wazua Sat, Aug 2, 2025

BRITAK PROSPECTUS
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 1:25:10 PM

the deal wrote:
My comparative analysis on Britak are now available in pdf here Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly i once talked of a profit warning here...now you know why the went all the way to meet me....smile

Is it a premium report or what its giving me a 404 warning.
the deal
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 1:28:42 PM

selah wrote:
the deal wrote:
My comparative analysis on Britak are now available in pdf here Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly i once talked of a profit warning here...now you know why the went all the way to meet me....smile

Is it a premium report or what its giving me a 404 warning.

Oops sorry its Free...lemme check there must be something wrong...my apologiessmile
mwanahisa
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 1:29:54 PM

I was also anticipating to speculate in this baby...

Now, I am not too sure. The vibes are getting more and more negative each day.

With an over 60% profit drop projected and a lethargic Wanjiku, who will you be selling to post-IPO?...

#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 1:30:29 PM

TUPAC wrote:
could anybody help with a link to the prospectus.

LINK: http://www.british-american.co.ke/ipo/

Look for the "DOWNLOAD" button and press it...
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 1:45:30 PM

mukiha wrote:
TUPAC wrote:

I dont seem to get it...its reporting an error...or is it my browser?
mwanahisa
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 2:02:08 PM

Just listened to an interview of Gladys Karuri, the Finance Director for BA. A lot of false confidence that retailers are gunning for the issue.
synergia
#27 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 2:27:58 PM

This part in the prospectus is what gives me the creeps,
Dividend per Share (“DPS”) for the twelve (12) month period ended 31 December 2010 before share split Kshs 6.67/=
Dividend per Share (“DPS”) for the twelve (12) month period ended 31 December 2010 after share split Kshs 0.13/=
Considering they made profits of 2 billion in 2010 what will happen with 1 billion profit they are projecting to make in 2011 they may give divividends of 0.0..... something.

Shame on you Shame on you
Mainat
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 2:43:02 PM

Curioser and curioser... This IPO given the NSE bear makes even less sense. Unless, its bcos some of the anchor shareholders would like to move away from the limelight as Mzee retires.
By my reckoning the profit drop in 2010 brings its numbers into prior years, that is, 2010 was a one-off.
For those thinking of making a fast buck, do you recall Everready? It traded at Ksh18 in the 1st week, but only those who had placed sell orders before the IPO and had harassed their equally sharp brokers on the 1st day of trading, managed to get out with any fast buck.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 2:56:35 PM

This webpage is not available
The webpage at http://192.168.4.80/brit...load/IPO_Prospectus.pdf might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
Here are some suggestions:
Reload this web page later.
Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): The connection was reset.

mwanahisa
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:02:37 PM

Eveready and BA should not be discussed in the same forum. One is simply useless. But you make your point. I think a more apt comparison would be the CoopBank IPO in 2008. It tanked pretty soon after the IPO even though Coop's prospects were actually looking up.

Mainat wrote:
Curioser and curioser... This IPO given the NSE bear makes even less sense. Unless, its bcos some of the anchor shareholders would like to move away from the limelight as Mzee retires.
By my reckoning the profit drop in 2010 brings its numbers into prior years, that is, 2010 was a one-off.
For those thinking of making a fast buck, do you recall Everready? It traded at Ksh18 in the 1st week, but only those who had placed sell orders before the IPO and had harassed their equally sharp brokers on the 1st day of trading, managed to get out with any fast buck.

#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:03:46 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
I was also anticipating to speculate in this baby...

Now, I am not too sure. The vibes are getting more and more negative each day.

With an over 60% profit drop projected and a lethargic Wanjiku, who will you be selling to post-IPO?...

This IPO may just back-fire then add a slumping or sideways NSE - Kigali Bank is a lot safer bet for now.
kenyainvesting.blogspot.com
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:13:24 PM

the deal, do you STILL think it is a good buy?

No wonder these guys were engaging the media
MY BLOG: Kenya Investing
BE MY FRIEND ON FACEBOOK: Kenya Investing Facebook Page
TWITTER HANDLE: @kenyainvestor
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:19:37 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Just listened to an interview of Gladys Karuri, the Finance Director for BA. A lot of false confidence that retailers are gunning for the issue.

Management will say ANYTHING these days
#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:21:12 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Eveready and BA should not be discussed in the same forum. One is simply useless. But you make your point. I think a more apt comparison would be the CoopBank IPO in 2008. It tanked pretty soon after the IPO even though Coop's prospects were actually looking up.

mwanahisa, only difference is that BRITAK's immediate future is not looking up.
Pole for those who buy into IPO's without doing due diligence
#35 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 3:21:38 PM

When i grow up i want to be like my Dad - he never participated in any IPO
Barrywhite
#36 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 4:57:01 PM

Officially, l am out of Britak IPO. Wacha nijaribu Bank of Kigali for long term. @GG, IPO apana mbaya, lakini inafaa tuchunge.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
mwanahisa
#37 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 5:33:04 PM

This link is still NOT working. Not especially auspicious for a company that wants 5.85 Billion from us! NKT!!!!

mukiha wrote:
TUPAC wrote:

hisah
#38 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 5:40:56 PM

Unsubscribed IPO, but will rally for a month just to remind Wanjiku who's boss of the market smile

Remember coop ipo...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
QW25071985
#39 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 5:42:16 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
When i grow up i want to be like my Dad - he never participated in any IPO

WOW !!!! was he a miser ?
mwanahisa
#40 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 5:48:33 PM

hisah wrote:
Unsubscribed IPO, but will rally for a month just to remind Wanjiku who's boss of the market smile

Remember coop ipo...

@hisah. Rather perverse but ironically an undersubscription in the counter could actually work in its favour.