wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

3 Pages<123
Can you pay for Company Research Reports?
#41 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 7:00:27 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
@mkonomtupu lives up to his/her handle!

ahahahaaa..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Aki VVS!
With punchlines like this, VVS should be on the rap battle scene
earthvoice
#42 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 7:48:17 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
(Assorted quotes)
@deal i can't pay for company research for a listed company everything about them is available in public

come on @vvs even you can see how absurd it is to ask a young man to "provides a service for others at only 100/- per month" puliiz!

@deal... I actually think your research is good actually made over 100k from your uchumi research but honestly if you had asked to pay for it, i wouldn't

@deal, let me tell you one thing about this town if you don't learn to put value to your work then you will be a doormat, people will step on you on their way up...

I sure hope you get my point, I really do

Ngumu sana kuelewa hii...! d'oh! Think
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#43 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 8:28:11 PM

@the deal - I enjoy pulling your leg but do NOT listen to the nay-sayers. Even if you do not succeed this time round... the experience is invaluable!

Let me tell ya... I was offered a job by a 'famous' CEO coz I pitched an idea he liked. I didn't take coz I was in the middle of my own ventures BUT when we meet, he remembers me...

My point is many people visit Wazua - one of them could be an Asset Manager or Portfolio Manager who likes what they see...
mwekez@ji
#44 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 8:36:25 PM

Today @the deal contribution in wazua is missing. Kwani he has put everything for sale smile

All the very best young contrarian investor
the deal
#45 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 9:39:06 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Today @the deal contribution in wazua is missing. Kwani he has put everything for sale smile

All the very best young contrarian investor

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I was busy today...its that time when I have to leave Kenya for a while...so just putting everything in place.
the deal
#46 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 10:24:57 PM

Our Daily Equity Report: Equity Bank and Oil stocks move

Read more here http://contrarianinvesti...t-04-07-2011-equity.html
mwekez@ji
#47 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 10:56:07 PM

the deal wrote:
Our Daily Equity Report: Equity Bank and Oil stocks move

Read more here http://contrarianinvesti...-04-07-2011-equity.html .

Great report elder the deal. With the huge volumes at Equity Bank counter, it honestly requires a close watch.

AKS had the following report about Equity Bank.

Equity Bank was the most actively traded share at the Nairobi Bourse today. Equity Bank closed unchanged at 25.50 and traded a 25.00-25.50 range and 5.028m shares worth 128.197m which represented 33.979% of the Total Volume at the Bourse. It was a Pleasure to catch up with Mary Wamae the Group Director of Corporate Strategy at the Rwanda Liberation Day Celebrations today. Equity Bank has seen some heavy Volume and informed Speculation is that the Sell Side is Aureous, who received shares in Equity Bank related to The Equity Bank's Uganda Acquisition.
Cde Monomotapa
#48 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 5:51:07 AM

[quote=the deal]Our Daily Equity Report: Equity Bank and Oil stocks move

Read more here http://contrarianinvesti...-04-07-2011-equity.html[/quote]
Great round up mate. Cheers.
the deal
#49 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 5:21:12 PM

Daily Equity Report: 05-07-2011 NSE down to 3 month low lead by Motor Stocks
The NSE20 lost 24 points or 0.61% to close at 3938, which is a 3 month low. The bourse is reeling from high interest rates and inflation. The inflation figure climbed to 15% in June, in the other news Transcentury will list by way of introduction on the 14th of July on the Alternative market segment of the Nairobi stock exchange at Sh 50 per share. On the forex front the Shilling snapped its 5 day rally to close at 88.75.

Entire report here http://contrarianinvesti...05-07-2011-nse-down.html
Cde Monomotapa
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 4:33:14 AM

Great round-up once again Mr. Media man. Though could not help but laugh at ur new thoughts on C&G. Lol!!
the deal
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 8:48:14 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Great round-up once again Mr. Media man. Though could not help but laugh at ur new thoughts on C&G. Lol!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly just telling it the way it is...Mr KCB.
Cde Monomotapa
#52 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 8:55:28 AM

the deal wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Sure smile
drake
#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 11:42:19 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
the deal wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Sure smile

Sorry to interrupt your little bRo-mance but do allow me to make a suggestion...

@The deal,
My broker, (who I undoubtedly share with other members of this website) sends daily, weekly and monthly research notes (for free/ "soft dollars") that I am then able to trade (within my network) for proprietary research from other research houses ...

So unless you'll be sharing material non-public information..... or have some very profitable (ex ante)exclusive insights/ideas....well you can see why one would not be sufficiently motivated to pay for anything else/less..... especially when they can get it for free.

HOWEVER, to quote VVS:

VVS wrote:
My point is many people visit Wazua - one of them could be an Asset Manager or Portfolio Manager who likes what they see...

1. This could very well be true..

2. Tack on Sophisticated investors/HNWIs/ KIDs (Kenyans In the Diaspora ...lol)

3. Who understand the concept, benefits and value of portfolio/country diversification...

4. And would be interested to hear what investment opportunities lie outside our borders....say down-south (Angola, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe etc) ...but lack sufficient/ reliable information on the same...

5. Where you may have some comparative advantage ....by virtue of your contacts in and close ties to Namibia ....

6. And can hopefully leverage this into producing well researched and detailed reports on, say, Namibia Breweries, SAB Miller, Anglo Gold Ashanti etc...... a.w.a currency and inflation outlook ...info on best/reliable brokers in the region... regulations and transaction costs etc....

7. My belief is one would be happy to pay for that kind of research ... including, perhaps, aforementioned asset/portfolio managers

8. Which = $$$$$$$$$

9. My KES 0.02

Check out what @Young did with Ghana:
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=6779 [BEST]
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=6313

This was in May 2010. Now assuming one had taken his advice and gotten in then... ignoring local inflation and currency moves, take a look at these charts...

http://www.bloomberg.com...quote?ticker=GGSECI:IND
http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/quote?ticker=FML:GN [Fan Milk - Consumer products]

Boss, tell us what you think and whether you would be willing to do the same. Better yet, how about a "teaser" note/report to whet our appetites?

Your public waits.

P.S
An interesting factoid; The hierarchy for best research-house stands
1. Kestrel Capital
2. Genghis Capital

Based on "The CMAwards 2011".... So African Alliance is not the best comparable ....

Cheers!

http://www.facebook.com/.../143044429072205?sk=info
the deal
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 12:34:47 PM

@Drake thanks for your inputs, Rome was not built in a day...if you look at my blog, my research is not biased unlike most brokers...if you bought KenolKobil and Uchumi when my blog recommended you will be in profits right now btwn i have received big offers already from one of Kenya's biggest asset managers...
drake
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 12:57:39 PM

the deal wrote:
... btwn i have received big offers already from one of Kenya's biggest asset managers...

Congratulations!

I hope you're not talking about BAAM (Happy Coincidence?)... casts aspersions on your objectivity! Sad{|=

Cheers!
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 1:35:48 PM

drake wrote:

Sorry to interrupt your little bRo-mance

jmbada
#57 Posted : Saturday, July 09, 2011 7:13:37 PM

[quote=the deal]As promised Check out our new Daily Equit Report

01-07-2011: EABL, TPS Serena and Equity Bank Move

Check it out here http://contrarianinvesti...rt-01-07-2011-eabl.html[/quote]
@the deal drop me a line at jmbada@africafundsolutions.com if your ongoing negotiations stall.
Cde Monomotapa
#58 Posted : Saturday, July 09, 2011 7:31:46 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
drake wrote:

Sorry to interrupt your little bRo-mance

Hadn't seen this one. @drake, nktesticles to u :-P