Health
Getrudes Child Hospital
McReggae wrote:Any reviews on Dr. Cecilia Wamanda of Nairobi Hospital, doctor's plaza??? .....Kwani no reviews here???? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
do people still go to getrudes hospital????? i stopped when i realized they are never going to help my son. the GP are all trainees and under 30 years and they really dont give a hoot about the childs health. Please try Dr.Wafula at agha khan doctors plaza and all your problems are sorted
bintoria wrote:do people still go to getrudes hospital????? i stopped when i realized they are never going to help my son. the GP are all trainees and under 30 years and they really dont give a hoot about the childs health. Please try Dr.Wafula at agha khan doctors plaza and all your problems are sorted Hey, you visit Dr Wafula too!i used to when i was in Nairobi .He is a great gentleman,taught me a thing or two when i wasa new mum and would rush to see him every time baby had a fever. “You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.”
― Anne Lamott
Cardinal wrote:It happened once,someone got circumcised the wrong way just because someone who did it wasnt qualified @ Cardinal.. How is that possible... can you draw a diagram? So what happened, did the correct it... This is scary esp since ams sposd to take jnr for the snip snip..
@all.
thanks alot for the advice. my kids will see getrudes through signboards.
my daughter is okay at home, quite lively and even missing going back to school.
Immediately after my girl was diagnosised i passed there and saw the doc ( a 25yld or thereabout)(at Getrudes) who was supplying me with antibiotics and after sharing, she was eager i take chest x.rays to her to see(read to learn). previously, i had a presecribed injection which i had purchased and all that i required is one of the nurses to inject my girl = charges, if cash sh 900 or medical scheme sh 1,100 consultation + sh 900 za zindano.
long live wazua
Pablo wrote:Interesting Just today a close friend of mine was complaining about getrude embakassi where he went at 10.30am with a sick child. He was not attended to till 3pm and was another hour and a half before he got his medicine.
He said never again will he go there. Personally I stopped taking my girls there early last year. I can get the same poor service for free.
@RobinHood where exactly is this Dr. Kaburu? Pablo, his clinic is just next to Moi educational centre's main gate. You access it from Tusker T-mall junction. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/13/2011 Posts: 63 Location: njokishk
mothers and fathers don't let Gertrude's send our lovely kids to graves,thank you Wazuans for your testimonies, i have learned Gertrude's are not a hospitals but grave yards.
klan wrote:on this note, when is it ideal to have chicken pox immunization? Chicken pox infection in children is usually self limiting.It is not worth the cost. The vaccine also has an undue effect of shifting the herd immunity and to older kids who can suffer from the condition and can also affect the elderly whose immunity toward chicken pox has waned.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 286 Location: Nairobi
I agree that the level of attention and care our kids get in Gertrudes Hospital is a shame. For nearly 6 months, l went to Gertrudes Hospital because my daughter had this persistently blocked nose that just couldnt clear. Getrudes finally recommended an operation. I decided to seek a asecond opinion at Doctors Plaza in Nairobi Hospital, and after three weeks of tests they insisted an operation was the way to go. We went ahead and book for the operation. Then a friend insisted we visit Prof. Wafula of KNH Doctors Plaza! You wont believe what happened. We got there at 6pm, as the operation was meant for the following day. The Prof told us there was NO need for a operation; that the blocked nose was caused by a blocked vein between the nose and the eyes and that ALL we needed to do, was to keep stroking the noise upwards, until she sheds tears. No medication, no medication, no medication! After three weeks, the blockage was gone; till today. And that was three years ago. The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
We are all condemming Getrudes hospital for poor services.But does anyone write to them a complain.I know I have.Lets face the reality,what would you do if your child develops a very high fever at 2am? wouldn't you rush to Getrudes hospital whether you have a private doctor or not? We need to learn to challenge the doctors when we feel they are not treating our kids right. Hope is not a strategy
Looking through this thread is very saddening. Every so often in Wazua there always comes a thread of which doctor and which hospital is the worst and the 2 areas that are usually covered are obstetrics and peadiatric services. The concerns are obvious this being very critical times to the 2 critical members of all family units. Let me try and add some objectivity to this thread. When patients pay out of pocket they want to spend the least they can. Patients with insurance cover usually paid for by the employer have the assumption that money is not an issue. Hospitals have to keep cost down to make a profit Medical technology is rapidly expanding and is not cheap and hospitals are unfortunately judged by the equipment and the ability of services they can perform Insurance companies are also in the business of making a profit and negotiate the lowest cost they can for all this hi tech services that hospitals are able to offer. Medicines and trade names are also growing and there are medical reps busy pushing hospitals, pharmacist and using underhand tactics to get their medicines to the market and hence you hear rumours of Zinnat being banned when zinnat is the initial brand that the drug cefuroxime was traded as by the company that created and tested the molecule. Babies do not get better immediately. Infections take a while to clear and the child also builds immunity to all this infections as they grow. The cause of the infection sad to say is usually the concerned parent or he househelp. This is a fact since most babies have limited contact with the outside world. If the child is having diarrhoea or have rotavirus the person feeding the child is the one that infected the child. Disease progression takes time. If you present to a doctor with upper respiratory tract infection (Include tonsillitis and pharyngitis) and subsequently develop pneumonia that is the progression of the disease. It is not a misdiagnosis! Doctors are so scared of malpractice suits that they now prefer to use protocols from UK US and europe that are very expensive and rely less on their clinical knowledge. That is why every time a patient presents you have a barrage of test instead of relying on clinical acumen.
Now with all this factors competing against each other it is very difficult to get objective statements from wazuans without knowing where they are coming from and just like the investor section everything said here should be taken with a pinch of salt. You might prefer a Doctor using latest and expensive protocols since you have insurance or you might prefer a doctor who uses clinical acumen because paying out of pocket is very expensive and the list goes on and on. There is no perfect doctor for all wazuans and my advice is prevention is better than cure. How did your child get diarrhoea? how did they get that pneumonia infection? Simple things like washing your hands often has shown to reduce incidence of both this diseases. How many people tell their house helps to wash their hands not only after using the loo but every so often. Vaccinations against rotavirus and streptococcus pneumoniae are available have your children been vaccinated? I understand and I do know there are some bad doctors out there but blaming all getrude clinics, all paediatricians doesn't help and is not objective. Take all advice with a pinch of salt!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/13/2011 Posts: 63 Location: njokishk
@ Burning Spear, thank you for your advise, my daughter keeps on coughing now and then and i think it's time for me now to try the Vitamin A Caps. Thanks again
Burning Spear wrote:all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. Thank you Daktari. However,how can Doctors remember when some will want to keep patients coming in order to earn revenue not only their own but also for the hospital. Remember when you have a medical/insurance cover you can be billed as much as three times the cost for the same drugs and lab investigations as someone paying cash!!! Talk of "killing the goose that lay the golden egg". But its unethical "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
Burning Spear wrote:all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. Ama wanunua Mumias fortified Sugar. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Burning Spear wrote:all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. The problem with Wazua is this faceless interactions with people who do not face the responsibility of their actions. The dose you just adviced middle and upper class parents to give is what is recommended by WHO for children in high risk group. High risk group is children who suffer and are at risk of suffering from vitamin a deficiency due to poor diet imagine dadaab camp. 200,000 IU of vitamin A every 6 months can cause chronic hypervitaminosis A in children and more so to children of these middle and upper class who already have other sources of vitamin A and have adequate stores. Vitamin A is lipid soluble and will be stored in the body and can cause increased intracranial pressure. To add insult to injury you havent said what age group. What happens when you give a 6 month old 4 times the recommended doses (50,000 IU) of high level supplementation?? Mind you the 50000 is already a lot for well fed kids! That can cause acute hypervitaminosis A. Advice should always be taken with a pinch of salt!
I am liking this!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
tony stark wrote:[quote=Burning Spear]all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. ....... 200,000 IU of vitamin A every 6 months can cause chronic hypervitaminosis A in children and more so to children of these middle and upper class who already have other sources of vitamin A and have adequate stores. ...... To add insult to injury you havent said what age group. What happens when you give a 6 month old 4 times the recommended doses (50,000 IU) of high level supplementation?? Mind you the 50000 is already a lot for well fed kids! That can cause acute hypervitaminosis A. Advice should always be taken with a pinch of salt![/quote] Including this one above? You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
tony stark wrote:Burning Spear wrote:all wazuans here who have kids with frequent ailments,homa kila saa,please pass by a drug store (pharmacy) and buy Vitamin A caps 200,000 IU and give them.just one cap is enough for one kid to suck and remember to replenish after every six months.those flu and flue like ailments will not get your children.This is one thing doctors forget giving their customers and it could be the answer to those frequent ailments. The problem with Wazua is this faceless interactions with people who do not face the responsibility of their actions. The dose you just adviced middle and upper class parents to give is what is recommended by WHO for children in high risk group. High risk group is children who suffer and are at risk of suffering from vitamin a deficiency due to poor diet imagine dadaab camp. 200,000 IU of vitamin A every 6 months can cause chronic hypervitaminosis A in children and more so to children of these middle and upper class who already have other sources of vitamin A and have adequate stores. Vitamin A is lipid soluble and will be stored in the body and can cause increased intracranial pressure. To add insult to injury you havent said what age group. What happens when you give a 6 month old 4 times the recommended doses (50,000 IU) of high level supplementation?? Mind you the 50000 is already a lot for well fed kids! That can cause acute hypervitaminosis A. Advice should always be taken with a pinch of salt! While its good to critic,please note it is not good to cause alarm on issues that can cause public anxiety.Some of the information you have raised on hypervitaminosis (excess Vitamin A) arise out of the written literature by medical officers and manufaturers of such suppliemnts.In reality,such information is considered conservative to avoid medico-legal issues should anything happen.A good example is when health experts warn that one can get HIV by fingering a girl with cuts yet there is no case that have ever been reported to have resulted in transmiss ion worldwide for over 30 years of HIV or even kissing. Back to Vitamin A usage.Here below is the revised recommended prophylactic dosage based on age. 6-11 months – one doze of 100,000 IU 1-5 years - 200,000 IU/6 months Every infant 6-11 months and kids one to five years should get repeat doses every 6 months. The dosage is ok especially to all third word countries nad cannot cause hypervitaminosis. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Burning Spear wrote:I do not really know where you people are getting information on banned products.
There was a list of the medicines that have been banned in other countries but were still in use in Kenya that was circulated by one of our medical providers.... I will look for it and post here... that's where i got my information. and may i add it was a "reputable" medical institution. Am not saying they were right, but they did send to us.
Health
Getrudes Child Hospital