wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

KCB Standing order charge very high
PrettyOne
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 4:49:06 PM

[quote=Ilikeyou]I have been a customer & shareholder of KCB FOR 5 Years.But I am now complaining.

They now charge 500 for a single standing order to another bank.

rip off from this bank.

stay away as a customer but be on bond as a shareholder.

Which branch charges Ksh 500?
KCB charges KSh 250 for standing order to other banks and Ksh 100 to a/cs in KCB.
Silk
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 4:50:21 PM

I wish my bank could remove ATM charges as well. Or revise it to say 5/=.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 5:04:35 PM

Silk wrote:
And why do the likes of KCB and Barclays charge 600/= for a Bankers cheque ? The money is your anyway. All they provide is the cheque leaf and a signature.
I thought they'd shape up after equity's and Family 100 but wapi ? Still waiting.

I'm not a KCB fanatic, lakini you are wrong on the bankers cheque charge. I use them once a term for my school fees cheque and they charge ksh 200/-. My favourite bank I&M charges ksh 500/-.
Silk
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 9:38:09 AM

@ Gordon, i've confirmed they revised their charges to 200/= for customers and 1,000 to non customers. Last time i obtained a bankers cheque from them was Nov 2009 and was then at 500/=. I've since used Equity.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 1:09:00 PM

Banker's cheques are completely unnecessary in Kenya! They are not any better than personal cheques... in fact, they could be worse! A bank manager once told me never to accept them; according to him there is more fraud involving bankers' cheques than personal ones.

Think about it: why is it that these cheques also go through the same clearing system as personal cheques? You still have to wait 4 working days before you can get the money.

The manager in question advised that people should simply accept either personal cheques or no cheques at all!
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 1:16:20 PM

mukiha wrote:
Banker's cheques are completely unnecessary in Kenya! They are not any better than personal cheques... in fact, they could be worse! A bank manager once told me never to accept them; according to him there is more fraud involving bankers' cheques than personal ones.

Think about it: why is it that these cheques also go through the same clearing system as personal cheques? You still have to wait 4 working days before you can get the money.

The manager in question advised that people should simply accept either personal cheques or no cheques at all!

I have started a new thread on Banker's Cheques here: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...m=187667&#post187667
Ilikeyou
#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 3:18:45 PM

@PrettyOne, Kindly dont mislead.

KCB charges kshs 500 for a single standing order to another bank.

I indicated that I am their customer and was warning by fellow 'wazua' that KCB is a rip off bank.

I have been charged thrice now but I want to move, pls assist to where I can get reasonable standing order charges?
kiterunner
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 10:55:26 PM

PrettyOne wrote:
[quote=Ilikeyou]I have been a customer & shareholder of KCB FOR 5 Years.But I am now complaining.

They now charge 500 for a single standing order to another bank.

rip off from this bank.

stay away as a customer but be on bond as a shareholder.

Which branch charges Ksh 500?
KCB charges KSh 250 for standing order to other banks and Ksh 100 to a/cs in KCB.

pretty one please confirm these charges, I am in shock because i have standing orders running but i dont know the cost. Do they charge every time they pay out or it a one time thing?

Customer service in KCB is crap i have changed branches twice but they are all the same,
our goals are best achieved indirectly
kiterunner
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 10:58:12 PM

@llikeyou, is this for every time they pay out or one time?
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Layman
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 20, 2011 8:53:51 AM

kiterunner wrote:
@llikeyou, is this for every time they pay out or one time?

These are charged every month as long as the order is still in force, kwani you have so much in your account that you cant tell the charges in it........lucky you, some of us wil notice even if 5 bob was charged to my account....