wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

7 Pages123>»
Getrudes Child Hospital
junior
#1 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 7:45:28 PM

To All

Just to share my experience.

my daughter of 3 joined school this term. as usual, she got a cold and i took her to Getrudes where she was given an antibiotic. well the cold didn't stop and after a week, went back and was given another antibiotic on the basis, new strains of bacteria will keep infecting her. The third time i demanded to see a consultant who besides loading me with antibiotics, gave me inhalers. Meanwhile, i was looking for a respectable paedtician. After a few days, i had to visit hospital at 2 pm with a persistent favour. the next day my daughter was admitted at nairobi hospital after X-ray diagnosis by Dr Joy Mpaata .

To cut story short, those docs at getrudes gave my daughter underdose in both instances of "augementing" and zinnat. Bacteria grow resistant turning to Pneumonia. A simple cold to pneumonia. Some throat glands are still swollen but she is doing well. And they are kids specialist? Anyway i discovered getrudes is the first learning place for fresh doc. who want to specialise in paediatrics AND kids prescription are rather difficult
For Sport
#2 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 8:09:49 PM

pole. She'll be fine,will say a prayer for her.
Also have a horror story involving a cough, cough syrups and antibiotics. I think the law relating to medical malpractice is seriously underdeveloped here.
#3 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 8:12:52 PM

junior wrote:
To All

my daughter of 3 joined school this term. as usual, she got a cold and i took her to Getrudes where she was given an antibiotic. well the cold didn't stop and after a week, went back and was given another antibiotic on the basis, new strains of bacteria will keep infecting her. The third time i demanded to see a consultant who besides loading me with antibiotics, gave me inhalers. Meanwhile, i was looking for a respectable paedtician. After a few days, i had to visit hospital at 2 pm with a persistent favour. the next day my daughter was admitted at nairobi hospital after X-ray diagnosis by Dr Joy Mpaata .

To cut story short, those docs at getrudes gave my daughter underdose in both instances of "augementing" and zinnat. Bacteria grow resistant turning to Pneumonia. A simple cold to pneumonia. Some throat glands are still swollen but she is doing well. And they are kids specialist? Anyway i discovered getrudes is the first learning place for fresh doc. who want to specialise in paediatrics AND kids prescription are rather difficult

Great that you sought help elsewhere before it got too late. May she get well very fast.
ocampo
#4 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 8:16:15 PM

Pole junior.

Pneumonia is curable.

Probably many are not aware but augmentin has been banned in many countries because it contains di-isodecyl phthalate which is used in the manufacture of plastics.

Its not bad to prescribe antibiotics, however many docs and majority are para graduates use that as an easy avenue to reduce the severity of sickness.

Lets not be vague, we go to hague
kenah
#5 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 9:17:09 PM

ive realised if u take u child there his or her life is changed from home to hospital to drugs.
For Sport
#6 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 10:25:05 PM

ocampo wrote:

Pole junior.

Pneumonia is curable.

Probably many are not aware but augmentin has been banned in many countries because it contains di-isodecyl phthalate which is used in the manufacture of plastics.

Its not bad to prescribe antibiotics, however many docs and majority are para graduates use that as an easy avenue to reduce the severity of sickness.

Thanks for the info. Didn't know. And I'm pretty sure I've used it in the past couple of months.
sanity
#7 Posted : Monday, July 11, 2011 10:45:03 PM

Getrudes hospital needs to shape up...once a new children's hospital come up,I assure you they might close down.However sometimes you may find a very good doctor who will treat your child very well but other times..you end up cursing them..
Hope is not a strategy
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 8:08:36 AM

Many of the Docs at Gertrude's are just GPs and NOT paediatricians. There are very few specialists and you have to pay extra for your child to be treated by them. I stopped taking my kids there a while back after several incidents of pretty poor service.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 8:58:52 AM

persistent favour = fever?

Hii ni ugonjwa gani ya watoto?

Insurgent
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 9:24:40 AM

junior wrote:
To All

Anyway i discovered getrudes is the first learning place for fresh doc. who want to specialise in paediatrics AND kids prescription are rather difficult

Garlands in Rongai is another terrible place. My neighbour lost her daughter there although they give genuine or trademarked drugs - not generics. I always take my child to Prof Wekesa at Doctors Plaza, KNH, he is the best paediatrician in the region. He treats the parent and the child in equal measure, ensures he attends to the child thoroghly for at least, at least an hour.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

Burning Spear
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 9:59:06 AM

all those doctors you find in Gertrudes are GP's and especially the satellite clinics.
The few pediatricians they have work in Gerts Muthaiga and handle IP cases only.
The perception is because Gerts is a children hospital,it has only pediatricians,which is not the case.

What is annoying is that,the hospital is driven by surplus generation other than charity as it purports to do.All children are given high value products and especially if you have an insurance cover.These items (esp antibiotics) are the main cause of resistance.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
theslim
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 10:01:04 AM

same thing happened to me at embakasi getrudes. My kid had a cough and we were given piriton syrup and told he shall be well. We had to rush to nairobi hospital at 10PM. luckuly it had not progressed to a serious infection. AVOID Getrudes if you can!
the early worm is eaten by the early bird
milken
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 10:02:08 AM

My advise is always take your child to one consultant paedtrician whenever they are unwell. After all consultation is 2K which you drink in one sitting every now and then.
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
Snazzy
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 10:04:59 AM

For a couple of years now the only great thing about Gertrudes hospital has been the new buildings.
“You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.”

― Anne Lamott
FancyFace
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 10:12:32 AM

kenah wrote:
ive realised if u take u child there his or her life is changed from home to hospital to drugs.

very true...last year I had a terrible experience with the one next to Nakumatt Embakasi, the mamas at the front desk or whatever are so rude and arrogant...my son was admitted at Aga Khan..thank God he is fine now

Your baby will be okay..

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 12:16:39 PM

milken wrote:
My advise is always take your child to one consultant paedtrician whenever they are unwell. After all consultation is 2K which you drink in one sitting every now and then.

Seconded. Though in cases of emergency it might be hard getting that one particular consultant.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 12:28:44 PM

Yaani Getrudes is this bad, like everybody who has visited has a complaint to make!!!!
njokishk
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 12:46:46 PM

Yeah i have heard terrible stories about the hospital,all they are after is the money. My daughter is getting a persistent cough and congested chest after like every four months and Dr. are telling me that she may be s developing asthma. Kindly who knows a good pediatrician who can i can consult.
Insurgent
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 12:54:38 PM

If you want your child to die sooner than later, take her/him to Getrudes Children's Hospital. You would rather throw the kid into a trench and walk away. The staff their will actually organize to have you lose you baby is for whatever reason they feel you are behaving aloof, more knowledgable or they simply don't like you.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

milken
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 12, 2011 12:55:11 PM

njokishk wrote:
Kindly who knows a good pediatrician who can i can consult.

I normally take mine to Dr EC Kung'u @ Nbi Hospital. If interested, I can introduce you.
(You have to be introduced; he does not take walk in customers)
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai