wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages123>»
GMO Ugali
majimaji
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 9:36:42 AM

There is conflicting media positions on GMO foods.

Government says we shall be eating GMO ugali soon but don't you dare plant GMO Maize.

To me that's a major contradiction.

Where in the world is GMO food allowed and has it sickened people?
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 9:47:27 AM

Ati Mututho says that the GMO ugali was once fed to some panya in Viena and they stopped giving birth.
So eat this GMO thing if you are sure you dont need to land anymore.
I will be changing my eating habit and start sampling mashed ngwaci and steamed sorghum.

#3 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 9:55:34 AM

majimaji wrote:

There is conflicting media positions on GMO foods.

Government says we shall be eating GMO ugali soon but don't you dare plant GMO Maize.

To me that's a major contradiction.

Where in the world is GMO food allowed and has it sickened people?

why is it not consumed at places where it is grown?

dont worry guys the genetic engineers needs human samples for the gmo tests and a perfect opportunity presented itself...

mburuke
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 10:30:48 AM

GM maize is not harmaful and this is is a fact.Extensive studies have been carried out and the technology has been shown to be safe. For ur informarion all the antibiotics and the vaccines (including insulin are GMOs) but we seem not to be bothered. The debate about GMOS is not factual rather its about appealing to peoples emotions and fears. Gm products are being eaten in the USA, CANADA, Brazil and even south africa. So the aurgument that we are being used as guinea pig is not valid. am involved in the development of GMOs right here in kenya so when the mimister says that we lack th capability to test the technology hhere in kenya its dishheartening.@impunity even sorghum is being modified. The sooner we realise that its not about if we will adopt the GM its a matter of when we will. Arable land is decreasing, population is growing not to mention the effects of global warming! Ask mututho if he carries his own food when he goes to america all the corn and wheat also the liquid oil is gm generated and no harm has been reported. Its is safe its time kenyans listen to the experts not the so called politicians.
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
majimaji
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 11:31:00 AM

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 11:36:55 AM

Ati Mututho says that the GMO ugali was once fed to some panya in Viena and they stopped giving birth.
So eat this GMO thing if you are sure you dont need to land anymore.
I will be changing my eating habit and start sampling mashed ngwaci and steamed sorghum.

If Mututho says it then it must be true. Not eating any GMO ugali. Laughing out loudly

@Impunity is there a difference between GMO ugali and maize?
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 11:42:31 AM

With ,this GMO thing you will start seeing pig-headed human beings in the street of Nairobi.

Hapana cheza na Mungu.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 11:46:09 AM

majimaji wrote:

What is the danger if i plant GMO maize or soghum in my shamba? Are the genes going to cross over and edge out the local species? Is it illegal to import GMO seeds from say Monsanto?

Off the top of my head I think without good planning and education introducing GMO seeds would most likely result in crop failures and even famine.
mburuke
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 1:32:24 PM

@USER if that was the case then how comes we are yet to see kenyans growing feathers,horns or tails despite our attchment to kuku and nyama choma. the one thing we have to understand is that we do not eat genes our digestive systems only sees carbohydrates, vitamins, protein and the likes not genes! and upon digestion the said products are broken down to produce energy for the body. You body does not care wheather u eat ugali, chapati, githeri etc these are all broken down to carbon in the end to generate enrgy. Having said that DNA either from plants or animals is the same wheather it comes from pigs (incidentally it used to make the insulin used for diabetes patients), cows, maiz,e sorghum bacteria it is the same.
@ majimaji GM (GENETIC MODIFICATION)is aimed at imparting some traits to the plant. Naturally this occurs through fertilization and thats why you borrow some characteristics from your father and mother. However for this to occur the two species must be sexually compatible and thats why a dog and cat cant transfer traits among themselves since they cant mate. GM now offers an alternative where it is possible to transfer this traits among species that are not related or sexually compatible. It depends on what characteristics you may want to introduce. There is no ambiquity in this process since only a particular gene of interest will be introduced and assayed for in this whole process. Thus like the case of what the minister is talking about the gm maize has been modified to be resistant to a maize pest which means the farmer will not be required to spray the crop hence less inputs required. by doing so you have put the pestcides manufacturers (who are from europe) out of business and thus they will fight to ensure that their marketshare is not taken. The battle surrounding GM debate is a trade issues we are only being used as pawns in this. So when we hear of GM crop the first thing we should ask is which characeristics have been introduced and are they benefecial.Some gm plants are pest resistance and disease resistance others like soybeanare used to make the now popular liquid cooking oil in our supermarket that has less saturated fatts and is chorestrol free! The GM crop once grown can be able to cross pollinate to other related crops and transfer the said traits in this case if the maize has pest resistance it may be possible to pollinate with other maize crops and impart that characteristic (which is a good thing).
@elder gm cannot result in crop failures infact u need it to preceise develop crops that are drought tolerant. let me give u an example. All the charracteristics we have either color, yield, height everything are coded by a particular gene (they do not occur randomly), sorghum is known to be more drought resistant than other crops eg maize. if the genes responsible for drought torelance in sorghum were identified (and they have) then using gm technology this genes sourced form sorghum can be transfered to maize and consequently have the maize growing well in area such as ukambani. This cannot happen through fertilization since maize and sorghum cannot cross pollinnate. habari ndiyo hiyo
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 1:41:38 PM

majimaji wrote:

It will be illegal to reproduce GMO patents from monsanto without their explicit approval.

It will be illegal to use monsanto products without their explicit approval. You will have to buy it from them.

It will be morally illegal to subject huge sections of humanity, those those that most likely reside in Africa to this.

Say No to monsanto et al.
mburuke
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 1:48:15 PM

@yesu wangu yes what u say is true and rightly so monsanto just like ibm is profit making company and they are here to make a profit. that does not mean GM technology is bad! What we should be asking ourselves as kenyans is are there challenges that w are facing and can use the technology to solve them and even patent the discovery just like monsanto has done. An eg would me the aflatoxin example
mburuke
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 1:58:00 PM

'user' wrote:
With ,this GMO thing you will start seeing pig-headed human beings in the street of Nairobi.

Hapana cheza na Mungu.

What u suggest cannot even hapen and its these kind of myths and fears that the anti GM activist propagate to scare you
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 2:05:00 PM

They once said that Mobile phones would be one of the biggest threats to human health.....today almost nobody can do wihtout one!!!!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 2:11:14 PM

@Mburuke... Those are well informed arguements. This looks like your field. However, where there is smoke, there is fire.. You have not covered the risks that come with GMOs.
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 2:13:07 PM

@ mburuke

could this be propagada too...

http://www.organicconsum....org/biod/ccof101404.cfm
mjuaji wa stocks
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 2:44:29 PM

mburuke wrote:
@USER if that was the case then how comes we are yet to see kenyans growing feathers,horns or tails despite our attchment to kuku and nyama choma. the one thing we have to understand is that we do not eat genes our digestive systems only sees carbohydrates, vitamins, protein and the likes not genes! and upon digestion the said products are broken down to produce energy for the body. You body does not care wheather u eat ugali, chapati, githeri etc these are all broken down to carbon in the end to generate enrgy. Having said that DNA either from plants or animals is the same wheather it comes from pigs (incidentally it used to make the insulin used for diabetes patients), cows, maiz,e sorghum bacteria it is the same.
@ majimaji GM (GENETIC MODIFICATION)is aimed at imparting some traits to the plant. Naturally this occurs through fertilization and thats why you borrow some characteristics from your father and mother. However for this to occur the two species must be sexually compatible and thats why a dog and cat cant transfer traits among themselves since they cant mate. GM now offers an alternative where it is possible to transfer this traits among species that are not related or sexually compatible. It depends on what characteristics you may want to introduce. There is no ambiquity in this process since only a particular gene of interest will be introduced and assayed for in this whole process. Thus like the case of what the minister is talking about the gm maize has been modified to be resistant to a maize pest which means the farmer will not be required to spray the crop hence less inputs required. by doing so you have put the pestcides manufacturers (who are from europe) out of business and thus they will fight to ensure that their marketshare is not taken. The battle surrounding GM debate is a trade issues we are only being used as pawns in this. So when we hear of GM crop the first thing we should ask is which characeristics have been introduced and are they benefecial.Some gm plants are pest resistance and disease resistance others like soybeanare used to make the now popular liquid cooking oil in our supermarket that has less saturated fatts and is chorestrol free! The GM crop once grown can be able to cross pollinate to other related crops and transfer the said traits in this case if the maize has pest resistance it may be possible to pollinate with other maize crops and impart that characteristic (which is a good thing).
@elder gm cannot result in crop failures infact u need it to preceise develop crops that are drought tolerant. let me give u an example. All the charracteristics we have either color, yield, height everything are coded by a particular gene (they do not occur randomly), sorghum is known to be more drought resistant than other crops eg maize. if the genes responsible for drought torelance in sorghum were identified (and they have) then using gm technology this genes sourced form sorghum can be transfered to maize and consequently have the maize growing well in area such as ukambani. This cannot happen through fertilization since maize and sorghum cannot cross pollinnate. habari ndiyo hiyo

YOU MUST BE A MONSANTO EMPLOYEEE!!

TAKE THIS TO THE BIRDS!

NO TO GMOS WHICH A RE BASICALLY ARE POPULATION CONTROL STICK!

MUTUTHO SAID IT ALL ---- JUST GOOGLE GMOS AND YOU WILL SEE CONTRAVERSIES SORROUNDING THESE FOODS.

THE REASON AS TO WHY AFRICA IS BEING AN EASY TARGET IS BECAUSE OF OUR IGNORNACE!!

NO TO GMOS!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#17 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 3:20:20 PM

Forget it, no one wants to help miros ease their hunger issues.
And it is a fact that the long term effects of GMOs have NOT been conclusively established.
Ati Monsanto? Mimi anaogopa hao.
Recall the 'terminator' gene brouhaha. In the 3rd world, farmers grow maize, eat some of it when it matures and retain some for planting in the next season. But monsanto wanted a situation where today you plant a maize seed but the maize that comes from that crop CANNOT germinate thereafter because the gene for germination has been 'terminated' or 'neutered'. This means 3rd world farmers would keep running to the US bio-tech giant Monsanto for more seeds each season and thus the corp. would keep reaping handsome profits in the process. This is evil incarnate, disrupting global food chains for billions of people established over centuries, and subjecting billions who can barely afford anything to cold-hearted logic of capitalism just so that some huge giant can churn our profits because thats all they are interested in: topline and bottom line.

#18 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 3:36:52 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

But monsanto wanted a situation where today you plant a maize seed but the maize that comes from that crop CANNOT germinate thereafter

I thought this was the case with the seeds our farmers currently use!!
mburuke
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:03:13 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
mburuke wrote:

YOU MUST BE A MONSANTO EMPLOYEEE!!

TAKE THIS TO THE BIRDS!

NO TO GMOS WHICH A RE BASICALLY ARE POPULATION CONTROL STICK!

MUTUTHO SAID IT ALL ---- JUST GOOGLE GMOS AND YOU WILL SEE CONTRAVERSIES SORROUNDING THESE FOODS.

THE REASON AS TO WHY AFRICA IS BEING AN EASY TARGET IS BECAUSE OF OUR IGNORNACE!!

NO TO GMOS!

I will not dignify this with a response. however for the record am not an employee and keep ur arguments factual!i pity your IGNORANCE!Ikiwa haujui kitu uliza uwelezewe. For ur information the maize used for making popcorn is GM or taking antibiotics and vaccines all this are products of GM technology
mburuke
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:06:47 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
@Mburuke... Those are well informed arguements. This looks like your field. However, where there is smoke, there is fire.. You have not covered the risks that come with GMOs.

Ur right am in this field the long term is relative just like the longterm effect of using fossil fuels has not yet been established yet. However like i said gm is a technology/ means not a product in itself. the question is how do we utilize it to our benefit. And specifically what risks do u have in mind