wazua Tue, Aug 5, 2025

21 Pages«<89101112>»
BRITAK IPO: The Money Maker
the deal
#181 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:13:27 PM

@holycow its not being a politician...the investment game is not constant...if you have new information you update yourself...the only mistake I made is to share with you every tit bit...in 2009 the company had high debts its on its books...fast track 2011 they have no debts...so I'm just telling the way it is...being honest with you...in this thread I have shared everything I know..in the spirit of Wazua...i guess I will stop now...
#182 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:14:40 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
the deal wrote:
I have just received an invite from the MD for some event taking place today...

hahahaha. U are just beign rewarded for the free PR you have done for them through starting this long thread and ur blog. Or you think he loves you. Anyway it shld be interesting for you as you rua shoulders with billionare.if i were you i woudnt throw away this chance.i squeeze every drop of juice out of it.
Amenunuliwa by buying him a few drinks! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Lakini, I would rather listen to @thedeal than some other characters waiting for KK at 10/-!

Who could you possibly be talking about?...Laughing out loudly
#183 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:34:50 PM

@holy cow - Jamaa ni deadly! Interesting how @thedeal went from 'zero debt" to "743mn" for Britak... not to mention how Britak was bure kabisa to "the deal of the year"...

But unlike some others Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you @ thedeal has tried... Keep up the good work but check your facts!
bartum
#184 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:37:40 PM

@holy cow - Jamaa ni deadly! Interesting how @thedeal went from 'zero debt" to "743mn" for Britak... not to mention how Britak was bure kabisa to "the deal of the year"...

But unlike some others Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you @ thedeal has tried... Keep up the good work but check your facts!

the fellow must have been taking one too many of the windoek. When doing some analysis
#185 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:37:56 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:
the deal wrote:
I have just received an invite from the MD for some event taking place today...

hahahaha. U are just beign rewarded for the free PR you have done for them through starting this long thread and ur blog. Or you think he loves you. Anyway it shld be interesting for you as you rua shoulders with billionare.if i were you i woudnt throw away this chance.i squeeze every drop of juice out of it.
Amenunuliwa by buying him a few drinks! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Lakini, I would rather listen to @thedeal than some other characters waiting for KK at 10/-!

Who could you possibly be talking about?...Laughing out loudly
Hmmm, I have no idea what you mean Liar Liar Liar
bartum
#186 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:40:08 PM

the deal wrote:
@holycow its not being a politician...the investment game is not constant...if you have new information you update yourself...the only mistake I made is to share with you every tit bit...in 2009 the company had high debts its on its books...fast track 2011 they have no debts...so I'm just telling the way it is...being honest with you...in this thread I have shared everything I know..in the spirit of Wazua...i guess I will stop now...

why stop we love your analysis continue.....
#187 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:45:29 PM

Britak playing nice with bloggers
http://www.kachwanya.com...rs-in-ipo-launch-event/ lakini @the deal not mentioned here... d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
the deal
#188 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:46:30 PM

In the posts I have made here there is the truth...bdw my facts are accurate...but of part of the team now..and the IPO has to sell...so my advice is buy for Long term...company has potential.
the deal
#189 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 8:47:59 PM

Britak playing nice with bloggers
http://www.kachwanya.com...rs-in-ipo-launch-event/ lakini @the deal not mentioned here... d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

u know my email.
holycow
#190 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:19:42 PM

The Deal. Please note that i'm not in the accounting/financial sector. I've learnt alot through this site and believe it or not, my investment decisions are based on the basic ratios and information from this site and others. From your posts, i've been left more confused by your analysis.
Unlike others who shout buy! Buy! You do provide some figures and ratios. Your comparison of Jubilee & Britak was very comprehensive so i'm left wondering if all that good analysis has been rendered useless just because you met the CEO. Keep up the good work of breaking down balance sheets & financial statements. Cheers brother.
the deal
#191 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:35:25 PM

holycow wrote:
The Deal. Please note that i'm not in the accounting/financial sector. I've learnt alot through this site and believe it or not, my investment decisions are based on the basic ratios and information from this site and others. From your posts, i've been left more confused by your analysis.
Unlike others who shout buy! Buy! You do provide some figures and ratios. Your comparison of Jubilee & Britak was very comprehensive so i'm left wondering if all that good analysis has been rendered useless just because you met the CEO. Keep up the good work of breaking down balance sheets & financial statements. Cheers brother.

Not really...its actually the best report right now on insurance stocks in Kenya...print it and keep it somewhere...i have a copy myself...the thing its too critical...also you can not compare Britak to Jub because Britak is predominantly ordinary life while Jub is both life and general business...so let it be your referance
...Thanks for the support and keep reading.
Aguytrying
#192 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 9:58:00 PM

Yeah. Deal. Good job. Keep the wazua spirit burning. We all learn from each other.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mwanahisa
#193 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 11:58:15 AM

The deal. That's precisely the point I have been making in my earlier posts. Get the IPO in the bag and BA's diversification problems are sorted.

In any case from your latest "insider" update, BA has now shed off quite a chunk of their stake in Equity. This has surprised me big time. I attended the Equity AGM and JM went to great pains to impress upon us that BA does not sell its stakes in Equity. Clearly this has now changed.

In any event it definitely improves the picture for BA in so far as the volatility of earnings esp. through changes in FVTP&L. Gross proceeds on this should be at least 3B with a good chunk of this being realized profits although I guess these will already have been reported as unrealised in H1 2010.

My earlier thoughts regarding going into BA speculatively still stand. But I intend to ride the wave exit and then re-enter. As stocksmaster has averred, there's a good chance of getting into this baby at below IPO price later on in the year.

the deal wrote:
It was good to meet the Britak hierachy today..from CEO...to the management...one thing...they all have my report and its quiet something...they showed me inside...the IPO funds are well planned for...also stake in Eqty Bank is now 6.6%...is Britak a Buy? Yes for Long term.

the deal
#194 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 12:24:32 PM

@Mwanahisa I like your intelligence...i gave info here as an insider...a first to Wazua...needless to say their out to make an impression...watch out for this years numbers...they have really held back the share.
mwanahisa
#195 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 12:48:17 PM

the deal wrote:
i gave info here as an insider...a first to Wazua...

Kudos @the deal. You are doing great. And thanks for your kind comments!
QW25071985
#196 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 1:10:48 PM

the deal wrote:
@Mwanahisa I like your intelligence...i gave info here as an insider...a first to Wazua...needless to say their out to make an impression...watch out for this years numbers...they have really held back the share.

i take issue with that . this years no.s will be nothing to write home about...i heard even H1 results wount appear in prospectus.and where the heck is the prospectus ??????12th july aint far !!!!!!!!!!!!
but since there's allot of euphoria about the ipo we might as well ride it and get out...
the deal
#197 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 1:32:18 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
the deal wrote:

i take issue with that . this years no.s will be nothing to write home about...i heard even H1 results wount appear in prospectus.and where the heck is the prospectus ??????12th july aint far !!!!!!!!!!!!
but since there's allot of euphoria about the ipo we might as well ride it and get out...

The prospectus is not even ready also how do you expect 1H numbers to be in the prospectus after 30 June was just yesterday and the IPO kicks off in 10 days..smile
mwanahisa
#198 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 1:33:32 PM

QW25071985 wrote:

@QW, Indeed, I do not expect the IM to include the H1 results. BA will claim that by the time the IM was prepared H1 was not over hence it would not have been possible to do so. However, I would expect them to include some forward looking statements which may or may not give some figures for H1 or FY 2011.

But given what the deal is telling us regarding BA's reduction of their stake in Equity, I am not as pessimistic as I was before. They will have made quite a huge amount from selling this!
mwanahisa
#199 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 1:43:12 PM

BTW @the deal, both BA and Panafrican Insurance claim to be No. 1 in life insurance in Kenya. I have looked at the figures for both and I guess from a strict interpretation of the term Life Insurance, BA appears to be correct.

In 2010, BA wrote 2,674,360K in both ordinary and group life insurance. The balance of the premium income was made up of 1,659,068K in short term business.

On the other hand, PI had 1,697,407K in ordinary life premiums. Added onto this was a further 2,133,386K in superannuation (pension) business. PI had no short term business at all as it is a pure long term insurance player (if you ignore its "former" interests in APA).

My question, is could it be that some of BA's so called life insurance is actually pension related, given that they appear not to have any superannuation?
#200 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 3:43:55 PM

the deal wrote:
i gave info here as an insider...a first to Wazua...