wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

PASSION FOR COOKING N BAKING
Wanjy
#1 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 11:12:45 AM

Hi good people!

I am currently employed n for the last 6 months the company has made loses of over 10M, I have passion for cooking and baking and would love to venture in to that business but I have no formal education about it, I request for ideas on how to go about it may be I will own a five star hotel
Alo
#2 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:00:58 PM

Wanjy that makes the two of us. Why not try cooking from home that which you know how to or google for recipes and try them at home then you can start by cooking at home and supplying to offices. But before you start selling food you have to visit the Public Health Department of the city or Municipal council(at least that's what happens in Msa) they carry out tests on you and if the results are good you are given a cert to allow you operate the business. From there who knows you can start a food supply chain. Those are my 2 zim cents. Waiting to hear what other able wazuans have to say.
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
#3 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:55:05 PM

Buru SOS used to offer cheap but good high quality cooking/baking lessons for as low as 1,500/= since the lessons were subsidized. You could try them and it maybe a good place to network with like-minded folks.
Wanjy
#4 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 2:38:13 PM

I will try the Buru SOS; seems to be a superb advice actually a better start to network with like-minded folks this will also help to kill my fears
#5 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 3:29:16 PM

makes 3 of us... I was checking out some part time colleges in town.... Zetech being one of them, valentines cake house(they also do pastries which i am most interested in) and another one that i cant remember the name near pioneer bomb blast...
Wanjy
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:02:27 AM

Last sato I checked the SOS Technical Training Institute in Buruburu phase II tho' the offices are not open on Saturdays, A lady stuff advised that Baking and cake decoration fee is Kshs.3K per month n pastries Kshs2,200 per month. A friend of mine did baking n cake decoration last year n was paying 1,500 when I called the lady to enquire Y she overcharged me she denied that they have never charged less than 3K . . . Those are Saturday classes only from 8am to 1pm
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:36:58 AM

Wanjy wrote:
Last sato I checked the SOS Technical Training Institute in Buruburu phase II tho' the offices are not open on Saturdays, A lady stuff advised that Baking and cake decoration fee is Kshs.3K per month n pastries Kshs2,200 per month. A friend of mine did baking n cake decoration last year n was paying 1,500 when I called the lady to enquire Y she overcharged me she denied that they have never charged less than 3K . . . Those are Saturday classes only from 8am to 1pm

We enda tu usome. It is an investment
Dod
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 3:45:11 PM

makes 3 of us... I was checking out some part time colleges in town.... Zetech being one of them, valentines cake house(they also do pastries which i am most interested in) and another one that i cant remember the name near pioneer bomb blast...

It is Nairobi College Of Bread & Confectionary Technology
NHC Building, 1st Floor, Aga khan Walk, Opp Cooperative Hse.
Nairobi

Check out their website www.bakeryschool.co.ke
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 5:06:14 PM

@ Wanjy ... as @ Robin.. has said, nenda shule wacha kuregarega the fees. This is very affordable considering what people are paying to learn other trades. Moreover it is a tax allowble expense so you can claim it nce your start your successful business!

@ Wendz, so this is your new hiding joint ( thread)?

All the best good people. Always remember Quality Before Cash is the best business policy. It never fails as it always distinguishes you.
deadpoet
#10 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 10:52:22 AM

Anyone with knowledge of any additional cooking schools for beginners?
wairegi
#11 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 11:50:15 AM

deadpoet wrote:
Anyone with knowledge of any additional cooking schools for beginners?

https://www.facebook.com/CHEFJARNI?fref=ts
Pierce
#12 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 12:04:07 PM

Mnataka kupika nini??

Mololine?

Weka cabbage mzima carrot moja waru za round na nyama mingi kwa sufuria. Jaza maji na kachumvi kidogo wekelea kwa jiko. Rudi after 2 hrs ukule.
GalMU
#13 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 12:16:27 PM

Pierce wrote:
Mnataka kupika nini??

Mololine?

Weka cabbage mzima carrot moja waru za round na nyama mingi kwa sufuria. Jaza maji na kachumvi kidogo wekelea kwa jiko. Rudi after 2 hrs ukule.

Did you go to the same school as my Husband and Dad? they just add Nduma and ugali and talk about it for many months after Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#14 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 3:20:18 PM

GalMU wrote:
Pierce wrote:
Mnataka kupika nini??

Mololine?

Did you go to the same school as my Husband and Dad? they just add Nduma and ugali and talk about it for many months after Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly CHAKULA YA NDUNDORIsmile

Argh I used to bake a lot and sell like crazy gosh.But passion iliisha.
The same Juakali oven(economic)almost killed me through carbonmonoxide.I actually rem seeing cows in heaven after I passed out one evening.
I took the oven to my grandma to use for roasting maize.
From there I began playing around chocolates,nuts,etc and selling to friends.But this was costly.
Then I decide to utilize the farm by planting veges like beetroot but they were too many, I had no where to sell so neighbours thoroughly enjoyed.

Baking is interesting esp if you have a ready and steady market.

#15 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 3:27:17 PM

GalMU wrote:
Pierce wrote:
Mnataka kupika nini??

Mololine?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...Hii Pierce bure kabisasmile ...But at least he beats me in all cooking ways.....until boiling eggs passes as cookingPray Sad smile