wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

advce
Kamaa
#21 Posted : Sunday, September 27, 2009 6:10:00 PM

@jkmwatha kwani which era are they living in...?

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Djinn
#22 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 8:33:00 AM

@newcomer,if I may pitch in a bit. To add value,try to think of what applications could also benefit teachers (time management,exams,attendance,etc....that way you are NOT selling computers per se,rather,a way of simplifying their lives....e.g. will it help a class teacher grade the students FASTER if they have a small application in which they can enter student scores. What application can a school head use to analyse student performance vis a vis teachers (and further by subject,attendance,etc) - can this application help in developing teachers and students. Think along the lines of adding value by applications. Also,there are various NGOs that are involved in ICT in education and could be brought into play to help in other matters....and I know for a fact some vendors like Intel are lookign keenly at placing PCs in schools (but with students rather than with teachers).....also,what abt a portal for teachers - like how SK brings together investors....you can bring teachers together countrywide to discuss all manner of things - curriculum,union issues,curbing cheating,corporal punishment,etc...

For such a site you could receive support from the Kenya ICT Board (www.ict.go.ke) whose mandate include driving technology adoption....and such a portal is content which is intrumental in driving adoption of technology and making it relevant.

My two zlotys

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#23 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@Djinn; be kind to your readers....use paragraphs

@newcomer; computer business has cut-throat compe. margins are thin,you have to drive high volumes to make any meaningful money.

When you say 'education consultancy',exactly what do you mean? Private revision classes,helping people set up schools....what?

Consultants generally don't need special licenses. The quality of their work speaks for itself. So you have to be very good at whatever you want to be a consultant in.

Out of curiosity,do you have university degree in education?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#24 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 11:27:00 AM

@Djinn; May be your browser......Google Chrome? You are the first one I've heard using that one! Which OS are you using?

Anyway; most people use Mozilla or IE.

I'm a Mozilla fan.

Some times I am able to post pictures,sometimes not. Never figured out why.

Do you want to migrate to Mozilla?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
jitetee
#25 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 11:40:00 AM

I use all 3. @Djinn's problem is inherent to Google Chrome.

Time and chance happen to all.
Djinn
#26 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 12:44:00 PM

@mukiha - go to www.google.com/chrome - it is hands down much faster (and safer) than IE or Mozilla. I use Windows XP. Try it and share your experiences....but I find it ultra fast. And I already have firefox.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#27 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:10:00 PM

@Djinn;

It turns out that I had downloaded and even installed Chrome. It didn't look appealing to me. Now that you say it's super fast,I have opened it and tried to access SK. It appeared slower than my trusted Firefox.

And,hey; I can put paragraphs with Firefox...and type in Italics or in bold......

JkMwatha
#28 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:12:00 PM

@mukiha - to post a pic/image here,it must be on a web server + connected to the internet. This is not the same as being on your local computer.

E.g. you can cut & paste from google images but not necessarily from your images saved on your hard drive. For these (local computer) you may need to sign up to an online photo album like flickr,and save/tranfer them there....... then cut & paste from there.

Djinn
#29 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:29:00 PM

aha! Now I see. I can bold and underline.

I can also do bullets

and numbers

Cool. I think for SK I will use Mozilla.

BTW other than SK,try other sites like CNN,BBC and do more than one try (cookies,cache,etc).

#30 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:31:00 PM

@JKM;
kwani wewe ni insider wa SK?

newcomer
#31 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 4:13:00 PM

I have gone thr' the posts made while I was away.

@mukiha,I am a graduate with several years of teaching,including part time lecturing in a reputable training organisation.

@Djinn,I have looked at the ICT board website. The various tips you have given are workable. Can you be kind enough to offer a more personalised assistance?
JkMwatha
#32 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 4:30:00 PM

ati insider? ziiii.

I am just smart! .... but do I say????

twendenyumbani
#33 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 8:17:00 PM

need speed?? has anyone heard safari for windows and mac?? SK loads in 2 secs! Beats them all motofox,IE,and all hands down!

twendenyumbani
Djinn
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@twendenyumbani - Safari seems faster - seems. I did try it and I kept getting errors in Win Xp - but this link independently confirmsthat Chrome is much much faster.
http://www.computerworld..._nlt_wktop10_2009-09-25

@newcomer - I'm happy to chip in,intermittently as need arises,on this discussion board - I think this forum is about brainstorming and complementing each other's ideas (sometimes criticizing constructively)...

subzero
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 6:44:00 AM

seeing that you are in embu,i see that you might have a good chance coz i think IT (hardware and software) is still as widespread as nairobi.
you could actually do better margins than nairobi.

FIREFOX RULES.
from the way people are replying here,you would think that internet speed depends primarily on browsers. other than network speed. LOL.
use firefox with addons and you'll never want to see any other browser.
by the way,with firefox,you can split your connections into 8. to make it much faster. plus plenty of other tweaks.
for file downloads you can use flashgot and manage downloads for just about anything including downloading files right off sights like youtube and metacafe.
plus much much more.
sheep
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 7:02:00 AM

The underdog opera browser has always been my favorite.The turbo browsing mode is so cool for slow connections.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 7:23:00 AM

@Newcomer,I must say I am impressed. A simple change of atitude and Skerians came out at their best for you. Well done Sir. Cheers to @All.

I have learnt what would have cost over 20k in those computer schools around from simply carrying out the suggestions on this post. Again,thank you all and especially,thank you Mwalimu. Best wishes in your new business and keep us posted.

Finaly,make sure you buy shares on the NSE when you start making 'sells'.

Ah,I almost forgot. 10 out of 10

Live hard,die hard.
Pablo
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 9:07:00 AM

@ Newcomer

If you have basic accounting knowledge you can offer schools a basic computerisation service. My father in law who has a school out of town was ready to pay Kshs. 250k to computerise the school fees receipts & records for 700 plus students. I did it for him for free (read for an installment of dowry i had not paid)

All I needed was a good accounting system which I got for free on the internet ( http://www.turbocashuk.c...-software-download.html) and it took me 4 days to implement,input data and train their staff (computer teacher). That was a year ago and they still use it to date.

From then I have had several querries but I simply dont have the time to travel and implement.

Hope this helps.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
Djinn
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 9:28:00 AM

@newcomer - today's daily nation (at least the nairobi edition - maybe upcountry edition is different) - on page 8 a story about hopw std 4 and 5 curriculum is planned for digital format - some pabulum there.

Also - an NGO supporting ICT in education - http://www.kenet.or.ke - am sure they are happy to work with you in a PPP.

#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 10:05:00 AM

Do not go to bed any day until all the records for the day are complete. No 'sell' is complete until the paper work is done.

Create a filling system which will,for example,enable you find an invoice sixty three months old within five minutes (I got this from today's Business Daily)

Create folders on your computer for every facet of you business,and create a backup copy and store it away from your computer,preferably on flash disk,compact disk.

Best wishes and keep us posted

Live hard,die hard.