize growing well in area such as ukambani. This cannot happen through fertilization since maize and sorghum cannot cross pollinnate. habari ndiyo hiyo

YOU MUST BE A MONSANTO EMPLOYEEE!!

TAKE THIS TO THE BIRDS!

NO TO GMOS WHICH A RE BASICALLY ARE POPULATION CONTROL STICK!

MUTUTHO SAID IT ALL ---- JUST GOOGLE GMOS AND YOU WILL SEE CONTRAVERSIES SORROUNDING THESE FOODS.

THE REASON AS TO WHY AFRICA IS BEING AN EASY TARGET IS BECAUSE OF OUR IGNORNACE!!

NO TO GMOS!

I will not dignify this with a response. however for the record am not an employee and keep ur arguments factual!i pity your IGNORANCE!Ikiwa haujui kitu uliza uwelezewe. For ur information the maize used for making popcorn is GM or taking antibiotics and vaccines all this are products of GM technology

OK.

KEEP ON ARGUING ------ BUT TO ME YOU WILL NEVER MAKE SENSE.

FOR ANTIBIOTICS THT IS A DIFFERENT STORY ALTOGETHER .. ..

IF ALL COMPLAINS INCLUDING THIS RESEARCH

http://www.sodahead.com/...shows/question-1870989/

IS IGNORANCE THEN I BETTER BE IGNORANT!!

IF ALL IS WELL WITH GMOS ................ WHY DOES MONSANTO CAMPAIGN THAT FOOD CONTAINING GMOS SHOULD NOT BE LABELLED.

APPARENTLY YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE IN THIS FORUM SO MUCH TALKING ON BEHALF OF MONSANTO AND IGNORE FACTS .......

SO WHO IS IGNORANT BETWEEN THE TWO OF US???

BOSS BUY GMO FOOD NA UPELEKE KWAKO NYUMBANI NA UNYAMZIE HAPO!!

SORRY ----- I DONT LIKE PUTTING SENSE TO PEOPLE WHO CANT SENSE!

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#25 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:31:26 PM

'user' wrote:
One thing I know is that our Creator made everything in perfect architectural mix.

any attempt to reengineer Gods creation make up will always backfire.

A tomatoe shoe be left to remain a tomatoe not a Pig tomatoe.Sad Sad

......if man left everything the way God created it.....mmmmhh, let me not imagine!!!!
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:40:27 PM

The truth of the matter is that no one knows the long term effects of GMOs. The "extensive studies" @mburuke is talking about are more often than not financed by interested parties [people/organizations that are set to benefit from the industry] and the findings are always rigged. For how many years were people told that there was nothing in cigarettes to make them addictive? Wasn't all this backed by "research findings". Years later, insiders testified that all along insiders knew exactly what makes cigarettes addictive and their proposals to do something about it to make them less addictive were met by resistance of the highest degree!!!

@mburuke - Don't kid yourself. I know you directly benefit from the GMO industry but lets be real!

Click on the link below to see how big industry works:

Extensive Research My Foot!!!
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:41:35 PM

A mule is infertile why , because of interspecies breeding. We are just heading to mule men.
BK .

Eat Gmo at your own peril.

Kupanda utashindwa , na utalia sana ikikataa kusimama.

Imagine airport iko tayari na plane ime kataa to land.Utalia.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
mjuaji wa stocks
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 5:00:51 PM

The truth of the matter is that no one knows the long term effects of GMOs. The "extensive studies" @mburuke is talking about are more often than not financed by interested parties [people/organizations that are set to benefit from the industry] and the findings are always rigged. For how many years were people told that there was nothing in cigarettes to make them addictive? Wasn't all this backed by "research findings". Years later, insiders testified that all along insiders knew exactly what makes cigarettes addictive and their proposals to do something about it to make them less addictive were met by resistance of the highest degree!!!

@mburuke - Don't kid yourself. I know you directly benefit from the GMO industry but lets be real!

Click on the link below to see how big industry works:

Extensive Research My Foot!!!

HAPO UMENENA KAKA!!

THIS MBURUKE GUY ----- WHAT A NAME!

DO NOT FORGET THE GMOS ARE PATENTED BY MONSANTO AND FEW OTHER COMPANIES ASSOCIATED WITH IT!!

NO INDEPENDENT RESEARCH ON GMOS IS ALLOWED!

DO NOT FORGET THAT THE SAME GUYS FRONTING GMOS ARE THEMSELVES BUYING ORGANIC FOODS albeit usiku wa manane....

GO TO THE SUPER MARKETs IN THE DEVELOPED WORLD AND SEE COST OF ORGANIC FOOD..... HIGH ON THE ROOF

KAWAIDA MWANANCHI CANT AFFORD KWA URAHISI .....IT IS A RESERVE FOR A FEW ELITES ....

THE SAYING GOES ----- LET THE MASSES EAT THEMSELVES TO DEATH.....

AND HERE COMES MBURUKE......

WHAT A JOKE...

I NOW UNDERSTAND WHY ONLY AFEW PEOPLE LIVE LONGER ... MANY DIE YOUNG!

AND WHY IT IS EASY TO GET ALONG AND GET YOUR WAY THROUGH WHEN YOU MAKE THE MASSES THINK YOU CARE FOR THEM!!

FOR SURE WHEN PEOPLE THINK IN MASSES ---- THEY BECOME FOOLS .... THINK FOOLISHLY .... MAKE FOOLISH CHOICES ..... COMPLAIN LATER ON .... FOOLISHLY!!

NOT ME!!

GOOGLE THE CONTRAVERSY SORROUNDING GMO FOODS WORLD WIDE BEFORE YOU POST YOUR IGNORANCE!!

SOME RECENT COMPLAINS HAVE SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE DONE AGAINST THE WILL OF MONSANTO.....

HAPA IKO KITU!

BY RAISING YOUR HANDS UP .... BY THE SHOW OF HANDS ...... LET ME SEE THOSE WHO SAY .....

I WILL WALK TO THE SUPER MARKET AND WILL BUY ANYTHING WITH THE LABELS --- GMOS FOOD.....

IN CANADA; A DEVELOPED COUNTRY; CITIZENS ARE FIGHTING FOR LABELING TO BE INCLUDED IN GMO FOODS.....

MONSANTO INAKATAA!!!

KUNA NINI??? ----- HERE IN AFRICA .... KILA KITU NI NDIO .....

KWANI WAZUNGUS COLONIZED EVEN OUR THINKING ...... HATA ILE YA KUZALIWA HAKUNA???

NIPE NAFASI!!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#29 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 5:46:11 PM

mburuke wrote:
@elder gm cannot result in crop failures infact u need it to preceise develop crops that are drought tolerant. let me give u an example. All the charracteristics we have either color, yield, height everything are coded by a particular gene (they do not occur randomly), sorghum is known to be more drought resistant than other crops eg maize. if the genes responsible for drought torelance in sorghum were identified (and they have) then using gm technology this genes sourced form sorghum can be transfered to maize and consequently have the maize growing well in area such as ukambani. This cannot happen through fertilization since maize and sorghum cannot cross pollinnate. habari ndiyo hiyo

Intelligentsia has already beaten me to it;

Intelligentsia wrote:

Forget it, no one wants to help miros ease their hunger issues.
And it is a fact that the long term effects of GMOs have NOT been conclusively established.
Ati Monsanto? Mimi anaogopa hao.
Recall the 'terminator' gene brouhaha. In the 3rd world, farmers grow maize, eat some of it when it matures and retain some for planting in the next season. But monsanto wanted a situation where today you plant a maize seed but the maize that comes from that crop CANNOT germinate thereafter because the gene for germination has been 'terminated' or 'neutered'. This means 3rd world farmers would keep running to the US bio-tech giant Monsanto for more seeds each season and thus the corp. would keep reaping handsome profits in the process. This is evil incarnate, disrupting global food chains for billions of people established over centuries, and subjecting billions who can barely afford anything to cold-hearted logic of capitalism just so that some huge giant can churn our profits because thats all they are interested in: topline and bottom line.

If maybe you actually read my post and gave it a bit of thought you would have realised that your response was unnecessary and did not address my point.

And you completely missed out my point about need for good planning and education .

What do you think would happen when most of Kenyans who grow maize for subsistence (or any other uninformed Kenyan farmer) are not aware or cannot tell that the maize seeds they are re-planting have Genetic Use Restriction Technology? Crop failures? Famine?
#30 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2011 9:05:34 AM

GMO has been associated with impotence .I'm still wondering who is selling our future(of course the future between our legsAnxious Anxious ).
Who is this pushing for the GMOs to be brought into the country?

Beth Mugo has said that there was no cabinet agreement on the importation of GMO .The issue was not discussed in the cabinet meeting .

I have noted with a closer analysis that PNU Mpgs(mugo , Mututho , the kirinyaga construction company Mp cant remember his name) are against the importation . No ODM MP has talked about it.
(Some wazua ODM supporters are for the GMOs)

Should I read between the lines?

B.Timer
#31 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2011 1:10:21 PM

@Mburuke

I agree with you!!!

Your explanation is quite informative and comprehensive.

It must break your heart that even after providing such info to a community as enlightened as Wazua's there seems to be too much knee jerk reaction type of dismissal!

For me the question should be what do the experts in the field think.

Nedicine and its development borrows from this technology!

Some arguments here border on the arguments advanced by the sects that advocate for not going to Hospital in order not to annoy God!

@ Mcreggae
Kudos for being objective
Dunia ni msongamano..
#32 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2011 2:16:06 PM

There is non-GMO maize readily available in Tanzania, Zambia etc. It's not like we have to choose between the GMO maize and starving to death! Why the pressure and urgency to import the GMO maize? Is it already at the port and the culprits just want to make everything official? As @user is asking, who is pushing this GMO importation? Who is set to benefit? I know the son of one of the so called principals ate the Ruto maize thoroughly. Having tasted maize money, might he be involved?

Remember the aflatoxin maize they wanted to feed us on the last time. It was battle royal as they were insisting on getting the maize in. If I'm not wrong, it is Beth Mugo who saved us that time. This time round she is facing the same cartel. I hope she comes out on top!

I say, import non-GMO maize because it is available. Give this GMO debate and/or research a few years we see what comes out of it. We are not guinea pigs and we have other options. Let's not behave like it's only GMO maize that is available!!!!
#33 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:01:08 PM

I dont think there is anything wrong with clever people doing their thing in the laboratories and coming up with GMOs in so far as plants only are concerned. I dont think GMOs are against God.

For in the garden of Eden, after God created man, he told them, 'I give you every seed bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.' So you see we were supposed and created to be vegetarian. Earlier, God had said 'Let us make man in our image....to rule...... over all the earth....and subdue it.'

As far as Monsanto goes with its genetic work with plants, food for man, is so far beneficial and certainly not contrary to God and His provisions. There is nothing wrong with enhancing food (seed bearing plants as the original diet) production through genetic modification. Man is the epitome of Gods creation and all this simply goes to show how great the creator of this man is. That the created can do all these improvements and adjustments and modifications with what he was given, how much more now the creator?

However, the rubber meets the road when fellow man will be at the mercy of fellow man as far as food (seed bearing plants as the original diet) is concerned. Genetic modification is not being done so that it is given away freely. It will have to be paid for.

Someone is going to demand a lot of compensation for this. Many people are not going to afford it and the good intentions of GMOs might be lost.
murenj
#34 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:14:40 PM

this rminds me about the history of surgery.....people could not understand how the process of cutting up a human being could rid him of a disease...........folks resisted immunisation untill a member of the royal family recieved a jab publicly...........motor vehicles were vehemently opposed by the general public of the time....preachers went around praching that Elijah went to heaven on a charriot and not a smoke bellowing behemoth.........

Nedless to say, technology prevailed..........GMOs are here to stay...........
B.Timer
#35 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:22:41 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Say No to monsanto et al.

The PM appeared on Telly yesterday giving GMO foods a clean bill of health.

In what appeared as an ODM strategy, Mudavadi also vouched for GMO.
For this I salute the two leaders insofar as this matter is concerned.

From now on, we will see lots of softening of hearts towards 'GMO ugali'!!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#36 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 2:16:11 PM

B.Timer wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Read post #32 and post #30. I think a pattern is emerging here.
#37 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 3:44:56 PM

I love wazua. It provokes thoughtsmile
mjuaji wa stocks
#38 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 11:19:57 PM

B.Timer wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
majimaji wrote:

YOU ARE WRITING REFERING TO RAO AS IF HE IS A GMO SCIENTIST!!!!

OR AS IF HE WILL BE AMONG THOSE WHO ARE GOING TO CONSUME ....... NKTEST!

NATAKA KUNIAMBIA ETI COZ RAO AMESEMA BASI NI TOSHA??

THINK THINK THINK!!

AS SOMEONE HAS SAID .... WHY PUSH FOR GMOS WHEREAS KUNA MAIZE FROM MALAWI NA ZAMBIA??????

I THINK MOST OF US ARE WRITING FROM IGNORANCE ..... FIND OUT HOW MONSANTO & BIG ELITES ARE PUSHING THIS GMO WORLDWIDE AND AGAIN I SAY GOOGLE GMO FOOD CONTRAVERSIES!!

GOOGLE GMOS IN INDIA ...... AND SEE HOW MONSANTO TRICKED FARMERS WHO THEN ENDED COMMITING SUICIDE BECAUSE OF POOR YIELDS FROM GMO SEEDS AND INABILITY TO PAY BACK LOANS.

LAKINI KWA KWELI ... SIKIO LA KUFA HALISIKII DAWA ..... THAT I KNOW VERY WELL ...

AND I SEE THAT FOR SURE AFRICANS HAVE A VERY SMALL IQ...

I THEREFORE LEAVE IT TO YOU TO DECIDE TO BUY OR NOT ..... A

AS FOR ME AND MY HOUSE ..... GMOS AND THEIR PRODUCTS ..... NEVER EVER!!!!

LET THEM BE LABELED ..... THEN WE WILL MAKE A CHOICE@@

Sasha
#39 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 8:50:14 AM

Very interesting! A lot of misinformation flying around here!

I'm usually averse to engaging in discourse about genetic engineering because people, as is evident here, tend to base their arguments on unfounded fears! It is human scourge known as Fear of the Unknown!

Mburuke has tried to give a qualified scientific opinion yet people are who are not scientist are quick to bash him! Kudos Mburuke for giving it a try! For the record, I'm neither for or against GMOs. I am however certain that they are a necessity and we will not survive without them in the long run!

Please realise that this debate is not really about the safety/health of the food but rather about corporate survival. Think about it: If we can make plants that do not require fertilisers, pesticides and other additives, the Bayer's, GSKs, Syngentas and BASFs go burst! I can bet that most of the propaganda about GMOs is funded by these conglomerates!

We can throw our toys out of the pram screaming but the fact of the matter is that we have been eating GM foods for a very long time already!
#40 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:13:53 AM

Yes Sasha. We do eat them. One side wants to get all goodies after monopolising crop production using an upper edge. The other side would prefer competition. I think variety is good especially if the consumers have leeway to exercise choice.

There are some sweet, bright orange oranges being sold in the streets today. I dont know if they are GMOs or not because they are not labelled. And the sad part is that they dont have seeds so no one else can plant them. If anyone wants them, they will have to buy them from the source. That irritates.

But labeling is good. After spending all the energy and funds and time researching surely a tiny label cannot be the impossible final thing.