wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
How far we've come.
vin
#11 Posted : Sunday, June 26, 2011 8:46:49 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
*Sigh*
Great times those. Do you remember 'ponyoks' while playing bano?
We also used to 'ride' tyres by putting water in between the tyre and then using two long sticks to push the tyre.
We used to give the fish (tadpoles, sorry) names - Dumbo (the ones which were pregnant), coloured - pronounced kaladee - (the ones which were multi-coloured)
We took them and put into old Toss jars. We would then fill out sand in the bottom, and put stones. We reared them as pets and changed the water weekly.

I MISS THOSE DAYS!!!!!!!!

Did i hear you say toss jars?Toss imekuja tu juzi.Lakini hata hivyo,kila mtu ana zamani yake hata kama ni leo hasubuhi.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#12 Posted : Sunday, June 26, 2011 9:38:21 PM

HOW FAR WE'VE COME.......
That's true, we've come so far. From the mud houses of Mathare 4-A (currently called Mradi), to all over the world, i have come along way to be a fully registered civil engineer.

#13 Posted : Sunday, June 26, 2011 9:41:09 PM

@vin, youre right...kila mtu ana zamani yake. And they feel their days were the best.
#14 Posted : Sunday, June 26, 2011 9:47:36 PM

as a bachelor in a bed sitter, i fondly remember the bed switch that had a wire running all the way to the bulb overhead,,,
#15 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 8:49:51 AM

HOW FAR WE'VE COME.......
That's true, we've come so far. From the mud houses of Mathare 4-A (currently called Mradi), to all over the world, i have come along way to be a fully registered civil engineer.

Amani Housing Trust. Did a lot of voluntary work with the Germans and the Catholic Church.
#16 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 8:55:50 AM

vin, wacha siasa. Hehe. Kitambo yangu si kitambo sana hivyo i.e. TV za black and white
Ondiek
#17 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 8:59:11 AM

@Bomboclat did you live my life? Sounds quite familiar. The good old days.
#18 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 9:40:09 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
*Sigh*
Great times those. Do you remember 'ponyoks' while playing bano?
We also used to 'ride' tyres by putting water in between the tyre and then using two long sticks to push the tyre.
We used to give the fish (tadpoles, sorry) names - Dumbo (the ones which were pregnant), coloured - pronounced kaladee - (the ones which were multi-coloured)
We took them and put into old Toss jars. We would then fill out sand in the bottom, and put stones. We reared them as pets and changed the water weekly.

I MISS THOSE DAYS!!!!!!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly "dumbo" and "kaladee"...almost forgot those terms...wewe ulikuwa jirani...
Did anyone keep rabbits and "dush"....clip there wings so that they could not fly to distant land, but maintain within the neighbourhood...
vestor
#19 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 10:00:55 AM

Manze ni mbali, remember going hunting birds with feyas round our necks, wearing khaki shorts. Spend the whole day away from home. Jioni unakipata, but come the next day, you go out and do the same. That was passion
#20 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 2:02:32 PM

@ Nostopping.. mimi hapa nilifuga dush jivu! I remember how we used to 'steal' a bird rared by a friend. You would take yours to his place( a little while after the feathers had began growing again) and they would all fly back to your place.... I remember going round na fea (sp) birdhunting then if you get one, you would weka some blood on the fea to show the other kids your prowess! If you failed to hit a bird, you would target practise with the street lights until one day we were caught... it was bad news..

We also used to fuga rabbits. I had sall white ones. sijui ziliendawapi

Then I will not forget the days after the coup.. the neighbours, guys caryring "big' TVs and a bigger fridge... Actually one neighbour drove home in a car... brand new! I tried to convince my dad we also get ourselves one but he refused. Within two days, our hood was turned into a military field. Boy wasn't I glad that my mzee had refused my ideas!
Playing shake, bano, driving wire cars ( niliiba hanger za mathe)We would play foota from 8 a.m mpaka lunch time ( which was when the mboch would catch up with you)the game would end in a score of like 42 to 37 and would end due to 'ngware'

In the afternoon we would play tapo. I remember one time we went to play at city park. When the guy could not find us, we got bored and started playing another tapo within the other one... the original guy cought up with us jioni. He had been looking all day!
nyce days those ones!
5 Pages<1234>»