wazua Fri, May 8, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Copa America: Messi is failing again
#31 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 9:58:18 AM

I like these comments:

Juan Martin:

I've seen Messi play for Barcelona and he was much worse yesterday, but it is because of our team and our coach. Checho doesn't know about football, he has all these great players but no idea how to use them.

Sergio:

We are lucky enough to have the best player in the world, but we make him look normal. Why, because the rest of the players aren't on the same level. Colombia did not give us chances, and if we go out of the Copa America it will be a shame on Argentina.

Agustin:

We've had two matches now where those three forwards can't play together, why can everyone realise it apart from Batista? Messi is a great player but we don't help him if the team does not support and give him the chance to shine.

Daniel:

Before I was not a big fan of Messi, but then in the last years he has got better and better for the Seleccion. Now though, the fault is all Batista's. Checho is wasting our chance to win the Copa with his system that tries to be Barcelona, but isn't.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:22:19 PM

Yesterdays match of Argentina vs Costa Rica proved what Messi is made of. He tore the Costa Rica defence 10 times. Higuan wasted all the through passes made by Messi. All three goals scored by Argentina had assists from Messi. It was Messi and the ten robots. Boy is a genius.
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2011 9:30:26 AM

The goals scored in this tournament are just fantastic. I just watched the brazil-uruguay game and i am impressed
accelriskconsult
#34 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 3:37:51 PM

@Freiks and just blazing; Maradona scored 22 goals in 36 appearances for Barcelona but back then he was not influential in the big games and only won the copa del rey and the super cup- before he moved to Napoli. You can argue that he was not designed to be a big club player. At Napoli, he scored 81 goals in 188 appearances (50% rate). His combined scoring rate for Napoli and Barca is 42 %. Messi on the other had has a 67% scoring rate for Barcelona (119 in 177).

Maradona achieved his fame more for his notorious dribbling and hob nobbing with the Mafia - thus great coverage from gazetta de la sporto and the other mafia controlled newspapers.

The Maradona of '86 was supported by a cast of talented and physical players - they mixed velvet with steel. Messi's cast for argentina is more velvet and no steel ~ without the skill of Barcelona. It reminds me more of Arsenal (and yes I am an Arsenal fan). I find it hard to heap the blame for argentina's failures on him.

Luis Nazario de Lima Ronaldo aka the rabbit is definitely the greatest striker of his generation but the best number 10 is Messi closely followed by Zidane. Maradona belonged to an earlier generation that should compare between Cruyff, Platini, Zico etc. He stood out in that generation.

Head to head for influencing games, I would find it hard to choose between him and Messi but any day give me the Messi-ah.

Please dont invoke the name of messi in vain by mentioning the likes of Thierry Henry. TH14 belongs in the third tier of Andy Cole, Dwight Yorke, Raul, Shevchenko and CR7.
#35 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 4:13:52 AM

Who said Messi was so special...though he had some wonderful touches he could not help argentines in their own backyard. Suarez as usual the normal fall over and theatrics but he made sure that they went the nxt level
TAZ Forget that messi will go to the anals of history as the best ever player for his country
Well done URUGUAY
#36 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2011 4:05:09 PM

Argentina bundled out of the tournament.
slickyoz
#37 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:47:22 AM

Team Argentina failing not messi..kwani alikuwa anacheza peke yake!!..if they can't coordinate and utilize messi skills to get goals,then he becomes a normal striker unlike when he is playing for barcelona..with the likes of iniesta,xavi n the rest..Bure kabisa!!
Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it
hoodrat
#38 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 9:46:20 AM

And Brazil out too courtesy of Paraguay.Incredibly they lost all four of ther penalties!My money is on Uruguay!

http://www.skysports.com...64,11065_3425791,00.html
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
waza
#39 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 10:32:52 AM

Messi has a lot of work to do to be one of the all time greats. He doesnt have the ability to command and dictate play as compared to other great players. Individual performance of a star does not vary with those surrounding him. signs and flashes of greatness will always be evident. Messi shows nothing when wearing national colors. Moderate players like Diego Forlan could even dictate outcome of games!(worldcup 2010). Barcelona is built around iniesta and xavi(note they perform both for club and country!). if Messi does not fit to their play, he will be sold but not these two! Ronaldinho and rest can confirm!
Every day I get up and look through the Forbes list of the richest people in the World. If I'm not there, I go to work.
#40 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 11:00:48 AM

@ Waza....Messi is a playmaker, at Barca he's the link between Xavi/iniesta and Villa/pedro. He carried the team last season in the CL when Iniesta and Xavi picked up injuries. I've been following the Copa America and my conclusion was that Argentina was let down by the likes of Tevez, Di Maria and Higuain. Messi created so many chances but they were not being executed. At Barca he's surrounded by creative players but back home its the likes of Mascherano and Cambiasso for company. Whether he performs for his national team or not the fact remains that no one is better than Messi at the moment....we can compare him with all the past greats but history will compare him with players in his generation.
4 Pages«<234