wazua Sun, Aug 3, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Kenya Airways FY 2010/11 results
Genghis Khan
#101 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 5:43:00 PM

Commissions are an integral part of airline sales. Not all sales are 'straightforward' i.e. from Point A to B but many BUSINESS TRAVELERS go from Point A to B to C back to A.

It might be cheaper to PAY motivated 'agents' than employees who are always looking for a higher pay for less work! I think the online platform itself serves as an agent (sales & service outlet) but cannot be a substitute for employees (central processing & verification)...

Agents book tickets, change dates, advise on travel dates, etc [Basically what they do might have to be done by salaried employees]

Last year, I wanted a last minute ticket [not allowed online] so I went to KQ's offices. I had to wait till they opened [9am] - they refused to 'open' prior to 9am... Would an agent keep you waiting?If KQ go after their agents' business they must be ready to go into the field and make the sales themselves, they also must keep customers happy... thin ice

Question: If I am an agent for KQ, am I bound to make sales for KQ only? May I re-direct business to other airlines?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#102 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 8:17:04 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
Commissions are an integral part of airline sales. Not all sales are 'straightforward' i.e. from Point A to B but many BUSINESS TRAVELERS go from Point A to B to C back to A.

It might be cheaper to PAY motivated 'agents' than employees who are always looking for a higher pay for less work! I think the online platform itself serves as an agent (sales & service outlet) but cannot be a substitute for employees (central processing & verification)...

Agents book tickets, change dates, advise on travel dates, etc [Basically what they do might have to be done by salaried employees]

Last year, I wanted a last minute ticket [not allowed online] so I went to KQ's offices. I had to wait till they opened [9am] - they refused to 'open' prior to 9am... Would an agent keep you waiting?If KQ go after their agents' business they must be ready to go into the field and make the sales themselves, they also must keep customers happy... thin ice

Question: If I am an agent for KQ, am I bound to make sales for KQ only? May I re-direct business to other airlines?
Yes. No more exclusivity like in the past. Some agents will sell you the ticket/airline that pays them the most NOT what saves you the most!
#103 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 8:54:18 PM

BTW did you guys see the international tender notice in the Nation today for a new passenger terminal at JKIA - 178,000 sq metres on 4 levels, 50 checkin stations, 40 gates and apron for 45 planes. That is a whole new airport. I hope they will build another runway. This is what KQ has always wanted, just don't know how long it will take.
Cde Monomotapa
#104 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 9:17:28 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
BTW did you guys see the international tender notice in the Nation today for a new passenger terminal at JKIA - 178,000 sq metres on 4 levels, 50 checkin stations, 40 gates and apron for 45 planes. That is a whole new airport. I hope they will build another runway. This is what KQ has always wanted, just don't know how long it will take.

And "analysts" say Kenya will be in a recession.
#105 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 9:46:12 AM

@cde: A repeat of 2007-8 can change all that. KQ relies on the 'goodwill' of passengers who want to transit through a 'quiet' Nairobi not when there is a fear (even if the clashes are far away from JKIA) of violence. Tourism is a mainstay of KQ's growth. We need PEACE no matter what the result.
Cde Monomotapa
#106 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 10:40:42 AM

@cde: A repeat of 2007-8 can change all that. KQ relies on the 'goodwill' of passengers who want to transit through a 'quiet' Nairobi not when there is a fear (even if the clashes are far away from JKIA) of violence. Tourism is a mainstay of KQ's growth. We need PEACE no matter what the result.

??? Sasa mambo ya PEV imetoka wapi mtu wangu? My ref.was to the scale of the works involved & resultant econ.activity while other characters on Wazua remain fixated on Greece. Kazi iendelee! Kenya/Africa is a frontier mkt, we will remain in bizna for a while.
#107 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:00:26 AM

We're in June and these guys are paying the declared dividends in is it November or December? Kwani they are Safaricom? There should be a rule against that and that to me tells me that something is not right here. Btw did Access finally pay 2009 dividends?

#108 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:17:17 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

??? Sasa mambo ya PEV imetoka wapi mtu wangu? My ref.was to the scale of the works involved & resultant econ.activity while other characters on Wazua remain fixated on Greece. Kazi iendelee! Kenya/Africa is a frontier mkt, we will remain in bizna for a while.
We can build the best but if the idiocy grips Kenya then we will have huge empty structures... [not that the airport will be built in 1 year]

My point is 'service' businesses rely on the PERCEPTION of safety. Switzerland has not had a war in centuries thus it is considered stable & safe. Kenya has no (significant) commodities [oil, gas, gold] thus we have to remain 'stable' if we want tourists, etc...
Cde Monomotapa
#109 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:21:34 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

We can build the best but if the idiocy grips Kenya then we will have huge empty structures... [not that the airport will be built in 1 year]

My point is 'service' businesses rely on the PERCEPTION of safety. Switzerland has not had a war in centuries thus it is considered stable & safe. Kenya has no (significant) commodities [oil, gas, gold] thus we have to remain 'stable' if we want tourists, etc...

Now there we are in agreement smile make hay while the sun shines.
StatMeister
#110 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 12:28:56 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

And "analysts" say Kenya will be in a recession.

link please
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#111 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 4:13:52 PM

@StatMeister Not sure which link you want, but the one for the airport is:

http://www.nation.co.ke/...44/-/vvu1kq/-/index.html
Genghis Khan
#112 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 4:26:40 PM

Declaration of Hope & Intent:

There will be no PEV in 2012.

I will buy KQ and TPSEA for cheap 2-5 months before elections.
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
QW25071985
#113 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 4:30:52 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
Declaration of Hope & Intent:

There will be no PEV in 2012.

I will buy KQ and TPSEA for cheap 2-5 months before elections.

thats my worry exactly i dnt want to sink in money now and when elections are approaching we see another sell off like in jan..am 50/50 that we might see some selling especially if guys get jittery..
lovely2010
#114 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 9:39:15 AM

KQ interesting today...someone got it @ 35.75 another one 32.75...feel sorry for the guy who bought it higher...
#115 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:09:23 AM

Has the books been closed.
Forgive my.

#116 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:09:33 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
KQ interesting today...someone got it @ 35.75 another one 32.75...feel sorry for the guy who bought it higher...
200 shares at 32.75 ni mchezo tu...
#117 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:13:49 AM

lovely2010 wrote:

Me, sh 54 on the advise of @vvs.Sad Sad Sad
lovely2010
#118 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:15:07 AM

Forgive my.

14th Oct
jkmaich
#119 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:26:47 AM

i have nothing to say when it comes to KQ dont know which is better to buy more or to sell
QW25071985
#120 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:40:17 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
Forgive my.

14th Oct

uncomprehensible stupidity..