wazua Fri, May 8, 2026

Copa America: Messi is failing again
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:03:33 AM

To be considered a really great footballer you have to nearly single handedly lead your national team to continental or world cup glory. Messi is once again failing in this edition of Copa America with 2 draws in as many games. Will he ever lead Argentina to continental or world cup glory? The countdown continues.

http://www.supersport.co...ina_booed_off_after_draw
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:12:35 AM

I said it before and I am saying it again, I wanna see this boy succeeding without the likes of Xavi, Iniesta around him, the way Maradona and Pele during their time, then I will shut up and applaud as the best I ever watched!!!!
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:28:22 AM

Not forgetting our own generation's Zidane. He did it in 1998 and nearly did it again in 2006 before the ill advised headbutt on Matterazi.
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 11:13:42 AM

Maradona and Pele were both surronded by fantastic players in their respective national teams, same thing can be said about Zidane in France and Real Madrid. I can't blame Messi for not performing well while featuring for Argentina, he's the only creative they have at the moment.... Maradona only scored 34 goals in 91 appearances for Argentina yet he's considered one of the greatest footballers, Messi has scored 17 form 58 appearances....i believe there's more to come from him at only 24 yrs Old. His performances for the national team have not been convincing but then again neither has Ronaldo's for Portugal and Rooney for England.
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 12:04:14 PM

Maradona and Pele were both surronded by fantastic players in their respective national teams, same thing can be said about Zidane in France and Real Madrid. I can't blame Messi for not performing well while featuring for Argentina, he's the only creative they have at the moment.... Maradona only scored 34 goals in 91 appearances for Argentina yet he's considered one of the greatest footballers, Messi has scored 17 form 58 appearances....i believe there's more to come from him at only 24 yrs Old. His performances for the national team have not been convincing but then again neither has Ronaldo's for Portugal and Rooney for England.

But look what Maradona did with his club as opposed to the national team.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 12:10:20 PM

Elder wrote:

But look what Maradona did with his club as opposed to the national team.

How crucial were 34 goals Maradon scored for Argentina, don't try to compare Maradona's service to Argentina with Messi, at least not yet, maybe he will do some wonders in the days to come.....and did you just say that Messi is the only creative player in Argentina currently....my goodness!!!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:08:24 PM

@ McReggae.....Di Maria, Sergio Aguero,Mascherano, Milito, Tevez, Higuain, Gago & Cambiasso who amongst these players can claim to be anywhere near Messi or even give him the kind of support he gets at Barca. Come to think of it most of them are either strikers or defensive midfielders. Di Maria hajui kitu kama crossing the ball, when he gets it he goes straight for the goal.
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:27:55 PM

@ McReggae.....Di Maria, Sergio Aguero,Mascherano, Milito, Tevez, Higuain, Gago & Cambiasso who amongst these players can claim to be anywhere near Messi or even give him the kind of support he gets at Barca. Come to think of it most of them are either strikers or defensive midfielders. Di Maria hajui kitu kama crossing the ball, when he gets it he goes straight for the goal.

.......nobody said they are equal to Messi but the fact remains they are very good players!!!!
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 4:28:28 PM

Hope @taz watched the game, messi was nowhere he couldnt control a single pass, couldnt either pass the ball, he was all crab, if i were the coach i would have substituted him since he was a liability against an effective colombia side. I just thot to myself that maybe he just landed in an airport just before the game. He cannot be a leader in that argentinian side. It just reminded me of real players who could change games for the better, Zidane, Thiery, Bergkamp, ronaldo(Retired), Ronalddinho(against england) and the list is endless. This boy is just hyped up coz the refs protects him in spain and europe, any tackle on him is a card but in copa america nothing like that is happening. He has to prove himself if they go to the next level
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 4:51:17 PM

aiiii @ freiks, ati Messi is hyped up and protected by refs in Spain...this is the same guy who makes a point of tearing English opposition SINGE-HANDEDLY whenever he gets a chance and i must say i've never seen or heard anyone suggest that he goes down too easily, infact in most cases he stays up even when tackled. Playing for Argentina might not be working for him but at the moment he's the best player in the World without a doubt. I always wonder why people always blame him when Argentina fail to perform. Some players like Miroslav Klose and Ronaldo (retired) used to play well when featuring for their National team lakini kwa club ni ABK.